We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, but far from midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is a great option if you do not have to be close to midtown where lots of government offices are located. It will cost you approx US$15 to go to midtown from here. The hotel is separated from the beach by the busiest road in Montevideo, the rambla that connects incoming traffic with the city centre, all along the coastal area. Rooms are relatively recently renovated and are spacious. Service on arrival and departure is slow and it seems that no porters (bell boys) are available - watch how you try to manage one non-automated door and a very small lift/escalator to handle all your luggage. Breakfast is a good variety of cold food, fruits and scrambled eggs - everything self-service. Overall, not at all a bad experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a room with a view to the lovely beach area (overlooking the road), it comes at a prem...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cottage Carrasco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

If in Montevideo on business Carrassco is likely to be an area that you have meetings as more financial companies move away from the old town/city centre. If this is where you meetings are then this hotel is perfect. For me location is the most important thing and this is great. On the sea front (Rambla) and a couple of blocks from most of the offices in the area. The new Carrassco Hotel/Casino is also just 5 mins away.

The hotel underwent a full renovation a couple of years ago and is very modern. Nice lobby, cozy bar, great resteraunt, great little Gym/sauna/jacuzzi and lovely outdoor pool and garden area.

Wireless internet is available throughout (no problems other than when trying to get online in the garden).

The free buffett breakfast in the morning is fantastic too. Hot & cold selections, fruit & pastries.

The hotel is pretty much perfect but for 2 faults that may be isolated to my room. The first is my aircon didnt work and secondly the lift door slams shut very loud (honestly it clatters shut). with my room being directly opposite the lift I could hear it bang every time someone got in or out.

That said I would deffo stay again and ask for a room away from the lift.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift and check the aircon
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keviom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kind of hotel boutique, with a backyard, an outdoor pool, and a smaller one inside a spaa. The coziest hotel where you can enjoy a view of the river, its located right across the Rambla, in front of the beach of Carrasco. Good breakfast and lunch. Unfortunately, the reception staff is not helpfull

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a week's stay in January, 2013. Our room was a very spacious corner room with a large balcony. It faced the Rambla, which was fairly noisy at night. It had a king bed and remodeled bath ( which was small but had all the amenities). It would have been nice to have a sofa, since it was a large room. The check-in ( at 3am) was efficient and the front desk staff were very pleasant. The included breakfast buffet was average - scrambled eggs, bacon, some cold cuts and cheese, fruit and rolls. The tables were not cleaned off and reset very often and they ran out of coffee. There was a nice bar area and a lounge with fireplace. The garden with pool was very relaxing and well maintained. The hotel is about 4-5 blocks from the commercial part of Carrasco, so an easy walk to shop and eat. The beach is across the street. With a few upgrades, this would be a 5 star facility.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel rooms are functional, but no decoration at all. The reception staff is terrible, not at all helpful, were unable to provide me a map when I requested one and people trying to call me were never able to reach me. When I came to check in, there were two and when i told them I was here to check in, they asked me what I wanted. when I repeated I wanted to check in, they finally started moving. no help with luggage.

The restaurant staff is fantastic as well as the bar staff. The meeting rooms are ok, the banquet staff awful. They come into the rooms mid-session, without knocking. They don't clean up ans replenish while attendees are away. Instead, they barge in during the session multiple times to interrupt. After asking them to stop, it still continued.

Overall functional.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank VLPSZ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a decent place to stay until the Sofitel opens down the street. The lobby is nicer in design than the actual rooms but it is in a good area and the sea view is nice. We await the Sofitel but in the meantime this is a decent place to stay in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very well placed on the beach of Carrasco, lovely walking area on the "rambla" a near the fantastic Sofitel Hotel Carrasco & Casino been totally remodeled and opening at the end of the year.
Rooms a very spacious and comfortable , breakfast was excellent and front desk very helpfull at all times

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Belmont House
Belmont House
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
164 reviews
Carrasco
Regency Suites Hotel-Montevideo
Carrasco
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cottage Carrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cottage Carrasco

Address: Miraflores 1360, Montevideo 11501, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $93 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cottage Carrasco 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cottage Carrasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing