We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious room and very good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Intercity Montevideo
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel is very well located just 4-5 blocks from Punta Carretas Shopping. Behind the Hotel there is a gas station with convenience store. The coffee has a good selection of fruits, breads, cheese and ham, juices and nice "media lunas" (croissants). The only thing is that the restaurant room where the braskfast is served seems to be small but that is not an issue at all. I reccommend this Hotel as the rates are good for vacation or business purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani_Blaj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Brand new hotel with modern furniture.Good size room.Free WiFi and parking.Breakfast is included in the rate with good choices of fresh fruits,different types bread ,cheese and juices.House staff very friendly and helpful.Located few blocks from the main Mall of Punta Carretas .Close to well known restaurants,too
Price is very competitive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a new, clean and smart hotel set up mainly for business travel. It's only downside it's a bit out of the town centre, probably 20 minutes by taxi, if your taxi driver can find it! Saying that there are a number of bars near by and a good late night pizza restaurant just round the corner and it's only a short walk to the Playa Remirez which again has a number of bars and restaurants.

The other thing to note, that despite what is advertised the room services is not 24hr and the hotel kitchen shuts at 23:00

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chammer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is located in a safe neighbourhood with restaurants nearby. We walked to the Old City and the foreshore, although the Old City is not overly close. It is handy to the bus station which was good for us when we returned to Colonia. It is a good hotel from which to explore Montevideo if a little bland. The staff were very helpful and there was a woman working in the restaurant who was just lovely. The breakfast was excellent, probably the best we had in South America.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciao2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at Intercity for 4 nights, from May 29th till June 2nd.

I loved the location, the staff, the bed, the shower size and water pressure, the free Wi-Fi (good signal).

The hotel is located at “Punta Carretas”, a very nice and safe neighborhood. I personally didn’t and wouldn’t stay in “Ciudad Vieja” because it can be dangerous at night. Punta Carretas area has excellent restaurants, bakeries, parks and shopping places. It’s close to Punta Carretas Shopping (mall) and safe to walk around, even at night. There are also many buses that go from ’21 de Septiembre” to everywhere in the city. And if you don’t have a lot of luggage, take the DM1 “Punta Carretas” bus at the airport and you’ll be just 3 blocks away from the hotel.

The hotel was nice, looked new, very friendly and helpful staff. The room I stayed at was small and the shower room had some spots that could be cleaner, but overall nice.

Things I didn’t like: The walls were thin, at least in my room. I could hear people talking in other rooms, their television on, some banging at the walls, and every time someone would flush or take a shower. Also, the cleaning staff woke me up on my first morning there. It was around 9 AM and I heard voices and a lot of noise coming from the hall. When I opened the door to see what was going on, I was surprised to see that all that noise came from the cleaning ladies.

The breakfast was good, but it would be nice to have more options (the 4 days I was there they served the exactly same thing). Fresh orange juice would also be a nice touch.

The Wi-Fi worked well during all my stay.

I also loved the shower and the water pressure. One of the best ever!

The daily rate was reasonable. I booked directly at their website and got a good value.

Overall, the stay was good. With some drawbacks, but I would stay there again. I would definitely take my earplugs though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The staff were great, and they gave us some helpful advice about Montevideo. The breakfast (included in the price) was very good. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, near some restaurants and bars. Overall, it's a pretty bare bones hotel. The room was a decent size. Ikea-ish furniture. The bathroom could have been cleaned better. We also had an unpleasant smell in our room, possibly coming from the plumbing. If we return to Montevideo (which we'd like to) we'll stay elsewhere, but it's not a bad place for one night at the price. For a longer stay I'd find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good apartments, clean, located in front of a school in Punta Carretas neighborhood and 7 blocks from the main Mall: Punta Carretas Shopping.
Gentle and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
But if you go by car, you will may have to park it on the street. There is a small garage for maybe six or seven car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
2.5 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regency Golf Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#20 of 87 in Montevideo
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#42 of 87 in Montevideo
699 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercity Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercity Montevideo

Address: Rua Ibiray esq. Echeverria, 2398 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $58 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Intercity Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fancy neighborhood of Punta Carretas, and with free smart services such as breakfast and Internet, the new and modern InterCity Premium Montevideo hotel offers an excellent stay in outstanding rooms with panoramic windows and beautiful views of the city. Spacious and luxurious rooms with beds that are a dream come true and will make you want to stay forever. Sumptuous bathrooms covered in porcelain tiles, with warm floor and shower with massage control. All rooms have free wireless Internet access. The hotel is located in the well-known and elegant neighborhood of Punta Carretas in Montevideo, the best option to stay at as it is a neighborhood combining the quietness of residential areas with restaurants, shops and offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Intercity Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing