We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“More than Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The relation between price and quality is really good, near to all interesting places in montevideo, We love the pace full of this hotel, wifi really good, goof attention, have a spa with warm area , and if you forget your laptop at the lobby you can find two iMac for you use for free.
A good election when you visit Montevideo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    439
    201
    76
    46
See reviews for
200
443
54
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stayed at this hotel exactly one year ago and it has definitely gone downhill some since then. the first time around was great, i was completely impressed. this most recent time was a little disappointing. fist was the room not being ready at the, already late enough, 3pm. after waiting forever in the lobby, they sent us up and the cleaning lady was still in the room. we ended up having to wait outside the room for another 15-20 min. from there is was just several little things that wouldn't normally be a big deal, but for the price, those eventually add up. our sheets and pillowcases had blood stains on them, they weren't changed with the room cleanings either, the hairdryer didn't work and we had to go to the lobby to wait until they found a replacement, the spa wasn't working, the phone line kept cutting off, they didn't have an airport shuttle as advertised, and room service wasn't available for the entire week that we were there. again, nothing catastrophic (although the blood stained sheets were disturbing) but all of those little things added up and in my opinion didn't meet my expectations for a hotel at that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bplata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is very newly decorated and everything looks great. The room is very light, spacious and modern. The breakfast (buffet) is served on the rooftop terras. The wifi and airco worked in our room, beds are good.
The location is good; in the centre and close to the old centre. In the centre you can find many restaurants.
Staff was helpfull, only minus was that they didn’t want to post our postcards and told us we could do that on the airport where the postoffice was closed...

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec - Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was very new, so the facilities were fresh and it wasn't too busy. It was in a good location. Staff were helpful, breakfast was good, room was nice. It was very new, so some of the facilities weren't quite finished, like the gym. No tea making in the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci_C_12681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
429 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent just 1 day at this hotel. It's in walking distance to the city center and in a safe zone. The rooms are clean an confortable. The price is fair considering what they offer to the guests. The famous Mercado del Puerto is easy to reach from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went with a November promotion from Buque Turism and really loved this hotel. It is close to Plaza Independencia, the money exchange houses, and good restaurants. The rooms are well-decorated with good air-conditioning and TV, as well as floor-length mirrors, big closets, a minibar, a safe, and really clean bathrooms. I spoke in Spanish with the staff so I can´t vouch for their English skills, but they were extremely helpful and polite, they even opened the rooftop balcony for me to take photos of the view in the morning. The sauna, lap pool, American-style breakfast, and free coffe and tea were all great bonuses. There were also public-access computers and laundry services, although I didn´t use those. The hotel seems to have a business/conference room next door so many guests are businessmen during the week. If you stay here, go eat at El Fogón for dinner, it was the best restaurant in the Center and had an enormous menu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bairesexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not bad. Tastefully refurbished, stately old hotel. Stayed 5 nights while working in Montevideo. We picked it because our hosts in Montevideo paid 4 nights at a discounted rate, and the hotel allowed us the same rate for the extra night. Attractive, large room with a nicely finished wood floor. Clean, modern room. Small balcony opening over the street. Nice view. Good sized bath. Two small beds pushed together. Comfortable mattresses and pillows. Since our room faced the main street with no adjoining guest rooms, so there was no noise from other guests but some vehicle noise from the street, which did awaken us a couple of nights. Most other rooms were off the street but adjoining. No idea what those were like. Housekeeping forgot to leave toilet paper a couple of days and mistakenly took the shower cap, but otherwise did a good job cleaning. Front desk staff was courteous and attentive enough, but nothing special. Minibar never worked at all despite 3 complaints and corresponding promises to repair or replace. Internet always worked well. Nice complimentary breakfast with hot eggs and tasty pastry and great view of the sea on the top floor of the hotel. Terrific way to start the day. Limited guest services otherwise. Our one experience with room service was so bad it was funny (two $12 cold thin hamburgers on dry bread with a small portion of cold soggy fries), but a number of restaurant options are very close by. The area seemed safe enough at night. It is a short walk to the beach and to a supermarket. We never went to a nice restaurant, although available. After work, we ate 3 nights at the Il Mondo Italian fast food place, 3 (short) blocks away on the Avenida 18 de Julio, as it was a zero stress, lively and happy yet quiet place were we could talk, with plenty of nice customers and lots of tasty cheap food and ice cold draft beer. I think they adopted us. Overall, a very pleasant stay for a very low price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main street (Soriano) have some street noise, not bad, but no common walls with oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmyopinion9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Punta Carretas
Esplendor Montevideo – A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
713 reviews
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#42 of 87 in Montevideo
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
374 reviews
After Hotel Montevideo
#16 of 87 in Montevideo
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Cervantes

Property: Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11109, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing