We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Montevideo Columbia
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay in Montevideo. They even surprised us wth some choclates.
The hotel is clean, staff is nice, breakfast with a nice seaview.
Standards are international NH.
Only critic I have is that we had some problems finding a restaurant close by. But this is not the hotels fault.
Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soninni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    452
    260
    74
    53
See reviews for
259
428
55
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was my third stay in as many months, at the NH Columbia. A comparatively good rate of USD 130 (single room) a night (initially USD 120), as against a rate of say USD 155 at the Holiday Inn on calle Colonia 823, drew my attention, and then l realised why. The NH is closer to plaza Matriz (cathedral square or Plaza Constitucion) which is at the very heart of Ciudad Vieja (the old town). However, it is a bit dark and lonely to venture out on foot at night, whereas the Holiday Inn is closer to Plaza Independencia, and one block from Av. 18 de Julio, where there are numerous restaurants open at night. This said, l found a couple of good eating places within walking distance of the NH (l did venture out at night!). One was Cafe Bacacay, at Bacacay 1306, just off Pasaje Sarandi, which l visited in March, A tenderloin, accompanying vegetables, a glass of red wine, and coffee, served outside, came to US$ 21.24. On a subsequent visit to Montevideo,l visited a very nice Irish pub, located on the street parallel to Bacacay, where a mid-sized pizza, glass of beer, dessert and coffee, including a live show, came to US$ 18.95.
The NH itself is ideally a business hotel. The decor is modern and functional, in a combination of cement, aluminum, wooden floor board in the dining room and bedrooms. and modern paintings and ornaments. My guess is the hotel was finished in the 90's, and is probably due for an uplift outside, and the carpeting in the corridors is showing some wear. Asides from those observations, l found the bedrooms to be very functional, and on my last visit l was given a room on the first floor with a fantastic view of the open river. l did notice, however, that the showers have a tendency to flood the bathroom floors, as the glass screens only reach across half the extension of the bathtubs, and pivot, so water also filters under the glass, onto the bathroom floor.
The morning buffet breakfast is excellent, and very generous indeed. There is a choice of scrambled eggs, sausages, and toast, and a generous offering of juices, coffee, tea, chocolate, yoghurt, skimmed and plain milk. A wide variety of sweet buns, loaves and jams, corn flakes, and fresh fruit are displayed on a center table. The view of the riverfront is very relaxing, as the restaurant is located on the first floor, so that if you are seated away from the glass wall/window, the feeling is that you are overlooking the water.
The front desk staff was courteous and efficient, and check-in, check-out waiting time was minimal.
There was very little noise at night, as the hotel is somewhat isolated (The Holy Trinity Church is just across the street to one side, and the other two are quiet side streets). The rooms are detached from the elevators, so there is no chance of being landed in a 'room by the elevator.'

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the open river/sea when making the reservation, even of it is on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltime44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Modern hotel, great for business but it doesn't really have personality. Staff was friendly and helpful but there was sand in our sheets. Great view if you face the river.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_FtWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in Montevideo for four days in March. My major take away is that this is a nice, welcoming city in dire need of good hotels. I also suspect the lack of competition contributes to the relatively poor efforts at hotels that do exist. This one is well located across from the beach and a only a few blocks to the old city, which is quite charming in a colonial south america meets shabby-chic europe kind of way. Anyway, the hotel is in need of a major redo-- the lobby is cold (from a design standpoint) and the carpets in the halls are stained and smelly. The rooms are ok, but the mattresses are desperately in need of an upgrade. Service consistently overlooked things like leaving a breakfast room service menu in my room.

In terms of food, I highly recommend Il Panini, where I had a great Italian meal, and the restaurant attached to the Teatro Soldiz (name escapes me, but the theatre is a major landmark). And make a pilgrammage to the beautiful bookstore on the pedestrian street off Plaza Indepencia. All of these are about ten minutes a way.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean facing room on one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The breakfast is the hotel's best! The lobby and façade are clen, elegant and modern. The bedroom is spacious, well decorated and clean, and it accomodates another single bed. The bathroom is clean and spacious. The location isn't very good at night, because it's a little far from the restaurants and bars, and a little dark, but it's safe, easy and cheap to take a taxi to the other regions more vibrants. The price is good for the NH pattern. It´s a good option, with a good cost-benefit ratio.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izabellamartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great hotel! Location is not the best, specially when dark. On the other hand there is a great view of the river. This NH has a lot to offer. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful rooms at great price (99usd per night double room). Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed one night at the NH Columbia Hotel in room #411 where we had a view of the roof of the back of our building and a street with old apartment buildings and a few businesses-- kind of a shame as the the hotel is located right on the Rambla along the river front--but for one night it served it's function. It was nice to walk along the river front and from the hotel it was a short but slightly uphill walk to Constitution Plaza and the Cathedral. To walk to the Market area was an additional 6 blocks or so. Montevideo does not seem to offer a lot for tourists and we found that our one day there was plenty of time to see what we needed.

And actually the room was rather unusual as it was really two rooms joined by a roomy foyer. One room had a king-size bed, two armchairs, a desk and a television. The other room contained two quite low twin beds, a closet, 2 counters, another television, and a minibar. The bathroom located off the foyer between the two rooms had a shower/tub combination. My only major complaint was the overuse of Febreeze or a similar spray product in the room and the hallway outside (we were on the non-smoking floor).

The lobby provided two free guest computers but the internet connection was extremely slow. The breakfast buffet was very good except for the few hot items. My husband noted the eggs were burnt and the "sausage" were just those canned Vienna style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#42 of 87 in Montevideo
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
3.6 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Montevideo Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Montevideo Columbia

Property: NH Montevideo Columbia
Address: Rambla Gran Bretana, 473, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#21 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Montevideo Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the neo-classical and art deco structures of Montevideo's city center, riverside NH Montevideo Columbia beckons guests with its welcoming, contemporary appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Montevideo Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Columbia Montevideo
Nh Columbia Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing