We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot near the beach”
Review of Ibis Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Montevideo
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot near the beach”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed here before shipping our Land Rover back to the UK. Plenty of parking meant we could organise and clean our camper before putting her in the container for the journey home. Hotel good value, well located and secure parking.

Room Tip: Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    837
    396
    72
    23
See reviews for
463
660
114
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. If you are in Montevideo only for one night and want to see the old city it might be better to get a hotel nearer to there. If you have a bit more time to spare however, this location might be nicer, as it is next to the rambla/boulevard which makes it easy to take a nice stroll along the ocean towards for instance the more wealthy neighbourhood of carretas, which has a fancy shopping mall (20-30 mins away). I walked to the old centre a couple of times which took me about the same time, also at night it seemed safe to do.

There is one good pizza/fish/meat restaurant nearby (called Recoleta) which is mostly frequented by locals and they show football on TV. There is also a very large supermarket nearby.

Bed is comfortable and double glazing keeps noise out, but you can hear some noise from adjacent rooms. Room was clean, although bathroom appliances are beginning to fade (and turn yellow). TV has BBC World. Breakfast was fairly complete.

I tried in vain and was told that Wi-fi in the room does not work if you have an apple computer. Staff was helpful in trying to solve this issue for me. Wi-fi in the room is USD 6 for 24 hours, in the lobby it is free.

For the price I think this offers a good quality proposition, although one should expect functionality over charm.

One tip: on Sundays in Montevideo many shops and museums close so there is not too much to do.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Good Option for The Price. Good location. There is no refrigerator in room and a restrict parking avalible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaviobp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Near the river and some important sites, Ibis Montevideo deserves its symbol of cheap but fair hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
1.7 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Montevideo

Property: Ibis Montevideo
Address: La Cumparsita 1473, Montevideo 11217, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Montevideo
#22 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 km from the historic centre of Montevideo by the Rambla Sur, the Ibis Montevideo hotel is located close to the airport. It is near a shopping centre and 6 km from lake Pocitos. The hotel puts at your disposal all the amenities for a pleasant stay, plus a LA BUENA MESA restaurant, and 3 large-capacity meeting rooms. 100 air-conditioned rooms are available for booking. The bar is open 24/24 and 2 rooms are accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Montevideo Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing