We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet low expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When arrived very late at night the entrance door was under construction and no sign on how to get into the Hotel. Once we did the check in and went to the room, the room was FREEZING cold. When asked the check in person stated that we should call in advance to warm the room ( it was 0 degrees celcius outside ).
Service was good and breakfast was OK. Nevertheless, will never consider this Hotel when going back to beautiful Montevideo.

Room Tip: During winter once you reserve your room, you must call them to put the heater on, if you you freeze
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

This brand new little hotel is nearby the airport and walking distance to the newly refurbished Casino. I stayed in room #1 right near the tiny front desk. I couldn't sleep. People coming and going at all hours, front desk staff talking.. I could hear everything. I don't know about the other rooms, but considering the thickness of the door and the floor type I guess all rooms are alike. Rooms are small but comfortable. internet is ok and breakfast is passable.

Room Tip: dont stay at the ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

After coming back from Punta & Piriapolis-which to me was the disappointment, I found solace, quiet, tidiness & a very lovely and accommodating staff. After 5 nights of sleeplessness, I was able to rest easy. I would recommend this hotel highly. For the previous reviewer who commented on refurbishment they are doing just that. My room was excellent! Beautifully decorated with antique furnishings & wardrobe. My view of the sea & ramble was terrific-I even had a balcony to enjoy the sea breezes & watch the paraboarders gliding by! My sleep was quiet & I disturbed. The neighborhood is upscale, safe & a mixture of new & old stately homes! A fun walk about with plenty of shops, banks, restaurants & even a casino. I don't think you would be disappointed! : ))

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here twice last May, good location for my purposes as I needed to be in Carrasco and travel to Punta del Este. Probably not the best location, however, if you need to be near downtown Montevideo. The beach is just across the street, and there are some good restaurants and a "Tienda Inglesa" (grocery store) within walking distance. On my first visit the room had a lot of street noise and was adjacent to the very decrepit and noisy lift, making sleep difficult. The bathroom was also in need of a makeover. When I returned for my second stay, they had no record of my reservation. Not good. But, enter the staff, who had been super helpful during my first stay! The reception staff found me a much nicer room and gave me a free upgrade. There were other minor inconveniences (such as an in-room safe box that did not work), but the staff did a good job of attending to these matters. In short, the location and staff were great, but the hotel itself needs remodelling and updating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madsuzukidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFigari, Gerente at Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear guest: Thank you very much for taking time to coment about your stay at our hotel.

Although the hotel has only little more than 10 years, we know that we need an updating, and I can inform your that we´re just about to start a remodellation of the lobby and all rooms of the hotel. It will take time, but, I´m sure it`ll be in benefict of our guests.

Also I apreciate that you let us know your opinion about our staff. We work very hard every day, to make our guest a pleasent, safety stay, as they were at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hotel is at Montevideo's Rambla, in front of the sea and close to the airport.
The first negative impression is the very strong odour of "el cheapo" ambient perfume when you just walk into the reception... this "perfume", will follow you to all rooms. Had to sleep with open windows to correct this "sensation".. and enjoy the early morning traffic noise...
The second negative impresion is more technical, the hotel's elevator uses an inverter to modify the motor's speed, the inverter's high pitched noise can be heard in almost all over the place... this is something that could be easily fixed...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night, on our way to Punta del Este. It is very comfortable place, room was small but Ok, in the top second floor with a ceiling in "mansarda", comfortable bed and bathroom was ok too. Senior people who were leaving the hotel the next morning were very thankfull with the warm attention and personal treatment they had received along their several days stay. All staff was also very attentive to us. they looked after our car and bycicles, since we could not enter the very tiny and complex underground garage. Location is great, accross the street from the beach. It will certainly benefit when the monstrous Carrasco Casino Hotel gets finally rebuilt and operational, now the area looks like war-zone. We walked to the restaurants nearby and it is a bit scaring, although it was safe and uneventful. breakfast was very good, with fresh fruits, home-made bakery and lots of things to eat from the buffet. Scrambled eggs had not been replaced along the breakfast time, but the rest was excellent.
Great place to stay if you do not like to be down-town and don`t need a lot of space to move around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Los_Bajos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

To be honest, I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I must admit it´s quite cozy -has a homey feeling to it-, has a great location (not downtown, but a 20 min. ride, and close to airport, Zonamerica, and beautiful Carrasco area shops, restaurants and beaches) and very kind staff.
On the other hand I must also admit it needs major refurbishing, there are many details to be changed, decoration in general is outdated, although if renewed has to keep the homey feeling it has now, bathrooms are in bad shape, showers don´t work properly, you freeze and then you literally burn in the matter of seconds, very frustrating! Tiles are broken and poorly kept with stains all over from paint and sealers, just to mention a few. It seems as if it has been repaired by parts and what it needs is an overall renewal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Belmont House
Belmont House
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
164 reviews
Carrasco
Regency Suites Hotel-Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
332 reviews
Howard Johnson Carrasco
#67 of 87 in Montevideo
109 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel

Address: Rambla Republica De Mexico 6535, Montevideo 11500, Uruguay (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pedro Figari)
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pedro Figari!Our charming sea front is in the most distinguished neighborhood, surrounded by two business centers WTC and Zonamerica. Experience the lively Uruguayan art at the BEST WESTERN Pedro Figari, inaugurated in late 1998, honoring one of the major paint artists of the country. We are located in front of the sea in the heart of the Carrasco neighborhood, the most important and distinguished residential area of Montevideo.Whether you're traveling on business or leisure, enjoy the first class ambiance and our personalized services with the charm of this sensational area full of attractions, the best gourmet alternatives, shopping and live entertainment, as well as secure, quiet relaxation.We are located within walking distance of the first-class sports and activities you deserve while visiting the capital city of Montevideo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel Montevideo
Best Western Montevideo
Montevideo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing