We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst ever.”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bathroom was ugly and not properly cleaned. Room was ugly, but not in the extremely dirty end. TV was small. Decoration... do they even know that we are not in 1940?

Breakfast options... well... I cannot eat wheat, and the options where bread and wheat cereal, so I had to ho with OJ and fruit jam alone, which weren't great either.

I felt that staff was rude and most of my coworkers complained about inappropriate phone charges for calls that ended with busy tones, no answer or answering machines.

Room Tip: They have a sign encouraging customers to get one of their premium rooms instead of regular ones. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VEZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 260 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I had no choice but to stay at this hotel for 2 nights as the tour company booked it. Just believe all the negative comments. It is terrible. Worst than I could imagine! Don't let the lobby fool you. The rooms are the 60s without any maintenance. Just awful

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikcheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place looked okay on the outside and situated in a beautiful square, but once inside it wasn't great. When I got the room key from the desk clerk he warned me not to jump....wasn't sure why until I got to the room. The room was dirty, bathroom was old with poor plumbing and the window with a beautiful view of the square was dangerous as hell...one slip and I would have spilled over the flimsy bar.

Positives
- location, and services (laundry and internet easily available in area)

Negatives
- location, square is dangerous at night
- room was gross.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

After reading recent reviews, I can't believe it was the same hotel. I stayed in 3 different rooms and found them all clean and comfortable. The ones on the plaza side have great views and the back side is very quiet. The wifi works, the breakfasts are great--constant refreshing and super coffee. The front desk staff are knowledgeable, speak English and are very friendly and professional. I had some trouble communicating on the phone - my Spanish is acceptable face to face but doesn't make it without visual clues. One of the staff made the calls for me and translated my request. This happened several times and also they accepted calls for me and left me messages in English.This is a solid 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: High floor rooms on the plaza side have gorgeous views at night. There are old fashioned lights in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The place is very good because it is central in the historic area.
However there are other options a little bit far but in a neighborhood more nice and developed, like POCITOS for example.
The service is the only thing good - i mean the breakfast and the staff.
The room was dirty, no cleaning and the courtains did not block the light.
It is possible to stay there but you have to be aware of this problems.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We are staying as part of a tour. There is no hot water in the bathroom and our blind which is external has broken & apparently can not be fixed until after the weekend. Good central location, safe in rooms generally doesn't work. Rooms and bathrooms in need of refurb similar to foyer.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussietravelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It would seem that this hotel is going through an upgrade - and my god it needs one. What a filthy, dingy hovel where you feel lucky to get out alive. Even budget travellers should avoid this grotty hole

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tristramboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#28 of 87 in Montevideo
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#48 of 87 in Montevideo
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#83 of 87 in Montevideo
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Plaza de Cagancha 1334, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $65 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing