We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$5000 fine if you smoke anywhere in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
After Hotel Montevideo
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
london
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“$5000 fine if you smoke anywhere in the hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Now this is an odd, i understand a no smoking rule in rooms and in the restaurant, but not on the roof top? Nor in the 2 outside spaces??? Really quite odd. When asking reception if i could order a bottle of wine or beer at 1am and they said no, i was surprised really.

On asking if i could rent a car on within the first 2 minutes of arriving 24 hours later was told that there wasnt any available anywhere, 5 minutes later i looked online and found one with avis.

The internet connection was horrific and you had to login every 2 minutes with the password again and again.


Natalie on reception was very helpful with restaurant tips. And the maid was the prettiest maid ive ever seen so not all bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeychops43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments from your recent stay with us.

We will continue working hard in order to provide the best hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to have you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    474
    109
    21
    11
See reviews for
141
426
47
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the After Hotel and had no complaints. The hotel is modern, contemporary in appearance, clean, and well-maintained. The location is excellent, near the river/Rambla and walking distance to the WTC. It's also not far from the airport. There is a nearby shopping mall and several restaurants/cafes for food/entertainment options. The neighborhood generally appears to be safe. The only complaint was that the room is a bit tight; there is enough space for a solo traveler or a couple with minimum baggage, but would not recommend this hotel for a family or group. My room was next to the elevator and didn't have a problem with noise; hotel generally seemed quiet. Nice breakfast spread in the mornings as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OilIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to know about your experience with us.

Please contact me to open a business account for your next trip to Montevideo.

With best regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was located in a great area. Right down the block from the World Trade Center, and half a block away from The Rambla. Also several really good restaurants in the area that you can walk to, even at night. Our room was as expected, comfortable with a couch and sitting area, bathroom was quite small but overall I was satisfied. Hotel has breakfast included which is actually pretty good. The lobby is small but very modern looking, the outdoor lounge is also very nice, great place to relax. Only downside was that it had no spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic review about your recent visit to Montevideo.

On behalf of the whole team, we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

With my best regards,

Martin Monzeglio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am a Marriot Gold member and there are no Marriott's in Montevideo. So after researching I settled on this hotel for 1. it's location, right next to the WTC where I had to work. 2. The price, less than a Marriott. 3. The rating, it was 4.4 stars at the time. I was not disappointed. Room is set up exactly like all the Marriott's I've stayed at. I had a real king bed, not two twins put together. Breakfast was great. Staff was excellent. I got sick from a meal that I had at a restaurant one evening and when I called downstairs inquiring about a pharmacy they went and actually had medication delivered to me. Boy did that help. I couldn't even walk. The only drawback for this hotel is that walls are a little thin and power outlets are a little scarce. But no problem for me as I always leave the A/C fan on high with whitenoise sounds on all night and I come prepared electronically for this as most hotels suffer from the lack power outlets. Also I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanOquendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the fantastic comments following your recent stay with us.

Is our goal to provide an excellent quality of service and to make you feel at home.

On behalf of the whole After Hotel team, I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Martin Monzeglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent three nights at this hotel. The hotel is a bit hard to find considering the street is only one block long. The room was nice size and very modern. Staff were helpful and attentive. The downside is the location. It is not near the main area of Montevideo. It is right across the street from the beach, but in terms of sightseeing you'll need access to a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingseppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable remarks about our property and staff.

Regarding our location, let me mention that our property its located just 3 blocks away from the sightseeing bus stop. We will encorage our front desk team to mention it as it is a new service in our city.

We will be delighted to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Martin Monzeglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The lobby is beautiful. (As every lobby if most hotels tend to be). The hotel staff seems attentive and hard working. If you happened to need a few things, forget it. I get to my room and there are only outlets that fit local electronic devices. They had none or couldn't seem to locate the ones guests had borrowed. In short, I had to go and purchase two. The room was very small. The carpet wasn't thoroughly vacuumed. The bed was very comfortable. The neighborhood : a little sketchy. There's a great store nearby that seemed to sell a little bit of everything. No one will generally answer when calling the front desk. You'll have better luck going to the front desk yourself. Great ac in the room. Internet service not so great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelellingin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director Comercial at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments from your recent stay with us.

We feel very disappointed for not being able to reach your expectation. We will continue working hard in order provide the best hospitality to all our guests.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to After Hotel Montevideo in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Martin Monzeglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at the After Hotel and can say we had a great experience there. The rooms are clean & although not huge they have everything you need (we had a regular queen size). The staff are friendly and will help in any way they can, some speak better English than others but they all try. Breakfast buffet has plenty to chose from. Good location, easy walk to Rambla, shops, restaurants & bus stops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#13 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#11 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
3.7 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Hotel Montevideo

Property: After Hotel Montevideo
Address: Arturo Prat 3755, Montevideo 11327, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — After Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After Hotel is located next to the Yacht Club, World Trade Center Montevideo, Montevideo Shopping Mall and Montevideo Free Zone. The area has recently been named as the new "City" of Uruguay's capital city. Situated in a vibrant area full of night clubs and restaurants. After Hotel offers 92 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city or beach views. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Montevideo hotel provides complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and direct-dial phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and wake-up calls can be requested. After Hotel features an international restaurant "Morado", and a coffee and cocktail bar called "20 pasos Cafe" (Spanish for 20 steps to the coffee and drinks) where our guests can enjoy nice cocktails and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your After Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing