We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is nice enough. It looks a bit worn out but nothing terrible. The rooms were comfortable and the service was good. The hotel bar did nice food as well. The location is good too, walking distance from lots of interesting points in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJSOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Departamento de Reservas at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014
Google Translation

Es muy grato saber que ha tenido una agradable estadía junto a nosotros y que ha podido disfrutar de los servicios del hotel. Esperamos nos vuelva a elegir en su regreso a Montevideo, con mucho gusto lo estaremos esperando


Saludos cordiales

Alejandro Decia
Departamento de Reservas
Hotel Lafayette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 687 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Tha restaurant and the food room service was inactive. The morning cooffe is very poor. One day the milk must be changed because spoiled.The wake-up call not worked.
We commend the room service, the housekeeper always efficient and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfonsoWelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Departamento de Reservas at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014
Google Translation

Lamentamos que nao gosto o hotel. Estamos trabalhando no restaurante para melhorar a infraestrutura.Teremos em conta suas contribuas


Cumprimentos cordiais


Alejandro Decia
Departamento de Reservas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I couldn't be happier about this hotel! The staff has always benn very friendly and will go out of their way to help you out! Good breakfast and small thermal swimming pool inside is a elief at the end of the day, when you are tired nd need some relax! It not big as a hotel, but ran as an European structure and very serious and customer oriented! Congratulations and Muchas Gracias!

Room Tip: I emailed them to tell what I would like to have (upper floor room with a view of the river) and voi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humphrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Departamento de Reservas at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013
Google Translation

Es muy grato saber que ha tenido una agradable estadía junto a nosotros y que ha podido disfrutar de los servicios del hotel. Esperamos nos vuelva a elegir en su regreso a Montevideo, con mucho gusto lo estaremos esperando.


Saludos cordiales

Alejandro Decia
Departamento de Reservas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is well located in downtown Montevideo but on a quiet side street (very quiet at night). The room is well decorated with wooden floor. The bathroom is small but adequate. The facilities are also ok (no kettle in room though) with a small gym and a plunge pool. The breakfast is very good by continental standard (with an excellent variety of fruit including strawberries, kiwi, melon, papaya). The service is also efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Departamento de Reservas at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard so that our guests have a confortable stay. We hope you visit us again.

Best regards


Alejandro Decia
Reservation´s Departament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Room was having a strong sweat like smell when I arrived.
Hotel advertised with air-conditioned rooms when I complaint that its too hot I was that ac sis off because its not hot enough outside yet , its the same all over the hotel . If I want it colder I would have to open the window
Bathroom old, rusty and damaged bathtub , very old shoercurtain,
In general hotel is very worn down with stained walls and furniture from the past century

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Hospede

Lamentamos que não se tenha sentido a gosto no Hotel. Pedimos-lhe desculpas se o Hotel não colmou suas expectativas
Cumprimentos cordiais

Lic. Maria del Mar Cainzos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed one night in Feb 2013 as part of a package tour for a great price. I really liked the location, it was walkable to all major restaurants and attractions in the city. The lobby is nice, the front desk staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. They have a nice little breakfast area with a decent buffet, and the pool is heated and in good repair, our kids loved it. We also liked the free wifi and that we could have adjoining room for our kids so it was like a suite. That being said, the rooms are 30 years old at least and haven't been renovated since the 1980s. The enamel is peeling off the bathtubs, the furniture is dated, battered and stained, the towels are undersized and thin, the bathrooms don't ventilate the steam from the shower, our toilet made a horrendous noise when we flushed it, the room safe is not electronic, the drapes and bedspreads were ancient the list goes on and on. If you are after a low cost room with free breakfast in a great location, then do it if you don't mind shabby, otherwise be warned. The owners really need to start renovating some floors one by one to make it a better hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr.

Nos alegra saber que se sintió cómodo en el Hotel, que pudo disfrutar de la ciudad de Montevideo y que sus hijos disfrutaron de la piscina.
Nuestro Hotel tiene 21 años, y fué inaugurado en los 90, no en el 80.
En cuanto a las habitaciones, estamos reformando desde el año pasado, de hecho ya tenemos pisos completos con habitaciones myu modernas.
Ojalá en su próxima vista a Montevideo venga a alojarse en nuestras habitaciones remodeladas.

Le envio un cordial saludo

Lic. Maria del Mar Cainzos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

this hotel has modest rooms, a small pool and fitness area, and beautiful views of the city and the water. the best part was how genuinely helpful the staff was, all around, from the day we arrived to the day we left. it was clean, and has a comfortable lobby with lounge area, a bar and television. the wifii worked (unlike in crystal palace hotel), and i felt safe and taken care of. this is how a hotel stay should feel like. they even helped us to park our rental car and gave us great tips about the people and hours of the city. loved it. loved it. loved it.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the water, if you want to relax and spend some time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulac232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We were really appreciate that we were able to meet your expectations.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard so that our guests have a memorable experience with us.
We hope you visit us again.
I send warm greetings

Lic. Maria del Mar Cainzos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#28 of 87 in Montevideo
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#51 of 87 in Montevideo
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#37 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Address: Soriano 1170, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $48 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing