We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MVD business trip part 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“MVD business trip part 2”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Holiday Inn Motevideo is right off of Independence Square in old town Montevideo. It's located right next to the Radisson hotel and casino. The staff was friendly and professional. The rooms were un exceptional, just average. The bed was way too firm for my liking. The hotel is within walking distance of many area shops, market and attractions. I would probably only stay here if other hotels in the area were full up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jay N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear that you liked our location and our staff service. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be a great hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations in a few areas.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Kind regards,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    245
    127
    36
    15
See reviews for
132
150
48
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pretty good hotel in a great location where all the action of the city is located. Not far from a huge shopping mall as well. Good clean rooms and nice bathroom setup, with well kept property. Ok gym and decent restaurant. Not a bad place to park for a few days while in Montevideo. Very nice city with lots to do. Area around hotel very safe and full of embassies. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because my first and second choice were booked. I agree with others that this hotel is not up to US or European Holiday Inn standards. That being said the location was great walking distance to everything in Montevideo including Mercado del Puerto. Breakfast to me was overpriced ($15) and lacking choice. Also be advised if coming in summer the ac takes a while to get cool and you can't leave it on when you leave your room as it needs your room key to work.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear rrobstet,

We want to thank you for sending your review about your last stay at our hotel, we welcome any opportunity to improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the downtown location, excellent to move to the main attractions of Montevideo.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the disatisfaction experienced. Next year we will be making important improvments in the hotel structure (rooms and public areas) that will enhance our service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback, I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Usually the Holiday Inn hotels have a higher standard than this one. It's not bad but was expecting a bit more comfort
The reception staff needs a bit more 'training' on customer service..
Would chose a different hotel if returning to Montevideo

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the road is quite busy and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ruicaricas,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and I apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Next year we will be making improvments in the hotel structure (rooms and public areas) that will enhance our service.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies, we really care about our guest´s problems and we really appreciate your comments. I am at your entirely disposal hoping to welcome you again in our hotel to show the changes made.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed here twice with the same result both time. Why I stayed a second time is a good question....

The reception people were very inefficient and, frankly, rude in both cases. The room is below expectations for a Holiday Inn in Latin America where they are normally quite good. The first time the electricity failed. This time there is only luke warm water. The breakfast is perfectly acceptable but not wonderful. The general level of maintenance is poor and the place is shabby and smelly.

I certainly will not come here a third time as there are plenty of good hotels in Montevideo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Magexport,

We appreciate your loyalty and your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We are certainly pleased that breakfast was acceptable for you.

Please accept our sincere apology for the unsatisfactory service you received from our Front Desk staff. We also regret the issues you came across with the warm water and the level of manteinance. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for review. Also we want to inform that next year we will be making improvments in the hotel structure that will enhance our service.

Once again we apologies and we remain at your entirely service.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here while vacationing in Montevideo. While this hotel caters mainly to business people, I found it was a good hotel for the price and location. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Most important was the the beds were firm and the rooms were quiet so I was able to sleep well. The hotel is located a block off the Plaza de Independencia and an easy walk to Cuidad Vieja. The breakfast that's included is fresh and ample. The best part of the hotel was the friendly staff and great service. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philhelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear philhelb,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Montevideo and for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel location, ideal for business and leisure purposes, the confort of the beds, the buffet breakfast and the friendly attitude of our Front Desk staff.

Once again thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This HI is a good choice for MVD. It's centrally located and within walking distance to the old town and the port. The rooms are showing their age, but still very clean. The service won me over though. Copa lost one of my bags and it didn't show up until 2 days later. The staff at the holiday inn held my bag even after I checked out and I came by to pick it up on my way back to MVD airport. That was fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear TechMarauder,

Thank you for your nice comments about your last stay in Holiday Inn Montevideo.

We are really happy that the location was good for your travel needs, and that you enjoyed your room, we are planning some remodelations for next year so they will have a new appearance. On the other hand we are pleased that the service was the best thing for you, we strive to make the best of our human service and finding appropiate solutions for our guest problems is one of our goals.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Montevideo Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 86 in Montevideo
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Montevideo Columbia
NH Montevideo Columbia
#37 of 86 in Montevideo
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Montevideo

Property: Holiday Inn Montevideo
Address: Colonia 823, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel & Convention Center Uruguay. We are located in the commercial , financial and cultural Center , the best location in Montevideo. One block away from main avenue 18 de Julio , and main square Plaza Independencia .Next to the most luxurious Casino of the city. In a radius of 200 meters you can find Airlines Offices (United, American , Varig, Iberia, Tam , Lan Chile) and important international companies : IBM , Nortel Networks, Citibank, ABN Amro, Xerox, Reuters, Amadeus, Kodak and many others . If you are coming from Buenos Aires , we are the nearest Hotel from the Ferry Terminal (1 Km) . Our mission is to offer highest quality of services based on friendly , efficient and professional staff. 120 comfortable rooms and 14 elegant suites , were specially designed to satisfy the most varied needs of our guests travelling for business or pleasure . 600 m2 Convention Center with 9 multi purpose meeting rooms with the latest technological support. Other Facilities include: 75 m2 Indoor heated pool with panoramic view , Solarium, Sauna , Gym , Garage , Danubio Azul Restaurant , El Quijote Lobby Bar , Business Center. Services included in room rates :Buffet American Breakfast (7 - 10:30 AM) , Internet access, local calls ( up to 3 minutes) , and access to Pool, Sauna and Gym.Non Uruguayan residents holding foreign travel documents are exempted from taxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Montevideo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing