We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Montevideo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Gorgeous old renovated building with Sofitel's typical tongue-in-cheek ultra modern interior. I loved the life size horse lamps. The location is also great with beautiful views of the Rio Negro, just across from the rambla. It is downhill from there. The modern and comfortable rooms are all style and no substance. There isn't an inch of counter space or storage in the bathroom. Where do you put your things? The shower is doorless, which can work, but not here. the floor gets flooded. the lighting is terrible and it is against the rules to open the French Doors to go out on the balcony to enjoy the breeze and the view. The doors are locked! This amazing view of the river, but only noisy air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable and the staff helpful. I just never have understood when architects and designers forget about practicality. Nice in room coffee bar, but no sugar or cream supplies.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kissmekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena S, Quality Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Bonjour “kissmekaty”,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa for your stay in Montevideo!
We are very sorry to know about the inconveniences with your bathroom, we have shared your comments with our maintenance team in order to find solutions and prevent future occurrence. We have a policy on the windows, for your safety windows are kept closed avoiding the strong winds that sometimes occur. We hope this experience will not stop you from visiting Sofitel Montevideo again. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant and memorable!
We wish you magnifique day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank JBSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luis Alberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Caso queiram quartos duplos ou com varandas (utilizáveis), os detalhes constam na avaliação acima.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coppolaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ceci I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel M, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel M, Katerina Nemseff Villagran, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
764 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#15 of 87 in Montevideo
1,130 reviews
8.6 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
8.3 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
6.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa

Address: Rambla Republica de Mexico 6451 esq. Arocena, Montevideo 11500, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Carrasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $155 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the French art of hospitality while staying in the district of Carrasco, the best location in Montevideo. With 116 rooms and luxury suites offering a high level of comfort and privacy, a revitalizing spa, a tempting restaurant, a vibrant bar and the charming Tea Gallery, the renovated Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa will take you back in time to the glamor and history of the early 20th century. Perfect for both leisure and business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing