We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit dated”
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally and so is a good base for seeing Montevideo on foot. That is a good thing because the rooms are rather dated and not that great to spend a lot of time in. They do the job and the price is reasonable for what you get, but the hotel could do with an upgrade.
If you are only in Montevideo for a night or two then this hotel is fine, but for longer periods maybe somewhere else would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 685 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night and booked off hotels.com in a last minute hurry.

The hotel is central but I would not say the area is very good. We were extra cautious coming home at night.

The room itself was from the 70s and while it looked clean on the surface it did not feel very clean. The hotel is dated and probably needs a renovation.

The breakfast was okay but nithing to write home about.

In the end we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is good for a citytrip, convenient located near the center and busstop to go to
either the old city or the citybeach “Pocitos”. There’s a indoor swimmingspool too.
Breakfast is fine.

Neg: capacity of breakfastroom during the weekend; people had to wait for a table and
same used the table of the bar area instead.

Bathroom: constant light smell of bad piping. Also the cover of the toiletseat felt back
all the times which was a nuisance. But for paying USA 78 dollar incl. breakfast this is
a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel-of-a-certain-age is well maintained and, as other reviewers have remarked, is distinguished by its congenial staff and excellent breakfast which considerably exceeds the South American norm. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I can't fault this hotel. The location was fine, pretty close to the centre and with plenty of restaurants within five minutes' walk if you don't want to stray too far. It probably takes about 15 minutes to walk to the centre of town, and it is a straightforward walk. If you keep to the main streets, it feels relatively safe, although we did find that there were a fair few people begging in Montevideo generally. The breakfast was among the best we had during our five weeks in Argentina and Uruguay, with the scrambled eggs being a particular highlight for me. The room was comfortable and well equipped - unremarkable, but at the price we paid I wouldn't expect it to be very glamorous. The staff were very helpful and informative. I think there was a pool but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place is a fine place to stay for a few days if you want to be in Centro (downtown) Montevideo, as I did. I was passing through from the Punta del Este beach resorts, back to Buenos Aires via the hydrofoil ferry. The ferry dock is close-by, as is the Ciudad Viejo (the Old City) of Montevideo. As it's not safe to walk around the Cuidad Viejo at night, I did not want to stay there. While the area around the Hotel Lafayette looks quite grim and dirty, it is perfectly safe for pedestrians at night. Fact is, there are dozens of eateries near-by, from semi-fancy to everyday cafes, all of which are good and reasonably priced.

All the other reviews of the Lafayette, except for the most scathing, are accurate. This is NOT a luxury hotel. If you freak-out when everything isn't perfect or brand-new, go elsewhere!

Forget the 5-star rating. I think this is the hotel's own rating and not a government rating. It is definitely a 2.5-3.0 star (out of 5 stars) hotel. That said, the rooms are clean, the furniture is blond, danish-y modern and the mattress is very comfortable. Sheets are cotton and while the pillows are not plush, I've not found one hotel in Uruguay or Buenos Aires that has plush pillows. (I can't comment on the Four Seasons, Park-Hyatt, Ritz-Carlton or Alvear Palacio of Buenos Aires.)

I opted to pay a bit extra for a "Deluxe Room." I think I got a bit more space, a higher floor and maybe a newer room (not sure.) If you can afford it, opt for this type of room. Other than a very, very slow internet connection (I'm spoiled & used to a very fast internet connection,) I have been very happy here.

The front desk staff and breakfast staff could not be more pleasant or helpful, and most speak perfectly good or basic English. I didn't have a car, but that's a huge bonus, to be able to park for free here!

Also, all the major bus lines of Montevideo cross through Centro within a few blocks of the Lafayette. The # 121 bus going East (a block or two north from the hotel) will take you to the beaches of fashionable Punta Carretas or Pocitos, as well as the huge Punta Carretas Shopping Mall and the Sheraton Hotel, near to the last stop on the line. And, if you head West, the # 121 goes to the Ciudad Viejo and drops you off a block or two away from the Mercado el Puerto. The latter has the most amazing array of traditional 'asado' restaurants all grouped inside an old factory, and worth seeking out.

Lastly, but NOT least: the Lafayette, as others have said, has a great breakfast buffet. The best I've come across in South America! Delicious and plentiful coffee, hot milk, hot chocolate, freshly squeezed orange juice, scrambled eggs (yummy, perfectly cooked & not runny!) and American bacon, among tons of other selections.

All-in-all, I liked this hotel and thought it a bargain for about US$ 90/night. You could do much, much worse.

Room Tip: High floor rooms cost more, but worth it to avoid street noise. Best rooms face away from the street...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Even though the physical plant is a bit rundown, the hotel's staff puts itself out for you. The breakfast is exceptional. The location can't be beat. Wifi is delivered by floor, with a separate section for the lobby bar, with different passwords for each. My iPhone almost had a nervous breakdown. Some street noise if you have a room at the front.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxtanguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#52 of 87 in Montevideo
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Address: Soriano 1170, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing