We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better for this price point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Montevideo
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can do better for this price point”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The first room that I checked into in the Days Inn was on the side of the building facing the bus terminal across the street. Although it was 1am when I checked in, I could only hear loud buses coming and going from the terminal. In the morning, I woke to more noise at 6am from the buses, and it was far to noisy to get back to sleep. I requested at the front desk to be moved to another room. One of the guys at the front desk seemed frustrated that I would ask to be moved, and said there were no more available rooms on the back side of the building facing the other way. So, I asked the other person at the front desk if they didn't mind seeing if something was available. They looked for me and found a room on the other side.

The walls are thin, doors are thin, and floors are thin. So you can hear everything in the next room, the maid vacuuming, people upstairs, and people downstairs. I would stay here again only if there were no other options. It's not a terrible hotel, but you can do better at this price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDTChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    110
    89
    18
    10
See reviews for
55
90
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Excellent hotel... very nice and helpful staff... Big beds, comfortable room, nice breakfast, in front of a small shopping center where you can change money (DON'T CHANGE MONEY AT THE AIRPORT!!!!)... and DOUBLE WINDOWS... a must-have in every hotel..!

The only bad thing was the bathroom's curtain... they should change it for something else, because when you have a shower, it seems that a tsunami just passed on the floor... (LOL)...

Oh, and the internet access is waaay too slow... but it works!

I recommend it! I'll be there more times, definetely!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mganzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I really like this hotel.
Great staff. Clean rooms. Have a nice bathroom e a big room and a big bed. Good rommservice with great food. The location is great. Near from everthing in the city. Enjoyed the place.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — i like everthing
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Days Inn Obelisco was a nice hotel but has a terrible and unrepairable problem: The location.
It is in front of a bus terminal with buses coming and going through all the day and all night, so you can imagine the noise and the horrible view (and worst of all: the smell from the buses).
The room was beautiful, large and clean, as well the bathroom, but is a pity that the hotel was built here. The neiborhood was already dirty and dangerous.
The hotel has no pool and it was very far away from the beach, so forget it as a choise for pleasure vacation. You can come to this hotel only if you are a business traveller and are a heavy sleeper (I mean if you don't wake up even if a truck comes over you!)

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — The location and the lack of a pool
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sorayein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel...for price and location, it is highly reasonable; ok, it's not the Hilton, and it's not in the centre, but there are great advantages staying here. It's clean, airconditioned, and the view from the top is stunning. It suited me being directly opposing the bus station because I arrived in Montevideo by semi cama and had to leave early to get a coach and ferry to Buenos Aires. I was only there 3 nights, from 11th to 14th December 2006; getting to the centre was dead easy cos there are regular buses just a short walk away, and it only costs 2 peso's for a single journey, and only 10 minutes to the centre. It's a 20-25 minute walk to the famous football stadium and park. One of the staff spoke excellent English and helped me out with a problem I was having with a booking. The only downside is that the area around the hotel is a bit run down and seedy, the breakfast is a bit bland, and the lobby is fairly much 'no frills', but for what I paid, frankly, this was an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, la la la.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

3 nights at the Days Inn in Montevideo, fine standard of hotel, helpful front desk and decent sized rooms. Located, however, right by the bus station, and across the street from a very poor housing area. 10 minutes in a cab to Montevideo centre, close to National Stadium. Breakfast included, usual cold buffet affair. Decent fitness room on top floor, along with a small and uneventful coffee shop.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Days Inn in Montevideo. The room was a triple (3 single beds) and was very, very small--so small we had a hard time dealing with luggage. But the beds were comfortable and the bathroom small, but adequate. The room was very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Cannot comment on the restaurant as we never ate there. Small exercise room that seemed quite adequate. Very basic room, average hotel. The location was convenient--across the street from Tres Cruces Mall and bus terminal. We would most likely stay there again. Good value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank luvmbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tres Cruces
Hotel Tres Cruces
#61 of 87 in Montevideo
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercosur Universitas
Mercosur Universitas
#45 of 87 in Montevideo
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#46 of 87 in Montevideo
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
829 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gema Luxury Suites
Gema Luxury Suites
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Montevideo

Property: Days Inn Montevideo
Address: Eduardo Acevedo Diaz 1821, Montevideo 11801, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montevideo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing