We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balmoral Plaza Hotel
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
boqueron, puerto rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

economical, bus locate just outside of hotel, excellent breakfast, friendly staff,very clean......5 stars..worth every cent

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    113
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
46
73
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

We spent one night at the Balmoral Plaza Hotel and all I have to say is that it is completely overpriced for the dark outdated rooms you get that eventhough non smoking smell of smoke. The mini bar contained 4 bottels of water and a Twix!! that was it. For 60 U.S. dollars off seaon it was a rip off.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark smelly rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank elainelenihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

Absolutely wonderful, period. Cable, clean, FREE INTERNET, a staff that speaks better English than Argentine hotel staffs in the better parts of Buenos Aires. The rates are amazing: I paid $34 a night and had a 9th floor room overlooking the plaza....Montevideo has limited appeal itself, the better parts seem to lie in the suburbs although there is little to see in the better parts, tit for tat.......but the staff was eager to please and BETTER, although my flight left at night and I stayed in the room until 4PM and ready to pay for the whole day, I wasn't EVEN CHARGED FOR 1/2 A DAY let alone a full day. They told me they "understood" the flight schedules out of Carrasco and that they were being "fair"....really amazing..........highest recommendation. Montevideo isn't the most riveting place to visit off season but everyone is very laid back and extremely friendly.

  • Liked — Value, LOCATION, free internet, STAFF
  • Disliked — doors were hard to use, weird way to turn the knob when you slide the card
  • Tips/Secrets — Montevideo seems dirty compared to Buenos Aires but the people are extremely friendly and laid back
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ElPorteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

The service at the hotel was excellent, the employees were very friendly and very professional. The internet service which someone mentioned was dial up appears to have been updated because it was not slow, though another computer would be nice. The included breakfast was very good actually and the price $41 per night is incredible. The room could have used updating, the furniture was kind of old. It was clean though our room had some stains on the bathroom ceiling. Overall a great value and a nice hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JetsetTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

I was pleasantly surprised to discover how much I enjoyed my all-too-short trip to Montevideo and Punta Del Este, and I am planning to return for a much longer visit next year.

The Old City is lovely, and I had little time to throroughly explore all the lovely old buildings, let alone bask on the miles of beaches.

I also enjoyed my stay at the Balmoral Hotel, with its large windows that opened onto the square (ask for a room overlooking that side -- I think it's the back) from which lovely music drifted up of an evening. One night, a dance troupe performed for an hour, and I could watch the performance from my window.

I had several (very good) meals in the hotel's dining room, and the bright and spacious breakfast room on the second level served a hearty buffet.

As well, I appreciated the two (free) high speed computers in the small business center just where the elevators (good, and fast!) open onto the lobby -- you could see at a glance if they were in use, or sit and wait in the comfy chairs.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room very clean and the location very good for walking to many sites. Reception (there was always someone on duty who spoke English) changed small amounts of foreign currency into pesos, and there's a Cambio (money change office) half a block away, as well as a bank about 2 blocks away that changes travellers checks.

The park (square) behind the hotel attracts stalls of artisan vendors, making it a good place to check out souvenir items. From the hotel, it cost about $2 for a cab to the very modern shopping mall attached to the Sheraton Hotel, or the boardwalk beaches.

I would stay here again, and, I hope, soon!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank haitistarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

We were staying in Buenos Aires, and saw that Montivideo was a couple of hours away by hydrofoil. We also had read that Colonia had some interesting things to see from Colonial Portugese days, so we decided to make this trip.

I would not recommend the Montivideo part of it. The Balmoral was a dreary place, with small rooms. It was clean, functional and the price was right, but certainly not a place I´d look forward to returning. It sort of reflected our feelings about Montivideo. It´s a very drab city, and not of great interest to tourists.

The only positive is that everything is very inexpensive. We had dinner for two - an excellent paella - and including drinks and service charge, cost $20 USD. I can´t remember the name of the restaurant, but allegedly Hillary Clinton dined there.

We took an immensely boring bus trip to Colonia but enjoyed touring the old town which still has many of the colonial Portguese facilities intact. Lunch for two was excellent and again about $20 USD.

I would recommend a day trip from Buenos Aires to Colonia. Busquebus, which runs the hydrofoil service, is very professional and runs a very good service

Helpful?
18 Thank YankinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is conveniently located to the sites, restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful although they always seemed busy. As mentioned in a prior review, the free internet computer that is located on the main floor is very slow and sometimes would not connect to the internet. If you have to absolutely use the internet, you may be better off using one of the many, inexpensive internet cafes that are close to the hotel. For a hotel that caters to business people, I was surprised that the internet was dial up. The free breakfast had a nice variety: eggs, fruit, bread, cereal, yogurt, etc. The room was bigger than what I expected it to be. There was enough room for two twin size beds, a t.v., table and extra room to spread out luggage.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#28 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#48 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#47 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#31 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#78 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Plaza Hotel

Property: Balmoral Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza de Cagancha 1126, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Balmoral Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Plaza Montevideo
Hotel Balmoral Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing