We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bodega Bouza

Bodega Bouza
Ranked #13 of 936 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Wine Bar, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Besides the fact that you can come to have a guided tour throughout the winery, vineyards, wine cellar and a classic car museum you can also have wine tastings and lunch. We think that the best food is usually the simple food made with high quality ingredients is the best. Our speciality are the grilled meats but do not hesitate to try our more elaborated dishes. We recommend if you are paying us a visit to do it chill, not in a hurry so you can enjoy your staying the best.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Is a farm that produces wine, has a car museum, has animals that children apreciate.
The restaurante is beautiful, the service is very good and of course the food and the wine are great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarinaMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,438
    684
    191
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Bouza Bodega produces a high quality wine. It's very well installed and have a nice technology. Visit start's with a tour in the winery and includes a stop in a garage that holds an impressive car and motorcycles collection. Important to say that all vehicles work and ride properly. In the winery visitors receive explanations about place history and how the wine is produced. There's a beautiful wine cellar below the floor where samples of each harvest are stored for future reference. The restaurant is very beautiful with an incredible view. Food is very good, as wheel the deserts. Very kind service and all the installation has a nice level. There's a store where visitors can buy the house wine. They have special boxes to store wine, specially designed for air way transportation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luiz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Subpar wine tasting, tour and poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well first off I have to express my disappointment at our recent experience at La Bouza. After reading all of the glowing reports we were excited to have a winery tour with wine tasting and lunch. Upon our arrival we were "greeted" rudely by the gentleman at front desk and told to "go stand over there". We waited approx. 20min until we noticed others starting to walk outside. We followed and found out that the tour had started (we were never notified by the staff). The tour was presented in Spanish despite several of our travel companions being English speaking only. It was unfortunate that another tour option was not available to them. The tour was brief, though the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. I have visited many wineries across the US and the grounds are just as beautiful as the smaller boutique wineries in Napa/Sonoma, CA and Willamette valley, OR. After the tour we were led to the restaurant and seated. After being handed menus the staff appeared confused when we told them we were scheduled for a wine tasting and lunch. Our server disappeared for 15min while we watched others being served appetizers and their wine. After the delay our server returned and hastily set the table up with the tasting glasess. Another server stopped by poured some white wine into our 1st glass without a description etc of what we were drinking and then left. Another 15min went by and she returned to fill up the last 3 glasses with the red selection (again with no education about what we were drinking, no wine history-nada). Our meal was served and it was terrible- no taste at all and one of the dishes was cold ( we had a pasta dish and beef dish). When we inquired as to how we could purchase some of the wines the server abruptly stated "oh you cant we don't export" and left the table without sharing with us other possible options we could try to locate the wines. We actually quite enjoyed 2 of the wines and wanted to purchase some. Overall this was a very disappointing experience. The "wine tasting" consisted of 4 glasses of wine, the meal was sub-par and the overall treatment we received was that of being a bother to the staff. We never complained or made a fuss as it is not our family's style, and we tried to make the best of the situation (took a flight from Buenos aires for the day to Montevideo to do this tour). I am hoping that this was just a very off day for this place, otherwise buyer be aware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sdeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a guided tour in the winery, followed by lunch. The place is simply beautiful and well maintained. There's a collection of old cars and motorcycles, which we were told are in perfect conditions to drive around. The food is really good and portions, although small, leave you satisfied. Service is great, and the wines are amazing.
This is a tour everyone visiting Montevideo should do. And because the traffic is crazy, it's a good idea to call a "remis" (like a private driver) - it's more comfortable and enjoyable than a taxi, and you can taste their wines without worrying about driving back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great winery visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice location. Take a moment to drive further down at the country road. Nice views.
The winery will welcome you with a tour vineyard, wine processing area, storage area, and tasting. Great wine.
There is a old cars and motorcycles exhibition. Make sure you have diner or lunch there. Great food, amazing atmosphere, and amazing wine & food paring. Totally worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank luce3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Bouza also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Bodega Bouza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing