We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasant surprise!!”
Review of Mamma Nostra

Mamma Nostra
Ranked #173 of 946 Restaurants in Montevideo
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Zona de Punta Carretas
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It was a pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were planning on going to the popular restaurant across the street that is basically a whole in the wall with great food. We had to wait at the other restaurant and since we had taken a taxi there we decided to try this restaurant that was across the street. I was in a steak mood and it was a nice cut and cooked to perfection. My friends had the eggplant parm and the seafood pasta. And there was a great caprese salad. I paid about $20 for my steak and a large (liter) beer. We arrived early at about 20:30 and we were the only the second group. It seemed like have the restaurant was reserved and they all showed up. I can't complain. It was a great meal. I would recommend this place if you are feeling like Italian. It's not like Italy, but it was decent delicious meal!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleceia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    115
    65
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“poor food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm fond of italian food, and this place was a big disappointment. Food was not only ok, as it uses to be in Montevideo: it was actually bad, heavy and tasteless. Besides the quality, it was not cheapy, so I'd rather cook some pasta in my own house with a good wine than waste my time and money here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FabianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best "executive lunch in the city"”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This Italian style restaurant serves excellent meal of the day menues for only $230 (pesos), normally consist of a starter, main meal, pudding and a glass of wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
522 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Coffee and desert!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went for coffee and desert after having had our fill of meat at the Pulperia across the street. We had amazing coffee, great desert and a wonderful end of evening! Truly enjoyable ; )

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fair italian food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate italian food. It was good and tasty the pasta. We also had a great sangria.
For desert tried the tiramisu, was ok.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarinaMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Nostra also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Mamma Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing