We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach promenade”

Rambla de Montevideo
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private City Tour of Montevideo
Ranked #1 of 241 things to do in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great beach promenade”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wide, sloping beach. Can be very windy so be prepared. Kite surfers and fitness enthusiasts will love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyH566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,827
    3,951
    708
    60
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lifeblood of the City”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Montevideo embraces the Rio de la Plata by showcasing its shoreline with many kilometers of hike and bike trail, known as the Ramblas. We strolled along several different spots at different times of day, and were impressed by the way that the people of the city use this trail--walking, running, biking, rollerblading; playing sports or sunning on the parks alongside it, working out on the equipment located at intervals, or grabbing a bite to eat or something to drink at one of the small cafes. We saw a nice cross-section of the populace enjoying this picturesque riverfront walk. It might be possible to make it from one end to the other via bike, but you won't be able to walk it in a day. But in the right weather, you won't mind--it's a great place to people-watch while you get a little cardio.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It is really nice to sit there an relax, drink mate.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I liked that was really near the city, just accross the street. It is sunny until sunset, that occures behind the buildings, and it gets windy at that hour, so you may want to take a little sweater or something to cover. The best part is that hour, you can drink mate with friends. And then simply walk around the Rambla.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank YamilaBSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquique, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am not so sure about how many km are la Rambla, think 20. Full of people fishing, running, chatting and enjoying the life. I liked just walk there chatting with my partner for hours. Nice landscape and atmosphere. Not miss it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank paraisoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Promenade”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm not sure if the Rambla qualifies as an attraction because I go there to walk every single day. What it is is a sidewalk around the entire city along the Rio de la Plata coast. It's lovely to chill and work out and there are a few nice restaurants along the walk. There's also a holocaust memorial on the section near to Parque Rodo.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank S-Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rambla de Montevideo also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Rambla de Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing