We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Montevideo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    195
    77
    35
    13
See reviews for
167
370
33
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is magnificent, excellent job! I took long but finally opened.
I have to say that I had a great experience during my stay. People is helpful and always is willing to help. My room was beautiful, love the design. I would improve some lightings but overall they are great. The amenities in the bathroom are just great, everything is Hermes, loved it. In general the service is good, we have to give them 6 more months since the hotel is new and people need a little more training, the service is not outstanding as yet, for example, room service would take a little longer, and some others services too.
In the other side I believe that the restaurant is very well managed, we had dinner couple times and the food is delicious and service is very attentive. Also had breakfast and brunch and I have to say the same thing. My only suggestion is that at Brunch they should include in the price a local sparkling wine, like everywhere else in the world, is something that you expect when you pay for a brunch.
So overall we had a very niche experience, the hotel has history in every corner, you just need to talk to the employees and they will tell you a story about something, that really add a lot of value to the experience, people stays there because they value the history of the place too.
When I return to Montevideo I am sure I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huarpe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camilla_tomazini, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear "Huarpe77",

Thank you very much for your kind comments, it is great for us to hear that you had a nice experience while with us and that you have apprecitated our bathroom amenities and your bedroom.
Please rest assured that your suggestion for the Brunch will be taken into account.
We remain at your disposal and hope to host you at Sofitel on your next trip to Montevideo.

Wishing you a very nice weekend!

Best Regards,

Camilla Tomazini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This beautiful building really deserved a better designer,you feel the tongue in cheek but also the cheap solutions specially in the bedrooms.Service is very good and concierges are wonderful,breakfast is good but not consistente with the prices asked.Different from most Sofitel rooms and bathrooms are big but hanging space is ridiculous and so is lighting in the bathroom
I asked for room service and food was very good
I didn't go to the Casino but my daughter thaught it depressing and she likes to gamble...
All in all it was a good experience but I don't think I'd like to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camilla_tomazini, Assistant General Manager & Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "jeansãopaulo"

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Indeed we acknowledge that lighting in the bathroom in some of our rooms is an opportunity to improve our product and we will not save any kind of effort to do it quickly. We are pleased to know that our food and beverage offered overcame your expectations and considering you had a good experience while with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you decide to come back.

Best Regards,

Camilla Tomazini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had been to Montevideo before and stayed at the dreadful Radisson. The convention I was attending took place there and I was told the Radisson and further out Sheraton were the "best"
business hotels in town. While located right on the town's main Plaza, the Radisson was a sub par shabby, thin walls, poor service hotel.
Arrived after midnight in Montevideo but one immediate advantage of Sofitel was proximity to airport and I was there in 10 mins. It is located south of city but only 15 -20 mins to old town.
Modern conversion of old casino building. Very nicely appointed with wood floors, modern fixtures, spacious. For those that read any of my reviews, bed was excellent. Puffy and highly sleepable. Funky but fun bathrooms.
Right on the Rio de la Plata facing Argentina, so nice seaside atmosphere.
Downside? A bit pricey and certainly not for the budget traveler. That said, it's clearly the "best" hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camilla_tomazini, Assistant General Manager and Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It is an honour for us to been classified by you as the Best Hotel in town! It is great to know you have enjoyed our Sofitel MyBed, enhacing your relaxation.
I really hope there will a near opportunity for you to come and enjoy our Hotel a bit more.

Wishing you a Magnifique week!

Best Regards,

Camilla Tomazini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Level Contributor
319 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The service in the hotel is 5 star, but the rooms are so small no where to put suitcases. Too much furniture for tiny space. Needs some improvement in bathrooms; showers run into room, no place to put any of your things. The casino people are rude and even mean. The breakfast room is amazing
. The food is displayed beautifully and you fine in a gorgeous setting. The neighborhood has other resteraunts easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena S, Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Bonjour "travel4fun111",
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa for your stay in Montevideo!
We are very sorry to know about the inconveniences with your bathroom, we are analyzing your comments with our team in order to find solutions.
We thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope to receive you soon again!
We wish you magnifique weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It has been more than 3 months since this great hotel opened in Montevideo. A classical and beatifuly restored building. This is to be a true 5 stars hotel in a nice residential neighborhood.

I stayed 1 night with my wife during a weekend. As said, the building is fantastic, rooms are large and with great decor.

Service is on the mid-range and in a much lower level than expected. After three months since opening the pool and spa is still not open (and this is not described in the hotel web page) and incredibly the room service menu is not available in the room. Therefore, if you want to order something you need to call and the operator reads the options for you. This is inconvenient and so easily to solve that is difficult to understand why this is happening.

Last words, do not miss the breakfast. One of the bests in the world...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena S, Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Bonjour Mr. “rfreg”,
Greetings from Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa!
Before all, we truly appreciate your comments, all the information you have given us represents a great opportunity for us to continue improving our services and structure. We have read your email with much interest and we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope this experience will not stop you from visiting us again, we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future!
We wish you magnifique day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We decided to stay at the newly opened Sofitel Carrasco for a weekend getaway to Montevideo in early April. It is a spectacular landmark building in a beautiful setting overlooking the River Plate. Unfortunately, the hotel was not ready for guests. Some of the hallways were covered with protective paper, fixtures were not installed; only one elevator was working, doorways were unfinished. The bar was open and served light meals but it seemed to be lit by very unflattering industrial grade fluorescent lights.

We booked and pre-paid a king room through Expedia and were looking forward to using the spa as well as the indoor/outdoor pool facilities, only to find out that they were not open. We did not learn this until after we had checked in to our room. When we suggested that we should have been notified that their well-advertised amenities were not yet open, the management made a feeble attempt to explain their construction delays and offered us free breakfast. After quite a few frustrating discussions with the manager, we decided we would leave a day early and just wanted a refund for our second night. That evening we got a call from the same manager who apologized and asked us to stay the two nights – on them. We were a little skeptical but accepted the offer. After several phone calls confirming the situation with a very helpful Expedia representative, we stayed.

The room was nice enough with a lovely view of the river, although it was disappointing that the floor-to-ceiling glass doors did not open. The bathroom was very modern but rather strange; the tub/shower and sink were open to the bedroom with a sliding shutter style door that didn’t keep out any sound. The toilet was in a separate tiny room near the front door. The fitting and fixtures, while new, were not in good working order. The sink faucet leaked and the shower had to be pointed well away from the center of the square tub to avoid flooding the whole bathroom. Wifi was intermittent at best.

It is hard to complain about staying at a hotel for free. And yet…we just wish they had let us know before we arrived so that we could have made an informed decision. Had we known, we would have found a different hotel for that weekend and tried the Sofitel on another visit. However, after this experience, I don’t think we’ll be going back to the Sofitel Carrasco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena S, Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Bonjour Mr. “HobokenGlobetrotter”,
Greetings from Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa!
We have read your email with much interest and we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As you are aware we have recently opened and your comments are very important for us. All the information you have given us represents a great opportunity for us to continue improving our services and structure.
We hope this experience will not stop you from visiting Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa again. We thank you once again, we truly appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future!
We wish you magnifique day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
455 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
8.8 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
374 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
5.8 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa

Property: Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Address: Rambla Republica de Mexico 6451 esq. Arocena, Montevideo 11500, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the French art of hospitality while staying in the district of Carrasco, the best location in Montevideo. With 116 rooms and luxury suites offering a high level of comfort and privacy, a revitalizing spa, a tempting restaurant, a vibrant bar and the charming Tea Gallery, the renovated Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa will take you back in time to the glamor and history of the early 20th century. Perfect for both leisure and business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing