We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was good there!”
Review of Ibis Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Montevideo
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was good there!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Together with our Travelfellows,we went for few Nights into this Ibis Hotel, wich is near the Beach and few Minutesaway from the Center (with Bus or Car).
Friendly CheckIn and CheckOut. Standardroom was clean andour Room was calm.
Breakfast Service was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank continentalsunDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    830
    394
    72
    23
See reviews for
461
652
112
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Best place, location, neighbourhood, service, quality for my stay in Montevideo.
The Bad, internet connection! Wired, wireless, NOT WORK. They change at list 3 times the system and still not working. At the end I bought a 3g modem...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rovelasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

we liked this ibis hotel in montevideo. it is close to the seacoast and it was 20 minute walking into the city center. to the city center with car, it was just few minutes. there was a large supermarket behinfd the hotel. room (standard) was in the usual designand the room was clean. nice brekfast service and a friendly staff.most of staff speak also good english.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aradtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Close to the rambla, standard hotel, very good value, very helpful staff. Rooms are small but nicely designed. Breakfast is average, not so close to the centre so you nerf a car or taxi for exploring this very nice city!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After a couple of years, we decided to return to Montevideo and, since we are Accor Le Club members, it was an obvious choice to stay in the Ibis Montevideo as the previous visits. But some things have changed. On the positive side: location (right beside Las Ramblas, one block from supermarket and gas station and 10min from Punta Carretas Shopping), breakfast (really nice buffet worth the US$7 per person) and service (the staff is kind and friendly). On the negative side: cleanliness (the cleaning produtcs are of poor quality and not enought to keep the bathroom smeeling nice), very old towels (they are in process of changing them, but, it´s weird to have both a new towel and and old one on the same hanger) and strange maintenance (the hotel building only works with central air conditioning OR heating so, on our first night, we could not sleep properly since the building was with the heating on and it was really hot. After some argumentation on the front desk, they decided to change the building system to air conditioning again). For now, I would recommend Ibis Montevideo for a couple of low budget nights. For more than that, I would think twice before staying there. Hope the administration provides the needed changes, since we really loved the city and we would like to come back to Montevideo anytime soon and take advantage of staying in this Accor hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre Weish... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stay in this hotel because it has an excellent price and it is well located mainly if you are traveling by car. My main concern with this hotel was the housekeeping personal that they did an awful work:they did not clean the room. Also the hotel needs a good maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bramex57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was booked by our travel agent. Had I been doing the booking I would have headed to the Four Seasons or the Radisson - not that it would matter; seems you can hardly walk anywhere at night in this city.
Anyway, rooms are barely as big as college dorms but are neat and tidy. Bathroom a decent size. Good shower. Quite good TV ( we hadn't seen any news in weeks).
Inconsistent signal strength for in-room WiFi - iPad could get signal, iPhone couldn't but the spacious and comfortable lobby has super-strength signal so its not all that bad. When I enquired at the desk about the sketchy signal, the very nice woman apologized and sent someone to check the floor's router and it seemed better after that.
Location is only OK in terms of being right on the Rambla and having sea views, but its only 4 blocks from a really bad neighbourhood into which we unwittingly stumbled and were victims of an attempted robbery (our fault). We easily, however, walked up to the main drag (Avnda. 18 Julio) two other days.
Good breakfast. Really friendly staff. Seems more a business hotel.
Fantastic restaurant right around the corner: La Cocina de Pedro (see separate review).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydogspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#25 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Montevideo

Property: Ibis Montevideo
Address: La Cumparsita 1473, Montevideo 11217, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Montevideo
#22 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 km from the historic centre of Montevideo by the Rambla Sur, the Ibis Montevideo hotel is located close to the airport. It is near a shopping centre and 6 km from lake Pocitos. The hotel puts at your disposal all the amenities for a pleasant stay, plus a LA BUENA MESA restaurant, and 3 large-capacity meeting rooms. 100 air-conditioned rooms are available for booking. The bar is open 24/24 and 2 rooms are accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Montevideo Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing