We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Building and Location But...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel in January 2014 and was impressed with the beautiful architecture of the building as I have passed it several times on my way to Punta Del Este. This time I was in town for business and stayed one night. My room was available for early check in so I was pleased but others in my party were not able to check in early. Luck of the draw.

The hotel has a casino attached and if you would like to get a fews hands of blackjack in before retiring for the night this is a good spot. It also within walking distance of some fine restaurants, ice cream shops and shops just 3 or 4 blocks away. You are in a good location for sure.

The hotel rooms were small and there were a few misses. No comp water in the room, small bathrooms and overall small rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. But again, others in my party did not have a great experience. One room struggled to get the AC to work correctly and several others commented on how very small their rooms were. I personally think the hotel is a bit under-staffed so if you want a luxury experience you might want to pass.

I might stay again and give it another chance but I will also be looking for another hotel to try in the future when I go again next month.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms with ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX-Mdavidb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear "PDX-Mdavidb21"

Thank you very much for taking the time to register your experience at Sofitel Montevideo.
I regret about the AC problem in your colleague room, please rest assured that we have already indentified his reservation and that we have ordered a complete revision of the AC system in the room he stayed.
We do offer complimentary bottled water to all our guests in the turndown service every evening, I am sorry if for some reason you did not receive it. I have updated your profile in our system to ensure that every day there is complimentary water in your room.

Mr "PDX-Mdavidb21", we would love to have a second opportunity to better serve you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at h7969-am@sofitel.com so that I can help you with your new reservation.

Wishing you a Magnifique week!

Kind Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 945 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Sensational restoration of old 1920s building with casino, spa, pools , sauna etc. lovely rooms with modern bathrooms with centre free standing baths, lovely finishings. Stained glass, chandeliers everywhere big on the history.

The breakfast buffet is as good as you will find anywhere in the world, just amazing choices and quality.

Great friendly staff very helpful.

Valet parking free.

It's a bit out of town about 25 minutes by car but very close to the airport, just 10 minutes away.

Well worth the extra few dollars to stay here, try a small suite, just beautiful.

Room Tip: Junior suites and high up rooms with sea views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear "peterah",

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your recent stay at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely time with us and that you were able to appreciate the recent restoration of this astonishing building.
Our Junior Suites have indeed great view and space, we hope that fellow travelers find your tips very useful.

Hoping to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The architecture is beautiful and facilities are very well decorated. Staff is very polite and efficient and do whatever they can to customize your experience. Great food and staff is very child friendly. The afternoon tea was below expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Lisandra A,

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and that our ambassadors were always very polite and efficient. This is one of our main goals so we receive your comments with joy.
I regret that your experience at the afternoon tea did not fulfill your expectations, I would be very grateful if you could share some more details with me at h7969-am@sofitel.com in order to take the appropriate measures to address the problem.

Wishing you a Magnifique week!

Best Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We choose the Sofitel Montevideo for an overnight stop before our flight back home. Service hand room were excellent. The support was perfect when we changed our departure plans at short notice.
The only negative thing to mention was that our kid were not allowed to the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear "MunichNico"

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Montevideo with the other TripAdvisor users. We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful with your departure changes and even though you were only here for one night you were able to enjoy your stay.
As our indoor pool is located next to our Massages/Treatments rooms and it is a relaxation area, kids are more than welcome in our outside pool, the only request being signing a disclaimer form by the parents as no lifeguard is available.

I remain at your disposal for any further enquiries and hope to see you again soon in Montevideo!

Best Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

PROS: The hotel architecture is wonderful. The people who attend you are very polite and helpful. Also, the spa is very nice and the people there are absolutely charming. The building is right next to the water, so the view from the room was amazing. Too bad you couldn't open the window for some reason. Breakfast was awesome, with plenty choices of food, but i would suggest to make it up to 11 because it closes way too early.

CONS: I came for two days, and the design is way too modern and doesn't respect the architecture of the old hotel. Specially the lamps, the designer has really bad taste.
Also, the room is absolutely wonderful, however, the bathroom is SO uncomfortable. The shower wets the floor completely, and the toilet is in a little room separated from the shower. Another low for the shower is the door. Anyone in the room can see you while you shower, there's not even a curtain. Also, the bedroom is way too small (the bathroom too).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear "Viole B",

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Sofitel Montevideo and that you were able to enjoy our pool, SoSpa and breakfast.
Regarding your enquiry, our room balconies can not be opened as our building is listed as National Heritage and therefore during the refurbishment, their height could not be modified and always prioritizing our guests safety, it is not allowed to open them.
We acknowledge that the lack of shower doors is definitely an opportunity for us to improve our product in some of our rooms and will make any necessary effort to solve it as soon as possible.

We hope to receive you again soon in Sofitel Montevideo and wish you a Magnifique day!

Kind Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Sofitel Montevideo justifies your trip to Uruguay’s capital. The hotel’s just undergone complete renovation and it’s absolutely gorgeous. It’s located in the nicest and most charming part of town. The building has historical value and Sofitel did a great job in modernizing the facilities whilst keeping the beautiful architecture. The indoor swimming pool is the perfect spot for relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Luciano P,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your enthusiasm regarding Montevideo and our Hotel with the other TripAdvisor visitors. Our external/internal pool is one of our most appreciated facilities, we are glad that you could enjoy it.

Hoping to welcome you again soon, we wish you a Magnifique 2014!

Kind Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

It is a wonderful freshelly renovated hotel.The spa is really good and people very very polite.
The Bar is beyond beautiful.
Will come back for sure.
The best hotel in Montevideo. Uruguay.
It is a little far away from the downton area but you may easily take a cab or rent a car. I did the rental. Perfection!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emilio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla T, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear "Emili01",

We are happy to learn that you had a lovely time at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa during your stay. Thank you for sharing your review with us and fellow travelers. Please do come back, we will be honored with your visit.

Wishing you a Magnifique 2014!

Kind Regards,

Camilla T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
580 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#20 of 87 in Montevideo
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
8.6 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
397 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa

Address: Rambla Republica de Mexico 6451 esq. Arocena, Montevideo 11500, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $156 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the French art of hospitality while staying in the district of Carrasco, the best location in Montevideo. With 116 rooms and luxury suites offering a high level of comfort and privacy, a revitalizing spa, a tempting restaurant, a vibrant bar and the charming Tea Gallery, the renovated Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa will take you back in time to the glamor and history of the early 20th century. Perfect for both leisure and business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing