We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good - with some small flaws...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Overall I think this is a pretty good hotel. I have noticed a very big difference in opinion between Europeans/North Americans and South Americans regarding this hotel and other in South America. I haven't traveled enough in South America to say this with confidence, but I think there is a different expectation of quality between the two groups.

Compared to North American and European hotels, this place needs a bit of work, but still a decent hotel.

Nice big pool on the 6th floor. Room service is better than most (including American/Euro hotels). The Filet Mignon was particularly good. If you are a beer drinker, go with the Patricia.

Rooms are nice with a comfortable bed and warm shower. Breakfast is slightly above average on the 25th floor with a fantastic view of the city.

Staff are very friendly across the board. Location is good, in the main square in the center of old town. Free Internet, slow dodgy connection which seems to be the standard here.

NOTE: This is the big place in town, so your options are limited.

The downsides:
- The toilet would not flush very well
- The windows in our room make a cracking type noise on a regular basis. Makes it very hard to sleep. Walls are also a little thin.
- The whirlpool was empty, as in no water in the men's and woman's change rooms.
- Elements of the hotel are dated. I personally didn't care, but the well heeled crowd that are used to flat screen TVs and new taps and fridges might feel like they are back in the 1980s/90s.

Overall would I stay again, yes. I think the place is fine. Just don't expect 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

Great location, very good room and nice staff. There is a restaurant with amazing view and the biggest hotel indoor swiming pool I have seen ever.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emersonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I just completed a stay here and it was terrible. The entire hotel needs a profound facelift; cigarette burns on the carpet, tired drapes, poor lighting, room a/c did not work, needed to keep the windows open to cool the room (which then let in all the street noise and pollution), shower was scalding hot or ice cold, no middle ground, buffet breakfast food second tier, on a good day. Just all in all, not worth the money and not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Not a bad hotel but not the best either. The free breakfast was good and the lobby is really nice. The gym offered classes which is impressive. The room was a bit small and so was the tv, but good quality room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dctwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

After check-in you go to the elevators where the operation panels missed floor numbers and other signs had fallen off. Our one bedroom suite was spacious but the sofa and chairs were all dirty from years of use and lack of cleaning and there was an unpleasant smell in the room. The bathroom was OK and the bed good. The top floor restaurant had good service and a varied menu. But all in all this is not the place to stay although the location could not be more central.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

If location is everything -stay here! Very convenient to old city and weekend market..

Although not luxurious, the room was spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff was good but the rest of the team was poorly trained and motivated. When we arrived with a taxi full of luggage the bellmen just stood talking to each other and I had to grab one to take our bags. On another occasion, the bellman stood aside and let a beggar open the taxi door.

The breakfast buffet was pretty good but on Sunday morning the staff couldn't cope .

The concierges were clueless.

The pool was very nice but access appeared impossible for a handicapped person - likewise the front hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawdusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I stayed with my husband and my little daughter for five nights at Raddisson Victoria Hotel, and we liked our experience! The hotel is in a central and good location (Plaza Independencia), near to the most interesting attraction in Montevideo (Palacio Salvo, Teatro Solis, pedestrian streets at "Ciudad Vieja", Cathedral and museums). It´s near to the good restaurants too, like "Rara Avis" (at Teatro Solis), Panini´s (Bacacay street), Cafe Bacacay (Bacacay street), Los Leños (calle San Jose) and El Fogón (calle San Jose). The hotel has a cassino inside (really, it has two cassinos: one of them has only slot machines and the other one at the new building has roulletes, the table games, more slot machines and bar and restaurant). The hotel has a spa on 6th floor with a big swimming pool, solarium, sauna, and others facilities. The breakfast is served at Aracadia Restaurante on 25th floor, and the view of the port and the city is fantastic! The breakfast is complete with several tipical things, like "medialunas", "vigilantes", cakes, juices, (good) breads, ham, cheese, corns flakes, yougurts, coffee, milk, tea, hot and cold chocolate and hot dishes. The staff is kind and very helpful. If you have a few days to discover Montevideo, you will like the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosanasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#16 of 87 in Montevideo
1,130 reviews
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#40 of 87 in Montevideo
577 reviews
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Independencia 759, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#13 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $118 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Montevideo
Montevideo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing