We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than worst!”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worst than worst!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I had no choice but to stay at this hotel for 2 nights as the tour company booked it. Just believe all the negative comments. It is terrible. Worst than I could imagine! Don't let the lobby fool you. The rooms are the 60s without any maintenance. Just awful

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikcheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    52
    68
    53
    81
See reviews for
58
79
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place looked okay on the outside and situated in a beautiful square, but once inside it wasn't great. When I got the room key from the desk clerk he warned me not to jump....wasn't sure why until I got to the room. The room was dirty, bathroom was old with poor plumbing and the window with a beautiful view of the square was dangerous as hell...one slip and I would have spilled over the flimsy bar.

Positives
- location, and services (laundry and internet easily available in area)

Negatives
- location, square is dangerous at night
- room was gross.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

After reading recent reviews, I can't believe it was the same hotel. I stayed in 3 different rooms and found them all clean and comfortable. The ones on the plaza side have great views and the back side is very quiet. The wifi works, the breakfasts are great--constant refreshing and super coffee. The front desk staff are knowledgeable, speak English and are very friendly and professional. I had some trouble communicating on the phone - my Spanish is acceptable face to face but doesn't make it without visual clues. One of the staff made the calls for me and translated my request. This happened several times and also they accepted calls for me and left me messages in English.This is a solid 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: High floor rooms on the plaza side have gorgeous views at night. There are old fashioned lights in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The place is very good because it is central in the historic area.
However there are other options a little bit far but in a neighborhood more nice and developed, like POCITOS for example.
The service is the only thing good - i mean the breakfast and the staff.
The room was dirty, no cleaning and the courtains did not block the light.
It is possible to stay there but you have to be aware of this problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We are staying as part of a tour. There is no hot water in the bathroom and our blind which is external has broken & apparently can not be fixed until after the weekend. Good central location, safe in rooms generally doesn't work. Rooms and bathrooms in need of refurb similar to foyer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietravelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It would seem that this hotel is going through an upgrade - and my god it needs one. What a filthy, dingy hovel where you feel lucky to get out alive. Even budget travellers should avoid this grotty hole

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristramboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is quite possibly the filthiest and rancid place I have ever stayed and the photos people have attached are a true representation of what to expect. The reception area lures you in to a false sense of security making you think that this is a modern, fresh and clean hotel but I am afraid that this is the only pleasant thing about the whole hotel. The carpets in the bedrooms are so dirty and worn down with horrible stains all over them and I am not sure if they should be orange or brown in colour. There was mould on the ceiling with stains all over the yellowing curtains and walls which probably haven´t been painted since the 60´s. The rooms smell of old cigarette smoke and all in all I couldnt wait to depart this dreadful place. Coupled with this we were kept waiting for over an hour to check in and no one seemed to be in any hurry to assist us.
Dont waste your time staying here. Whilst the location is central, there are lots of other more pleasant places to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balfer
Hotel Balfer
#65 of 87 in Montevideo
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alvear
Alvear
#54 of 87 in Montevideo
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#49 of 87 in Montevideo
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#82 of 87 in Montevideo
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Plaza Hotel
Balmoral Plaza Hotel
#57 of 87 in Montevideo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hotel
Address: Plaza de Cagancha 1334, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing