We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable for a short business stay -but just that, and expect no luxuries” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Montevideo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Acceptable for a short business stay -but just that, and expect no luxuries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is centrally located (we mean this literally: just around the corner of the main square), which is definitely its main advantage. Superior rooms are ample and clean in general, but they share the same feature of public areas: you feel in an "old" hotel all the time, pretty much 80s (or early 90s) style, but that looks dated now, and could do with some refurbishing. Our room on the third floor had a big window, but it basically faced a wall (acceptable only as we stayed there for two nights, on business, and were out of the room the whole day). The TV set was placed in a very awkward way, so that you couldn't watch just lying on the bed. The pool is fine, with warm water and nice views. Breakfast has a good selection and variety of items, even if coffee cups are small (you have to get two, at least, for decently sized coffee with milk). Customer attention is OK, though calling from outside the hotel to a room can be tiresome (no direct room access, they take their time to answer, keep you on hold, etc). All in all, it is a sensible option for a short business stay right in the center of the city (still, for that kind of trip, and based on value for money, next time we will consider newly opened hotels like Urban Express or Orfeo, which are just a couple of blocks away).

Room Tip: If you care for views at all, avoid rooms from the fourth floor down, and try the ones opposite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_H_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Assistan to General Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear D_and_H_2012,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your last stay in Holiday Inn Montevideo. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

We are happy to read that the location was according to your travel needs and that you enjoyed the panoramic swimming pool, the size and cleanliness of your room and the variety of the buffet breakfast. I´m very sorry you were not satisfied with the room decoration, the view, the placement of the TV and that you experienced problems calling for outside, we are going to work on this issues in order to take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Holiday Inn Montevideo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    237
    126
    34
    15
See reviews for
128
144
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm sorry if some person like this hotel but for myself it was Bad I was on a visa run from Brazil, Frist was food in the hotel only ham and cheese or cheese and ham in the so called restaurant not so good for a so called international hotel Best to look out side for something to eat if you or asking me,

Best stay in the other hotel Trust me ,

Room Tip: look at an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnieadams73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Ronnieadams73,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Please accept my sincerest apology if the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations and also for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in March. It was my first time in Montevideo. The whole staff was very helpful and made me feel at home. The hotel is in an excellent location, you can walk just about anywhere. I was upgraded to a diplomatic suite on arrival (which was also a bonus) I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The negative reviews must be from older rooms. The hotel has done renovations and all the rooms look new and remodeled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMvd, Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about your last stay in Holiday Inn Montevideo.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our staff service and your Diplomatic Suite and that the location was excelent for your travel needs. Our rooms were refreshed last year and we are planning new changes in the future.

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
949 reviews
403 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Reception – Friendly but busy. Not a very attractive lobby.

Décor – Not as nice as the pictures. We booked a "superior room" and what we got was a view of a wall. There were several minor things broken that never got fixed. The entrance card switch, the laundry cord on the shower, the curtains did not close completely, the bathroom toilet was broken, etc. Despite the mediocre reviews we booked to get the points and thought that being a member and the higher rate we paid for a superior room might get us an improved situation . Did not happened, so we will not stay here on our way back home from Uruguay. The hotel seems pretty full, that is why I don’t think they care to improve. We spent 3 weeks in Uruguay and found that hotels are very modest in decor, service and standards but high in price.

Breakfast- Fine as a continental with scrambled eggs.

Room- It was a good size but was nothing like the pictures of the “superior” room we paid for. There was a lot of walking noise from the floor above.

There is enough light for reading.

We booked single beds and they were pretty comfortable with clean linens.

Refrigerator and a kettle but no coffee service, bring your own.

Wi-Fi- does not work in the room despite what they tell you. It only works in the lobby.

TV had a lot of channels in different languages.

We put one bag on the desk and one the chair, they don’t have any bag racks.
.
Bathroom was large with normal amenities, clean towels and normal shower pressure. The shower and some of the floor tile had mold. I had to open the toilet to stop the water from running.

Wall Hair dryer

Water is potable, no free bottle water at all in the rooms.

Iron and board is nice to have.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Starviagera,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was great! the pool and the sauna were both very nice! I enjoyed our room to say the least. We got upgraded to a suite at no additional charge and the room service was perfecto! The location and the service provided by the employees was excelente! If I am ever in Montevideo again I will be staying here for sure! Muy Bueno!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is not the Ritz but all was very comfortable. Room was clean and bathroom was fine by South American standards. Location could not be beat, just a short walk from the Plaza Independencia. Plan your walk anywhere in Ciudad Vieja from your front door. Service was friendly and breakfast was super. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
631 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Holiday Inn is the worst Holiday Inn I have been at. Surely the chain should evaluate its member hotels and check the standards.
Well - one good thing was the breakfast menu - fresh and plenty of variety. Very good!
But then - WiFi is free, but absent. I was on the 6th floor and had to use a very low signal from the 4th floor as the Wifi on floors was absent. However , in the breakfast room on the groundfloor the Wifi was ok.
In the room - with a view of a neighbouring wall - there was no information of the hotel services. (More than on the roomservice) So when checking out i noticed the hotel has a swimmingpool. It could be good to have a folder in the room on what service the hotel offer.
Check in and check out was quick, however no recognition of me being a Ambassadeur Platinum member, no up grade of room, no benefits which you normally get in all other Holiday inn hotels ( except this one and Madrid Piramides) like a newspaper to the room, fruitplate and upgrade.
One sleeps well - bed was really good, but floor in the room was like walking on thin ice. I will not chose this hotel next time I'm back in Montevideo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Hans L,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Ambassador member and for posting a review of our property. I am so glad you liked the breakfast menu we have to offer to our guests in our hotel restaurant. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with our WiFi and the view from your room that did not live up to your expectations. I am also sorry we are not able to honor your Priority Club perks and apologize for the hotel services that affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Montevideo Columbia
NH Montevideo Columbia
#37 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
#34 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#14 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Montevideo

Property: Holiday Inn Montevideo
Address: Colonia 823, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel & Convention Center Uruguay. We are located in the commercial , financial and cultural Center , the best location in Montevideo. One block away from main avenue 18 de Julio , and main square Plaza Independencia .Next to the most luxurious Casino of the city. In a radius of 200 meters you can find Airlines Offices (United, American , Varig, Iberia, Tam , Lan Chile) and important international companies : IBM , Nortel Networks, Citibank, ABN Amro, Xerox, Reuters, Amadeus, Kodak and many others . If you are coming from Buenos Aires , we are the nearest Hotel from the Ferry Terminal (1 Km) . Our mission is to offer highest quality of services based on friendly , efficient and professional staff. 120 comfortable rooms and 14 elegant suites , were specially designed to satisfy the most varied needs of our guests travelling for business or pleasure . 600 m2 Convention Center with 9 multi purpose meeting rooms with the latest technological support. Other Facilities include: 75 m2 Indoor heated pool with panoramic view , Solarium, Sauna , Gym , Garage , Danubio Azul Restaurant , El Quijote Lobby Bar , Business Center. Services included in room rates :Buffet American Breakfast (7 - 10:30 AM) , Internet access, local calls ( up to 3 minutes) , and access to Pool, Sauna and Gym.Non Uruguayan residents holding foreign travel documents are exempted from taxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Montevideo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing