We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice petit restaurant in Punta Carretas”
Review of Mamma Nostra

Mamma Nostra
Ranked #210 of 964 Restaurants in Montevideo
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Zona de Punta Carretas
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice petit restaurant in Punta Carretas”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I went with a couple of friends and food is good, as well service.

I would recommend pasta.

When weather is good you can seat outside.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aviroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    117
    65
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It was a pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were planning on going to the popular restaurant across the street that is basically a whole in the wall with great food. We had to wait at the other restaurant and since we had taken a taxi there we decided to try this restaurant that was across the street. I was in a steak mood and it was a nice cut and cooked to perfection. My friends had the eggplant parm and the seafood pasta. And there was a great caprese salad. I paid about $20 for my steak and a large (liter) beer. We arrived early at about 20:30 and we were the only the second group. It seemed like have the restaurant was reserved and they all showed up. I can't complain. It was a great meal. I would recommend this place if you are feeling like Italian. It's not like Italy, but it was decent delicious meal!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleceia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“poor food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm fond of italian food, and this place was a big disappointment. Food was not only ok, as it uses to be in Montevideo: it was actually bad, heavy and tasteless. Besides the quality, it was not cheapy, so I'd rather cook some pasta in my own house with a good wine than waste my time and money here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FabianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillos, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best "executive lunch in the city"”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This Italian style restaurant serves excellent meal of the day menues for only $230 (pesos), normally consist of a starter, main meal, pudding and a glass of wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Coffee and desert!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went for coffee and desert after having had our fill of meat at the Pulperia across the street. We had amazing coffee, great desert and a wonderful end of evening! Truly enjoyable ; )

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Nostra also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Mamma Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing