We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good business hotel, bit remote from the center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

this is the hotel I'm staying at every time when I'm in Montevideo. it's pretty convenient if you're traveling for business. it's not a holiday hotel in my opinion as the services and possibilities are rather limited.
there is a convenient connection with a shopping mall and there are some good restaurants and bars around though.
rooms are OK but need to be refurbished (as does the hotel). it's all there but it's not very modern. the bar is really small and the breakfast place is also busy with a medium good selection of food.

Room Tip: get a room with a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton on a business trip in December. It is a newer hotel with a great location near the water. Staff was very friendly. I never had the opportunity to try out the wifi, so cannot comment regarding it's consistency. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had to make reservation on short notice, and Sheraton had only Club Floor rooms available. It was more than I usually spend for a hotel, but for business reasons had to stay at the Sheraton so I booked the room. If you don't mind the price, it is very nice. The rooms were large and comfortable. Had a sea view with a beautiful sunrise. Wifi worked great (free for Gold members, $15/day for others). Breakfast in the Club was delicious, especially the bottled peaches and the local yogurt. Service outstanding. We had a group of 7 and took a hotel van to the airport for $72 vs. what would have been more than $100 via taxi. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here 2 times. Reception was very helpful and the staff were friendly. No problems with the wifi during my stay(Aug-Sep 2013). The hotel is connected to the mall via a secured door which you can access using your room card. It was very convenient for me to visit and buy things from the mall even during the night. I would recommend it absolutely....

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aristotle218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

no 'preference line' for SPG members ... it means, 30 minutes or + for check in ...
the club flooor is great, and the attendents very good. Taxi service with the Concierge
is easy and chip, charging your room, what is a good idea ...

Room Tip: river view is the best ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosvb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the reception desk.
Had a problem with my room booking (NOT the fault of the hotel), but was treated to coffee and biscuits while I waited for it to be resolved.
If you are a non-smoker, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise it may smell of ciagettes or cigars...
They have a Pool & Fitness Center, with its fully equipped gym, sauna, massage parlor, and beauty care services. Also - you could warm up in a Jacuzzi, or stretch out on the sundeck.
I had to leave the hotel at 05:00. but they did put on a requested 'continental' breakfast in the lounge bar.
Internet was much better when connected to ethernet, as Wi-Fi was erratic - but worked fine when it did..
There's also a huge shopping mall right next door, with a Cambio/exchange, as well as a large range of shops to suit all tastes..
The riverfront was within a few minutes walking distance, with a jogging tack for all the 'fitness freaks..'
Would happily stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in 01 to 10, as this will give you views of the River Plate...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gravity-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates, We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We try to keep the standards of service highly and are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you in your next time in Montevideo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed there many times, but the wifi is still missing!
Either wise it is a decent place to stay with kind people and excellent club service.
The adjunct mall is a plus for business travelers that are looking for convenience shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank openhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet connection. The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Address: Calle Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#3 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $155 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, Sheraton Montevideo Hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, our hotle in Montevideo, Uruguay sits surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing