We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with staff to match and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have nothing but rave reviews for this place. I stayed in the hotel recently with my Dad, then solo. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and helped me with anything I needed. The hotel itself has a classy design, it felt luxurious. The hotel is right across the street from the beach and has a great view. Our comfortable room was a corner room facing the beach, I highly recommend. It even smelled pleasant wherever I went. The lounge rooms on the ground floor are inviting and relaxing for chill or conversation. I spent time at the pool and totally enjoyed. It's such a zen feeling, that there is a yoga class that comes in (from outside the hotel) to meditate on the grassy area by the pool. The breakfast was extraordinary, I couldn't believe it was included. They had a buffet with way more than anyone needs to eat: fresh fruit, meat cuts, cheeses, scrambled eggs, waffles (however they run out fast, I never got any), bacon, cookies, medialunas, breads, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. The only thing that was a bummer is that the spa was not open on the weekends, so I didn't get to do a massage.

Room Tip: corner room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olive_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 381 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here recently for a wedding. We were a party of 3; 2 adults and 1 6 year old child. here are pros and cons:

Pros:

Staff - Very nice staff in general; girl at breakfast went out of her way to make sure we had everything.

Location: In Carrasco, a nice tranquil part of Montevideo that is close to airport (15 mins) and a few blocks walk from restaurants/ bars/ pizzerias, etc.. Also right in front of the beach.

Rooms: Well appointed.

Cons:

Rooms: Although well appointed as explained above it was a bit small for what we were expecting. I advised we had a 6 year old in our party which we paid for, but there were no extra accomodations for him. He slept in the bed with us.

Overall I would recommend this hotel but make sure room will accomodate you.

NOTE: Once you arrive make sure you get a reputable taxi's phone number to keep at hand. They are hard to come by and if it is raining may take from 3-45 min wait. I rcommend Taxi Carrasco.

Room Tip: make sure you verify accomodations for all in your party (ie: beds/ 2 beds/ sofas beds, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perudallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I can only endorse the previous review by 'Wandering...', with the excepton that I found the staff generally helpful. However for UK readers, 'Fawlty Towers' comes to mind. A 600 ml bottle of beer served in an ice bucket with a wine glass. The full breakfast available any time between 1 hour from official start time. Wondering if the chef was there to be able to eat in the restaurant. Plus points: clean room with nice balcony, and places to walk to nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The renovations are well done; the lobby and other public areas are very nice. However, if you enjoy such modern conveniences as fast internet, alarm clock, room directory, hotel phone, iron or ironing board, or temperature control, you had best look elsewhere. My room has broken light bulbs, water pressure issues, and when I called down for an iron and ironing board, they came up with an iron, but said that they don't have any ironing boards. They said they don't have any in the hotel at all. Also, dinner service starts at 8 pm, but should start earlier to accommodate the varied eating time of foreigners. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, but it is so slow that it took me 10 hours to download a 14 MB file. Also, staff are generally rude and very arrogant. I don't know if there is room service because there is no literature in the room, and I had to go down to the reception to ask them how to dial out of my room and how to dial them since the phone gives no instructions. There is temperature control in the room, but you can't switch from heat to cool, which is problematic in change-over seasons like now when they have it on heat and it's so hot in the room that I want to turn on the cool air. I can open the (broken) window in the day, but at night the noise from the street is too loud to keep it open.

So, while looking good on the outside, this hotel lacks basic modern "stuff" and the staff is generally dismissive and arrogant. I recommend staying instead at the Hotel Regency, which is closer to downtown Carrasco and where the staff are friendly and they have the "basics" down.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
4  Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vivi699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Cottage Carrasco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nós reservamos dois quartos duplos sendo um deles com cama extra para uma criança.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Cottage Carrasco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente todo
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mariela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Cottage Carrasco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Belmont House
Belmont House
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
170 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Carrasco
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carrasco
Regency Suites Hotel-Montevideo
Hilton Garden Inn Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cottage Carrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cottage Carrasco

Address: Miraflores 1360, Montevideo 11501, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $100 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cottage Carrasco 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cottage Carrasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing