We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
209
216
54
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
216
54
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk del este comfortable rooms three nights very nice hotel recommend this hotel place to stay fresh fruit other hotels breakfast buffet within walking distance airport lobby excelente luggage city
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 499 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here recently for a wedding. We were a party of 3; 2 adults and 1 6 year old child. here are pros and cons:

Pros:

Staff - Very nice staff in general; girl at breakfast went out of her way to make sure we had everything.

Location: In Carrasco, a nice tranquil part of Montevideo that is close to airport (15 mins) and a few blocks walk from restaurants/ bars/ pizzerias, etc.. Also right in front of the beach.

Rooms: Well appointed.

Cons:

Rooms: Although well appointed as explained above it was a bit small for what we were expecting. I advised we had a 6 year old in our party which we paid for, but there were no extra accomodations for him. He slept in the bed with us.

Overall I would recommend this hotel but make sure room will accomodate you.

NOTE: Once you arrive make sure you get a reputable taxi's phone number to keep at hand. They are hard to come by and if it is raining may take from 3-45 min wait. I rcommend Taxi Carrasco.

Room tip: make sure you verify accomodations for all in your party (ie: beds/ 2 beds/ sofas beds, etc...
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perudallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I can only endorse the previous review by 'Wandering...', with the excepton that I found the staff generally helpful. However for UK readers, 'Fawlty Towers' comes to mind. A 600 ml bottle of beer served in an ice bucket with a wine glass. The full breakfast available any time between 1 hour from official start time. Wondering if the chef was there to be able to eat in the restaurant. Plus points: clean room with nice balcony, and places to walk to nearby.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The renovations are well done; the lobby and other public areas are very nice. However, if you enjoy such modern conveniences as fast internet, alarm clock, room directory, hotel phone, iron or ironing board, or temperature control, you had best look elsewhere. My room has broken light bulbs, water pressure issues, and when I called down for an iron and ironing board, they came up with an iron, but said that they don't have any ironing boards. They said they don't have any in the hotel at all. Also, dinner service starts at 8 pm, but should start earlier to accommodate the varied eating time of foreigners. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, but it is so slow that it took me 10 hours to download a 14 MB file. Also, staff are generally rude and very arrogant. I don't know if there is room service because there is no literature in the room, and I had to go down to the reception to ask them how to dial out of my room and how to dial them since the phone gives no instructions. There is temperature control in the room, but you can't switch from heat to cool, which is problematic in change-over seasons like now when they have it on heat and it's so hot in the room that I want to turn on the cool air. I can open the (broken) window in the day, but at night the noise from the street is too loud to keep it open.

So, while looking good on the outside, this hotel lacks basic modern "stuff" and the staff is generally dismissive and arrogant. I recommend staying instead at the Hotel Regency, which is closer to downtown Carrasco and where the staff are friendly and they have the "basics" down.

Date of stay: May 2011
Trip type: Traveled on business
4  Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room tip: Las mejores vistas son las que dan al río
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Cottage Carrasco, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room tip: Todas son muy recomendables
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Cottage Carrasco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews