We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lafayette Hotel - Very dated / not very clean”
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was in the downtown area and did not feel very safe after dark. The room was very dated and had a heavy smoked in smell. The twin beds were very small and the bed linen felt and smelled dirty. The bath tub had paint chipped and the toilet paper was "see thru" and ruff. The internet did not work in the rooms or the main lobby. There was a different code for each floor. We would not return to this property and would not reccomend this to anyone coming to this country.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miamilakesmaulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 685 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is like many of the above average places in Montevideo. This city seems very safe and clean. We walked many times at night and always
felt safe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lafayette, Director General at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thanks for your time to comment on our hotel.
Montevideo is a nice city and our hotel a great option in terms of location and services, we are waiting here when you want to return.

Best regards

the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Reading all the reviews posted about this place really brings home how we all have different things we are looking for. Yes, as other reviewers say the hotel could use some updating and a little TLC around the edges. But my room was absolutely clean and quite pleasant to pass the time in, in between activities. (All of central Montevideo seems to suffer from some neglect.) Yes, there were some homeless people sleeping in the streets nearby but that is part of inner city life anywhere. I passed some today in many different parts of Buenos Aires. I can't understand complaints about the breakfasts though. I've been traveling for three months in South America and the Lafayette's breakfasts are at the top of my list - fresh fruits, both whole and cut up in fruit salad; whole wheat bread as well as the standard white bread; crackers; rolls; several types of fruit juice; several types of meat; cheese; scrambled eggs; bacon; licuados; hot chocolate; pastries - I'm no doubt leaving something out but all of these things were replenished as they were used up. There was a toaster for those who wanted and they even started at 7 am rather than the 8 or even 9 that I've been encountering most everywhere else. I can see that the breakfast room might be a little tight if the hotel was full and everyone was eating at the same time. The laundry service was overpriced but not 20 meters away was one of many laundry services in the area that were not. The wifi was slow but it worked in the rooms and was free. My bed was very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful. I prefer small places but all in all, I think the Lafayette does a great job. Oh, I forgot to say, I never felt at all unsafe coming back to the hotel at night. I'd stay there again if I were to return to Montevideo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally and so is a good base for seeing Montevideo on foot. That is a good thing because the rooms are rather dated and not that great to spend a lot of time in. They do the job and the price is reasonable for what you get, but the hotel could do with an upgrade.
If you are only in Montevideo for a night or two then this hotel is fine, but for longer periods maybe somewhere else would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night and booked off hotels.com in a last minute hurry.

The hotel is central but I would not say the area is very good. We were extra cautious coming home at night.

The room itself was from the 70s and while it looked clean on the surface it did not feel very clean. The hotel is dated and probably needs a renovation.

The breakfast was okay but nithing to write home about.

In the end we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is good for a citytrip, convenient located near the center and busstop to go to
either the old city or the citybeach “Pocitos”. There’s a indoor swimmingspool too.
Breakfast is fine.

Neg: capacity of breakfastroom during the weekend; people had to wait for a table and
same used the table of the bar area instead.

Bathroom: constant light smell of bad piping. Also the cover of the toiletseat felt back
all the times which was a nuisance. But for paying USA 78 dollar incl. breakfast this is
a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel-of-a-certain-age is well maintained and, as other reviewers have remarked, is distinguished by its congenial staff and excellent breakfast which considerably exceeds the South American norm. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#52 of 87 in Montevideo
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Address: Soriano 1170, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing