We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine but a bit boring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2009

it seems a shame to travel halfway across the world to stay in a Holiday Inn that looks and feels much the same as a Holiday Inn anywhere else. However I was there for a conference and meetings, so the choice was not mine. However the hotel is fine - I didn't experience the noise issues reported by others, and the room was clean and quiet. Ethernet hook-up for internet was decent, and the breakfast was fine - a wide selection but perhaps not what North americans are used to. The location is good- very central, and an easy walk to most tourist areas. It was also comparatively cheap for a city-centre location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 555 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at the holiday inn for one night and were there less than 24hours so we can't say a whole lot about the hotel. We picked it for the price and location. Both of which were good. We had a king size bed in the room and a little table in the corner. Yes, the decor was tired and the hotel could definitely use updating (think holiday inn built in the 1980's that hasn't been redone), but for about $80 a night it worked just fine before heading off to Colonia in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank MeganLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I heard a nearby bar blasting music past 1 AM even during the week. I had a sound machine and earplugs--so I was ok. High speed internet worked well. Rooms are in need up renovation. Great Location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinline69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Although the rooms were clean, they need work. I stayed during hot and humid days, the air conditioning was air but not cold. People in gereal were helpful. When I complained about the A/C, the Manager got on the phone trying to switch me to suite, I denied as I expect them to check if the rooms are in working order.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

I have been to Montevideo 3 other times and decided this time to try out the Holiday Inn in Montevideo. The Holiday Inn is walking distance to where I was working so it was in an ideal location. Check-in was quick and easy. Everyone I talked to at the desk spoke English quite well. The room was large and had a king size bed with a fold out couch. The room was clean and had that 80’s South Florida look. The bathroom was very clean and included the usual amenities (soap, shampoo, hair dryer) and an electric hot pot for making tea or coffee. The Internet Wi-Fi was free and available in the room along with a plug in patch cable. In the lobby were 3 computers available to guests with internet access. A free, small buffet was included in the hotel fee. The buffet was adequate, breads, cheese, juices, cereal, fruit and some scrambled eggs. The hotel is next to the old town of Montevideo and there are many nice restaurants close by. The only down side to staying here was there were no English language news channels (CNN, BBC) available on their cable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

This Holiday Inn is as the Montevideu city center (Microcentro) this means for us abandoned and it needs some works. Our room at the 3rd floor was in very poor conditions. We have been only 3 days in Uruguay, one at Motevideu one day to go at Punta d'Este and we return last day by Colonia del Sacramento and certanly we could find a better place to stay at the expensive Punta (where we had a very good lunch at Los Caracoles) or at the beautiful Colonia del Sacramento.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

When I booked the Holiday Inn, I expected an average hotel experience, but I was surprized to have gone to good hotel for a fair price.
Our other options were the Raddisson (One block away from the Holiday Inn) and some other lower class hotels, but chose the HI because of the proximity to city centre and the price.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The hotel restaurant isn't IN the hotel property, it's half a block away and not the best I had been to, to say the least. There was a bar in the hotel property building, though and the breakfast was served there too.

Regretably, it seems there was some work being done some floors up, and we had constant knocking and drill sounds, even at high hours in the night.

There was a Tata supermarket 2 blocks away, which was good to get some snacks.
The gym and pool are good, yet not that big, but they get the work done.

There's plenty of travel agencies around, but if you're travelling on a budget, I'd recommend just going to the Tres Cruces terminal (Which also happens to be a Mall) and get a bus to Punta or Colonia.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mavalenzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Montevideo Columbia
NH Montevideo Columbia
#35 of 87 in Montevideo
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
2.5 mi away
Regency Golf Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#22 of 87 in Montevideo
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Montevideo

Address: Colonia 823, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel & Convention Center Uruguay. We are located in the commercial , financial and cultural Center , the best location in Montevideo. One block away from main avenue 18 de Julio , and main square Plaza Independencia .Next to the most luxurious Casino of the city. In a radius of 200 meters you can find Airlines Offices (United, American , Varig, Iberia, Tam , Lan Chile) and important international companies : IBM , Nortel Networks, Citibank, ABN Amro, Xerox, Reuters, Amadeus, Kodak and many others . If you are coming from Buenos Aires , we are the nearest Hotel from the Ferry Terminal (1 Km) . Our mission is to offer highest quality of services based on friendly , efficient and professional staff. 120 comfortable rooms and 14 elegant suites , were specially designed to satisfy the most varied needs of our guests travelling for business or pleasure . 600 m2 Convention Center with 9 multi purpose meeting rooms with the latest technological support. Other Facilities include: 75 m2 Indoor heated pool with panoramic view , Solarium, Sauna , Gym , Garage , Danubio Azul Restaurant , El Quijote Lobby Bar , Business Center. Services included in room rates :Buffet American Breakfast (7 - 10:30 AM) , Internet access, local calls ( up to 3 minutes) , and access to Pool, Sauna and Gym.Non Uruguayan residents holding foreign travel documents are exempted from taxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Montevideo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing