We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lafayette Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tryp Montevideo Hotel(Montevideo)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes(Montevideo)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Intercity Montevideo(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Suites(Montevideo)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$76
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
102
329
213
44
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
329
213
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral montevideobit datedplaza independenciaeightiesblock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 711 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed at the Lafayette for three nights as part of a tour of South America including Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil.
The hotel is in need of a complete revamp.
Rooms are in desperate need of redecoration and the pool appears to have a dirt line all around the edge just above the water level.
However, the bar area is not bad and the restaurant is good and clean.
Breakfasts were more than adequate with plenty on offer.
Sadly, the reception staff tried to sell us tours before we had even checked in which was off putting.
The hotel is located in a quiet street which is fine except street lighting is poor.
As we walked back to the hotel at around 10.30pm one evening my wife had her handbag, which contained a small amount of cash her cell phone and cosmetics snatched from her arm. The offenders making good their escape on a motorcycle.
The police didn't want to know and the hotel staff were not overly concerned either despite the theft taking place right outside.
Now that type of crime can happen anywhere in the world and is hardly the fault of the hotel but future guests should be aware of the dangers.
We tried not to let the incident sour our experience of the hotel but unfortunately it is just run down and in need of an injection of some serious money for renovation.
There are good points though. Free internet access and the standard of the kitchen and restaurant being two of them.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KevinHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

First impressions of the hotel were good, we got an executive suite on the net for the same price as a normal double room. Altogether we paid about 45 pounds per night. The room was huge, and nicely organised and clean. The pool is average but we always had it to ourselves, as was the sauna. The staff were excellent, english speaking and were always willing to help you. They organised a rental car for us too with no problems. Breakfast was also good. The hotel is in a good location, only 10 mins from plaza indepencia which is where most of the bars, restaurants are. I would definately stay here again if returning to Uruguay. Very nice

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jhaddy_the_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

The Lonely Planet South America book mentioned the Lafayette as one of Montevideo's finest hotels - not since the 60s, I imagine! It's well-located in the older part of the city (which is where most tourists will want to be), but the pictures in their brochure and website have been heavily Photoshopped (or were taken a long time ago). The rooms are very outdated and sparce, but everything works. Breakfast is included and is pretty good. The hotel has one computer guests can use and also has wireless internet, which intermittently drops signal.

The staff was friendly and they are able to change currency, which is a bonus since the exchange houses close early afternoon. I would probably try to find a better place for the money if I return to Montevideo.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank soitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

They are classified as a 4-star hotel, but in the USA it would probably be listed as 2.5 stars. It is nice, though, and I enjoyed my stay there. I saw them listed on various websites for US$50-70 but I called directly to the hotel and they offered me a room for $35. This includes tax and a full American breakfast with every possible food item except pancakes or waffles. The room was pretty nice for the price; it had air conditioning, a central console to turn off room lights, desk, cable TV with many international channels, in-room safe (you have to ask for the key at the reception area). They show a fitness center on their web site, but it is the most basic I have ever seen. If you want a good workout, you'll have to go elsewhere. The pool is just for splashing. Mini-fridge in the room too, and the items in it weren't very expensive. Located only a couple of blocks from the main drag, and it's on a quiet street. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2004

This is a comfortable hotel with helpful and friendly staff who speak English and has internet and gym facilities. It is very centrally situated in a reasonably quiet street. It has no restaurant but I recommend El Fogon restaurant within short walking distance of the hotel. It is good value for money. One problem arose with a water leak in the bathroom which was dealt with efficiently by the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LmcUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews