We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Great Location”
Review of Ibis Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Montevideo
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

A very standard Ibis experience! Accor keeps IBIS experience same everywhere in the world! The hotel is located just across the beach and a supermarket and a pharmacy across the road! Very close to the financial center and montevideo shopping!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer2011_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

Staff extremelly friendly and willing to provide valuable local information. Good location (by the Rambla and close to the old city). Our room had some marks on the floor and on one wall probably due to water infiltration, but probably it was just one room. Other than that, exactly what you expect from an Ibis.
Equipe extremamente amigável e sempre disposta a judar com dicas locais. Boa localização (na Rambla, perto da Ciudad Vieja). Nosso quarto tinha marcas no chão e em uma parede de infiltração, mas provavelmente era só neste quarto. Fora isso, é exatamente o que se espera de um Ibis.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trance_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, California, USA
1
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel is in a great location. A very spartan room but worth the price.
Do not miss the Restaurant located within walking distance 3 blocks up the hill from the hotel called La Cocina De Pedro, It was recommended by the staff and was first class.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

the hotel is nice and is a nice walk to the beach and a short taxi or walk to a nice shopping mall. there is not much immediately outside of the hotel except a Disco grocery store.. it looks new from the outside but the room I had there was a some of the floor boards coming loose so it obviously wasn't new.. but i had a great view of the ocean..... Also if you pre pay.. make sure your bank account shows it.. or you have to pay once you show up at the hotel even if your reservation says pre-paid.

Room Tip: get a room facing the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibflyguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brasilia, Brazil
1
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The location is nice. You can stroll along the shore line from the hotel to the park. And also, the frontdesk guy was very helpful. I asked about a good dining restaurant and he recommended a really nice one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed with friend just a night in this hotel. Everything is ibis, but this hotel is very clean, hairdryer in the bathroom, safe in the room, which is extra and practical. Garage just in the basment. We enjoyed our stay. receptionist spoke nice english,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paraczky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Staying at the IBIS Hotel in Montevideo, Uruguay was a disappointment at $75.00 (US). The hotel is located in a remote section of Montevideo and I was advised not to walk to town at night, lest I be in jeopardy;
The hotel is several stories tall and is only a few years old. Management claims to immediately satisfy any complaints of its tenants, a claim announced in writing. So, it was 2 a.m and I couldn't sleep because of the excessive noise emanating from the room down the hall. There apparently an all night party. The hotel's construction is cheap, so one can easily hear through the paper-thin walls. So, I called the front desk and complained of raucous, to no avail. The front desk didn't even send anyone up to investigate.
The next day I asked management why thy proclaim to satisfy customers when they don't even lift a finger.They had a ready made excuse and apologized, saying they would change rooms for me for the next night.
One benefit of the hotel is free internet and a market within walking distance. There's a comfortable bar on the first floor and
bareakfast is "all you can eat" for $7.00 US. I checked out of this
hotel and walked downtown and found a wided variety of hotels for $50.00. The proximity of the IBIS is poor, in that it is too remote, unless you have a car.
Even if you venture out at night, as I did, you have to beware of the hordes of wild dogs that roam the streets.Another benefit is a money changer directly across the street from the hotel which gives the best rates that I found anywhere.

Room Tip: Demand a top floor room at the end of the hallway in order to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Johnmuirguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
1.2 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,161 reviews
1.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#51 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
800 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Montevideo

Address: La Cumparsita 1473, Montevideo 11217, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montevideo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
#22 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 km from the historic centre of Montevideo by the Rambla Sur, the Ibis Montevideo hotel is located close to the airport. It is near a shopping centre and 6 km from lake Pocitos. The hotel puts at your disposal all the amenities for a pleasant stay, plus a LA BUENA MESA restaurant, and 3 large-capacity meeting rooms. 100 air-conditioned rooms are available for booking. The bar is open 24/24 and 2 rooms are accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Montevideo Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing