We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed in the Sheraton Montevideo in August 2010. It is a lovely hotel situated in a safe part of town. The facilities are very good. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The breakfast was quite good.The hotel is very close to the beach and one can see the Rio Plata from the hotel. However the hotel is about a 10-15 minute cab ride from the main tourist sights downtown. It is not possible to walk from the hotel to the downtown as it would take too long. Fortunately cabs are very cheap in Montevideo. Supposedly Montevideo is meant to be dangerous at night and not a place for tourists to be wandering about.During the day it appeared to be a very safe city.The hotel is also attached to a modern shopping mall. The pool offers beautiful views of the city of Montevideo. A nice comfortable and elegant hotel but a bit far away from the centro.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheguevara59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    446
    133
    30
    15
See reviews for
217
296
48
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Bell staff and front desk especially responsive. The view of the Atlantic, which is near the mouth of the Rio Plata, is very calming so be sure to request a sea view. Internet connectivity wasn't great but the hotel IT staff was very helpful and resolved the issues timely. Great nearby restaurants with super food and local ambiance. I didn't care for the proximity to a big middle-class shopping mall connected to the hotel (which isn't the fault of the hotel really) so after 3 weeks finally moved to another hotel more central to the older downtown, with some local grit and personality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skaidra_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
migupin, General Manager at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Dear Skaidra:

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Hope you can come to Montevideo later in Spring or Summer to enjoy the "Rio de la Plata" and our Rambla (Riverside promenade)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I just spent 3 nights at the Sheraton Montevideo and I just loved it. Service is impeccable and the location is unbeatable. It is not in the old City, but in a nice residential area right on the ocean. I had a room on the 20th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. What I like the most was that it was connected to a big shopping center (Punta Carretas). It's pretty much open from 10am to 10pm with great shopping, a great food court and restaurants. I also went to the fitness center on the 26th floor. it was super doing cardio with the ocean right in front. The only drawback is that you have to pay $15per day for room internet.
Thanks again to the Concierge/attendant who ran after my taxi holding my backpack (with passport)... I told you they had great service!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaland93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I went to Montevideo with my wife and 2 kids, 7yrs and 2 yrs. Despite the lacking of specific facilities for kids in the hotel, the staff team were very warm with them, playing, giving coloring magazines during the meals etc. And the private access to the mall is simply great and welcome to spend time, shopping and eating. Cab services work well. Swimming pool was closed for maintenance and we used the services of a golf club nearby, which was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosnomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great staff, beautiful room, good food & drink, decent location(attached to a very nice mall), and decent Internet. I was in Uruguay for work but would go back anytime. This hotel and staff were outstanding. The rooms were very clean, thought he refrigerators(packed with very pricy amenities for sale) were small. My one very minor complaint was the final bill charged us for calls back to the US, though we had used phone cards. The hotel took most, but not all of the charge off my bill. No biggie there, though.

If all the women in Uruguay are as beautiful as the employees here, I may move there...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit2Actual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This review would've have been a lot better had the staff at the hotel fulfilled a special request I made at the time of booking.

I booked an executive suite for one night as a present for my girlfriend's 30th birthday and requested champagne and flowers in our room for our arrival. Not only was it not there when we arrived but it was delivered at all. I didn't mention it at the time of check-in as it was supposed to be a surprise upon entering the room.

The room itself was nice (as it should've have been considering what I paid) and the hotel was the Sheraton standard, but the highlight for me was the roof top pool. Another plus was that the hotel is literally attached to a shopping centre which makes things very conveniant. The breakfast, however, was nothing special and could've been better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

As a Sheraton "preferred guest" we had a club floor room facing the Rio del Plata. The Sheraton group offer reliable standards of service and room quality and this one was up to their standards.
The only area I could criticise was the breakfast room, the problem is the common one of too many guests wanting breakfast at the same time and not enough tables to service the need.
The breakfast buffet was fairly standard fare but our additional request for hot chocolate was supplied happily.
The front desk was extremely good, finding transport to meetings etc, the staff are always trying to help you.
One small point, there is a charge for internet connection in the bedroom, I wish that hotels of this category would see that business guests need internet connection and include this in the room charge, the cost to them is minimal but it is an easy way to make extra profit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
#16 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
#14 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing