We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Intercity Montevideo
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The staff were great, and they gave us some helpful advice about Montevideo. The breakfast (included in the price) was very good. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, near some restaurants and bars. Overall, it's a pretty bare bones hotel. The room was a decent size. Ikea-ish furniture. The bathroom could have been cleaned better. We also had an unpleasant smell in our room, possibly coming from the plumbing. If we return to Montevideo (which we'd like to) we'll stay elsewhere, but it's not a bad place for one night at the price. For a longer stay I'd find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Intercity Montevideo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good apartments, clean, located in front of a school in Punta Carretas neighborhood and 7 blocks from the main Mall: Punta Carretas Shopping.
Gentle and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
But if you go by car, you will may have to park it on the street. There is a small garage for maybe six or seven car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly and speak enough English to give you directions advice and book tours. The room we had was big, clean and quite. The breakfast is excellent, fresh fruit, pastries and eggs which you have in the dining room on the ground floor. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a total of 4 nights at this hotel in February 2013.

Positives: The room was clean and comfortable, the (included) breakfast in the restaurant was very good, and the service was excellent, especially at the front desk. The price was reasonable, about $110/night all inclusive. The location is pretty good, in a residential neighborhood with shopping and restaurants within reasonable walking distance.

Negatives: As with most South American hotels we have stayed in, a king bed was unavailable, so we settled for two twins. There was no dresser, so we had trouble figuring out where to put our clothes. There were no washcloths, which again seems to be par for the course in South America.

Mixed: Dinner in the restaurant was mostly good but there was one dish that was not explained well, and that we found inedible. The internet was pretty slow overall, making Skype nearly unusable, but at least it was included in the room rate and the speed was acceptable for general web surfing most of the time.

Overall, definitely a positive experience; we would stay there again gladly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank technovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent just two nights here on a work-related trip and it was an almost perfect experience. The room was spacious, comfortable and reasonably priced ($140), the welcome at checkin was friendly, and in perfect English, and the location convenient. Because I travel a fair bit for work I almost always comment on the availability or not of internet access, because so many hotels charge extra for this, and at rates that are often quite high, and frankly, a rip-off. I hope that in a few more years a good wi-fi signal throughout the hotel will be part of the room price and just regarded as standard. Until then, this hotel is exemplary: strong, free signal throughout. No complaints: I recommend this hotel and will return myself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wroglebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 04 days in Montevideo at Intercity. We really enjoyed our stay, since the hotel is new, good spacious rooms, free Wi-fi and the breakfast is quite reasonable.
The location is good, but you should walk about 01km to reach the Shopping Punta Carretas and a little more to the beaches.
I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivivacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and my mom just stayed for four days at Intercity Premium Montevideo and It's was perfect. The hotel is pretty new or very well conserved. It has big rooms with a nice bed and bathroom. The gym is nice too and has an amazing view, what makes a way more interesting to go up to exercise. Their staff is very polite and helpful, always smiling and offering a very good stay. Breakfast is simple but delicious, just like their room service or even the lunch/dinner they offer at their restaurant. Nothing fancy but very fresh, healthy and tasty. It's in a very nice area, too. Just couple blocks away you'll find a supermarket and in four or five blocks you'll have a nice mall with some stores, McDonalds and another nice supermarket. If I ever come back to Montevideo I'll sure stay there again and I really hope it doesn't take long.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle_Mansani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
1.8 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
368 reviews
2.5 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regency Golf Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercity Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercity Montevideo

Address: Rua Ibiray esq. Echeverria, 2398 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $54 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Intercity Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fancy neighborhood of Punta Carretas, and with free smart services such as breakfast and Internet, the new and modern InterCity Premium Montevideo hotel offers an excellent stay in outstanding rooms with panoramic windows and beautiful views of the city. Spacious and luxurious rooms with beds that are a dream come true and will make you want to stay forever. Sumptuous bathrooms covered in porcelain tiles, with warm floor and shower with massage control. All rooms have free wireless Internet access. The hotel is located in the well-known and elegant neighborhood of Punta Carretas in Montevideo, the best option to stay at as it is a neighborhood combining the quietness of residential areas with restaurants, shops and offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Intercity Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing