We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take a sand chair and enjoy the Rambla at Pocitos Beach”

Rambla de Montevideo
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private City Tour of Montevideo
Ranked #1 of 243 things to do in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“take a sand chair and enjoy the Rambla at Pocitos Beach”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed near the Rambla at Av. Espana. We took sand chairs to the beach at 4 pm. We read books and enjoyed seeing the families, friends and individuals enjoying the sun until 7 pm. The streets that run parallel to the Ramlbla (Vidal, Juan Blanco etc.) are tree lined and have nice homes and restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,908
    3,995
    711
    63
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Be wary ?”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday evening and decided to go out for a meal and as the hotel,is located in the main square it is also one of the entrances to the old part of town leading down to the port then onto the walks along the beachfront.
We wandered along virtually deserted narrow roads with only a few locals out, every shop was closed as were the restaurants. It was not until we reached the end of the old town by the market did we find one restaurant open. When we finished a nice meal the waitress suggested to us she should call a taxi to take us back to the hotel we did decline and walked back to the hotel. Although nothing happened we did feel very anxious and I would not want to do that walk again in the evening. During the day the narrow streets are full of life and totally safe and a pleasure to walk around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gordondixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Sunset Location”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everybody seems to be here and everybody seems to stop to look at the sunset, nice place to be especially around the punta area of the city close to the big shopping mall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasMWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
207 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Great place for a stroll”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love cities that have amazing waterfronts and Montevideo ranks highly. The Rambla goes for miles. We were staying in the Punta Carrettas/Pocitos area and really enjoyed strolling along, enjoying the breeze and people watching.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Really surprised by its length”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Montevideo has many miles of water front, some with beaches, some just seawall and you can walk or drive along all of it. This is a big contrast to Buenos Aires were simply seeing the river is a real challenge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rambla de Montevideo also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Rambla de Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing