We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The essentials for any conflict and disappointment are suppositions and exspectations. A nicely decorated internetsite adds to this. We were not so disappointed because we always try to experience a hotel as it is, with its niceties and discomforts, and then we decide if we will ever come back. Here we will certainly come back. And we will recommend it. Of course, at breakfast, the responsable young personel is not up to certain standards, so beware, but they do serve eg. the Brazilians what théy like the way they like it. We had room 112, booked with Expedia, an ordinary but nicely decorated room, the linear way Uruguayans like it in Punta del Este.The beds slept fine. The TV and the remote worked. There was enough warm water to take 2 showers at least. Everything in the bath- and bedroom was clean and working - in how many hotels have I been that it was nót the case... The people at the reception were as Uruguayans are: they look serious, but áre very helpfull, if they can help it. If. Often, they are bound by (stupid little) regulations and instructions, to avoid or undermine possible corruption. At night, there is an extra guard that really does what he must do if necessary. The streets are nót unsafe, but tourists should always adapt, dress, act and behave by melding in, in stead of standing out. Montevideo is not NewYork. It is what it is, and much nicer and safer than Buenos Aires, for instance, and even in that city, we didn't attract any attention or agression. But you should avoid certain situations that locals of Montevideo do avoid too. They complain and complain, but they don't know about the infernal situation in Washington DC or Brussels. Thus, the hotel is well situated, in the midst of the peninsula and all the shops. We ate out, 5 blocks away, and we enjoyed early mornings, noons, sunset and dark much. Thanks to the nice people that live there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

The web site makes the hotel look wonderful, like an undiscovered, small boutique charmer, but alas this turned out not to be true. It has potential, but needs much improvement in staffing. Basic services including sloppy housekeeping, punctuality with buffet breakfast service, helpfulness with simple requests, etc. need much improvement. The location of the hotel was also a problem, not really safe at all for women, certainly not after dark. We couldn't get the safe to work. The room was tiny with a view of concrete, but that did not bother me, and two computers were available in the lobby for checking email when the wifi didn't work. I am not a fussy traveler, but I'm sure you can find something better for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spend four nights at the hotel and didn't experience anything that would make us want to go back. The staff didn't keep the breakfast buffet replenished and they didn't have an operating kitchen for room service. No bar, either. The room was kept clean, although there was a small pile of half-eaten peanuts outside our door that wasn't swept for two days. And the front desk wouldn't make change for us. I'm thinking there must be better run places in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craighdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although it has a nice exterior and comfortable rooms, Esplendor lacks the management, trained staff and basic housekeeping to satisfy a visitor to Montevideo. The desk can't change the 1000 peso bills dispensed from the few ATMs many, many blocks from the hotel. Each room had a digital safe, but the instructions were obviously for a different locking mechanism. Despite many 'first' requests, help with everything -- from 'no toilet paper' to not replacing shampoos and soap, to a broken glass -- failed to materialize until a second call was made. Wifi was available, but did not reach many of the rooms. The welcome banquet for our group -- 'sundowners' on the roof deck -- also failed to materialize. Scheduled for sundown (7 pm) -- Duh -- the nominally teen staff had blank stares in their faces as the guests ascended the staincase. 30 minutes -- plus a few phone calls -- later, they served airline-size bottles of wine (they ran out after 20), small triangles of pita-like sandwiches filled with what tasted like pita bread and (gulp!) Pringles. (Asked about the selection of 'appetizers,' a staff member claimed that they always serve Pringles at receptions.) Next morning's breakfast in the adjacent dining area took forever. Guests, usually 25 or so, found empty scrambled egg trays half the time. Coffee was served in a carafe no bigger than the one my wife and I use daily; by contrast, the much larger electrically-heated container served hot milk. (To be fair, the two containers were exchanged on the 4th day, the morning that we checked out :) Perhaps out of guilt or shame, or maybe because they forgot to tell us when we arrived, the desk clerks offered each of us a free bottle of beer or coke from the mini-fridge. Unfortunately, half the fridges didn't have two beers and none had a bottle opener. (We never did see a manager on duty, only desk clerks, who were very pleasant but could not make decisions; they stated several times that they were just following orders.) On my last night in the hotel, I returned from dinner to find the TV on -- I never used the TV. I'm hoping that a neighbor's remote turned it on; the alternatives are scary. I won't go into details of how two members in the group had their pocket pick and purse snatched on nearby streets, during daylight and at night, respectively.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank irwin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was my second visit to this hotel. Definitely, the hotel has improved a lot (the lobby and amenities, such as gym, are now 100% working).
The room is big and comfortable. Quality of the breakfast is above average. The gym is really basic and small, but it should work for a one to two nights stay. Location is good, given that you do not walk the neighborhood at night.
However, for example, tableware at breakfast was dirty; bathroom could have been cleanier.

It a hotel that deserves a recommendation. However, it's staff also a deserves a talk about "paying attention to details"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piloteador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The relation between price and quality is really good, near to all interesting places in montevideo, We love the pace full of this hotel, wifi really good, goof attention, have a spa with warm area , and if you forget your laptop at the lobby you can find two iMac for you use for free.
A good election when you visit Montevideo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juan carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stayed at this hotel exactly one year ago and it has definitely gone downhill some since then. the first time around was great, i was completely impressed. this most recent time was a little disappointing. fist was the room not being ready at the, already late enough, 3pm. after waiting forever in the lobby, they sent us up and the cleaning lady was still in the room. we ended up having to wait outside the room for another 15-20 min. from there is was just several little things that wouldn't normally be a big deal, but for the price, those eventually add up. our sheets and pillowcases had blood stains on them, they weren't changed with the room cleanings either, the hairdryer didn't work and we had to go to the lobby to wait until they found a replacement, the spa wasn't working, the phone line kept cutting off, they didn't have an airport shuttle as advertised, and room service wasn't available for the entire week that we were there. again, nothing catastrophic (although the blood stained sheets were disturbing) but all of those little things added up and in my opinion didn't meet my expectations for a hotel at that price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bplata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
830 reviews
Punta Carretas
Esplendor Montevideo – A Wyndham Grand Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
560 reviews
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
393 reviews
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Cervantes

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11109, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing