We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to base yourself from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
After Hotel Montevideo
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Perth, australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good place to base yourself from”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had hired a car and planned on using the After as a base to drive Uruguay for a few days, this was a good plan. The staff are friendly and helpful, English and Spanish spoken well. The room was tiny so a good place to be out of, noisy from the streets and the other rooms. Looking at Montevideo city centre, it is probably about the right distance away. Good restaurants close by, parking for the car (a bit expensive but look at the average car on the street and hide the hire car away), the mall and supermarkets close and good quality.

If we come back we will have the suite everyone raves about!

Room Tip: Read the small print of the other reviews and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    471
    108
    21
    11
See reviews for
139
422
46
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was my first time in Montevideo. I rarely take the time to write about my experience in places, but I have to say the hotel is excellent for it's value. Location is great & clean, And the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaginna Heights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

here on business. The Staff have been great, I have no complaints regarding their service, although the delivery of irons and ironing boards could improve. The wait staff are very nice. I abhor the bathrooms, the showers do not hang correctly and the space is so small the bidet is just in the say. get rid of them and it would be better. overall, the staff makes up for the shortcomings but I still wish the bathrooms would improve. The showers need doors!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanamartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We feel very disappointed for not being able to reach your expectation about our hotel.

We already sent your remarks to out housekeeper manager and the involved departments.

Once again thank you very much for your comments which help us to manage and work hard to improve.

Regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed a week in this place, and was quite nice. At first we thought it would be bad because is far from downtown, but after getting there for the first time we realized it was for good, it is located in a cozy place, nice beach nearby, a mall and some nice pubs close by.
Its a peaceful neighborhood, the hotel staff is helpful, and the breakfast is good enough.
There is a safe on the room and a mini-bar, bathtub and AC, nice bed and good quality sleep.
Also a pool and a gym is included on the hotel.
Overall, me and my wife enjoyed the time we spent on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ipaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable remarks about our property, staff and location.

It is our goal to provide an excellent quality of service and to make you feel at home.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to After Hotel Montevideo in the near future.

Sincerely,

Martin Monzeglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for one night with my friend and we both loved it! The room was small, however nicely decorated and very clean. The wifi signal was strong in our room, the rooftop pool was small but the premises were so clean and nicely laid out. The free breakfast was the star of the show though. The spread was diverse including cold cuts, cheeses, fresh baked goods, fruits, cereals, eggs, bacon and potatoes, coffee, tea and juices. The neighbourhood is good as well, around the corner form a mall with a supermarket, and across the street from the beach. Overall it was a lovely stay and I believe great value for money. Highly recommended. (It is approximately a $10-$15 US taxi ride from the Center so it may not not be for tourists that want to stay downtown).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian_Nomad_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to know about your experience with us and to read that you love our free breakfast. In addition to breakfast we also provide complimentary in-room and public areas wifi.

I will make sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the team, specially the Chef and the breakfast staff.

We will be delighted to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed an 11 night stay in January, 2013. We reserved a premium room with king bed. It's definitely worth the extra money for this room. We had a sitting area with sofa and chair, a large desk, lots of closet space with safe and mini bar. The bathroom was average size but had upgraded fixtures and bathrobes and slippers. The breakfast buffet was very good. It consisted of scrambled eggs and bacon (seems to be the standard hot dish), a large assortment of cold cuts and cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, and a great assortment of rolls and pastries. The staff were very attentive in cleaning the tables and restocking the food. The restaurant also had a great wait staff and good food, even made items not on the menu! We had one minor problem with having our room cleaned, but it was resolved quickly and never happened again. The front desk was excellent at answering questions and requests. The hotel is located in more of a residential area so is quiet and there's no beach view, except from the rooftop deck - pool area. It's a 2-3 block walk to the World Trade Center and Montevideo Shopping mall. A short taxi ride will take you to the city center/old city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We feel very happy to reach your expectations and thank you so much for your positive feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and on behalf of the whole team, we very much look forward to inviting you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Montevideo is a great city to visit. It can be dirty, dog poop and litter are everywhere, and petty thefts are commonplace. The citizens are mostly friendly, and the visitors from Argentina and Brasil on holiday make it even more festive. It is a good jumping off place to other cities in South America as well.
I had an excellent stay at the After Hotel in Montevideo in January 2013 because of the friendly and helpful staff. My room number 804 was small and weird, but the bed was comfortable, the wireless worked well, and overall it was a quiet room. The bathroom has no bathtub. In fact, the bathroom of this unit is one big open room; if someone is sitting on the john and someone else is taking a shower, both people will get wet. It is a handicap accessible room, but still it was weird.
The included breakfast got old after just a few days, but it was a way to start the day with coffee and eggs without having to venture from the hotel. Others have listed the breakfast items so I won’t. The staff were great and always helpful. Some of the names I remember are; Montias, Luis, Francine, Cecelia, Natalia, though there were more who also gave great service and made this a memorable visit. In the Dining Room I remember Tamara and Carlos.
I would be happy to stay at the after Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermosaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable remarks about our property, staff and location.

It is of utmost importance to us to create an unforgettable guest experience.

We will be delighted to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Martin Monzeglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#13 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.7 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Hotel Montevideo

Property: After Hotel Montevideo
Address: Arturo Prat 3755, Montevideo 11327, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — After Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After Hotel is located next to the Yacht Club, World Trade Center Montevideo, Montevideo Shopping Mall and Montevideo Free Zone. The area has recently been named as the new "City" of Uruguay's capital city. Situated in a vibrant area full of night clubs and restaurants. After Hotel offers 92 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city or beach views. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Montevideo hotel provides complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and direct-dial phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and wake-up calls can be requested. After Hotel features an international restaurant "Morado", and a coffee and cocktail bar called "20 pasos Cafe" (Spanish for 20 steps to the coffee and drinks) where our guests can enjoy nice cocktails and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your After Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing