We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of Ibis Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Montevideo
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a nice stay in this hotel. The value is very good and the staff is very helpful.
The hotel offered everything that we needed to have a quiet time in the city of Montevideo, from the adaptor to bicycle rental and taxis. We´ll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    836
    396
    72
    23
See reviews for
463
659
113
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Compared to other Ibis / Accor hotels I know this is a huge downgrade. Wall paint is scratched everywhere, the tv is smaller than my iphone, and the decoration is an invitation to a suicide scene in a horror movie... a cheap one.
No fridge in the room, no breakfast included, and a very hostile parking lot manager who demands to leave the keys or get out.
The borough is not nice, however the building is modern and with a nice river view.
Location is fine if you go to Ciudad Vieja. If your business is in WTC, Pocitos or Carrasco, you have a 20 min taxi ride.

Room Tip: Try to get 200, 300, 400 or 500.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff always helpful and polite, a very good all you can eat breakfast buffet , rooms are simple but confortable. Nice location in Rambla Argentina , quiet place,
There is a Disco supermarket very close !1
Overall a nice affordable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCIO161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at this ibis. Some things seemed in need of a slight renovation ( such as the shower flouting and bathroom tile grout) but otherwise it was everything I ever want in a hotel: easy, Spartan, affordable and clean. I love how firm ibis beds are and here was no exception. Their linens are always clean, white, and non- fussy, which I love. This ibis even had a hairdryer that came in handy. Best of all, our room (305) had a gorgeous view of the rambla. My fiancé thought the hotel was a bit far from the ciudad vieja but we didn't mind the walk. The hotel is right next door to a leader price grocery store that sells beverages, fruit, yogurt, candy, bottled water, and bakery items, so you can do a bit of self catering very easily. We did that for breakfast both days (medialunas and bananas instead of the ibis buffet, which is not included in the price of your stay), and saved some money. The cafe is really bright and attractive, though, so spending a few dollars to have a coffee there isn't a bad idea. Overall I just loved our stay at this ibis... All time favorite hotel chain!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Reasonably located within easy reach of most typical Montevideo places of interest, albeit by a walk or short taxi ride (taxis are a cheap means of transport). The Hotel itself is over-looking las Rambla so ideal for a nice a walk or jog, or to watch the sunset.

As you would expect, this is a standard Ibis hotel, so very standard and good value.

Be careful with "non-smoking" rooms, they are not, ours was clearly a room that had been occupied by smokers for sometime although we clearly booked a non-smoking room. Tell tail signs of cigarette burns in bathroom, and in-ground stench of stale cigarettes. Perhaps non-smoking room means no ash tray supplied...

WiFi is also an extra, whilst not expensive in this day an age it's ridiculous you have to pay for internet access in your room.

Strangely the hotel only supply 2 bath towels, no hand towels, and the staff begrudgingly supplied an extra towel when requested.

Staff are friendly but not particularly helpful.

Room Tip: For a good lunch or dinner try the local restaurant "Cocina del Pedro" which is about a 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somewhere_Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

On this trip I choose a hotel that would be relatively cheap and in a good location. I was lucky to get a room with a nice view over the ocean the rooms were typical Ibis. My room had air conditioning, which was great (maybe tha's standard?, I was positvely surprised anyway).

The check out was a let down. Over the phone, when making the reservation I received a very good deal for the room. I never received a written confirmation and didn't think that it would be necessary. On check out the Receptionist tried to charge almost double the price per night. It took quit some time of discussion, involving 3 staff members (receptionist and duty manager?). in the end i received what was originally agreed upon, but it left a sou taste in the end.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jutta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
1.7 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#34 of 87 in Montevideo
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Montevideo

Property: Ibis Montevideo
Address: La Cumparsita 1473, Montevideo 11217, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Montevideo
#22 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 km from the historic centre of Montevideo by the Rambla Sur, the Ibis Montevideo hotel is located close to the airport. It is near a shopping centre and 6 km from lake Pocitos. The hotel puts at your disposal all the amenities for a pleasant stay, plus a LA BUENA MESA restaurant, and 3 large-capacity meeting rooms. 100 air-conditioned rooms are available for booking. The bar is open 24/24 and 2 rooms are accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Montevideo Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing