We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because it seemed to be in a great location but beware its not where Google maps says it is! It's not even where the hotel's own website Google map says it is but much nearer to Plaza Independencia, about 2 blocks away in fact. That said, it's a great place to explore the city from including the old town, museums and within two minutes of the riverside ramblas. Oh and there's a great gay bar 'Chains' just 50 metres down the road.
The hotel was only 6 months refurbished when we went so all facilities were tip top. Avoid room 501 as the metal steps up to the great rooftop dining room go up the side and you'll be woken up at 7 by people going up to breakfast which is typical South American/European style and plentiful. Wifi is slightly annoying as you have to sign in each time to use and it's a bit slow but the hotel has two Macs in the entrance which we found useful. We used the pool but it's small so don't expect to be doing laps.
Overall good, reliable hotel and recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AFTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Architecturally speaking, this hotel is splendid, and the interiors are very nicely designed. I stayed in a suite which was spacious and had high ceilings. I cannot say anything about the concept room because I did not have a look at it. Overall Esplendor Hotel Montevideo (also called Esplendor Cervantes) is truly a lovely hotel. Front desk staff are polite, helpful and can speak English well. Breakfast was good, and came with strawberry and orange juices and decent spread of food. I would like to give the hotel an excellent rating but the housekeeping service upsets my admiration for this hotel.

On the first morning, I used my own soap which looks like the one given by the hotel. I left it on the bathroom shower rack, but the housekeeper threw it away, to my horror. Thinking that she would throw soaps away and replenish new ones daily, I kept the soap I used the following day. But the following day, (a) she did not provide any shampoo, soaps or toiletries in the bathroom. There was nothing provided for. (b) she cleaned the room at 7pm. I couldnt believe how late it was even though it was not a busy day at all. Its winter time. What erratic service.

The other complaint I have was that the TV and cable were complicated to use. Sometimes, the channels would come on, sometimes they would not. Then when you switch channels, you would lose the previous ones you were watching. There's got to be a simpler way of channel surfing. Many channels aren't available at all one minute, and then available next, and then not available. Weird.

BTW, the hotel is located in garment district where shops sell fabrics, and ribbons for dressmaking. A taxi ride from the hotel to the airport costs 800 Uruguay pesos. The hotel is far nicer than other hotels in Montevideo inspite of the lousy housekeeping, which the management can rectify.

Room Tip: the suite room is much bigger than the concept room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel with my family last May and I must say that it was a lovely surprise. When I first booked it I was reluctant as it's a new establishment, but through a friend's suggestion I decided stay there and I was not disappointed.
The infrastructure is great, mixes classic and modern architecture and it´s extremely comfortable. Location is perfect, it´s in the heart of the city.
The staff is great and always willing to help, they also speak many languages to assist you. The food is very nice and the breakfast magnificent.
We had a lovely stay and we´re looking forward to visit Esplendor again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasiUruguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

i was one night at this hotel this week! i felt very confortable from the beggining, the recepcionist and all the employees were very kind! the room is big, very confortable and with a great view.
but the best part is the spa... the pool and the saune were great.. and relaxing!
the breakfast was deliciuos and with a great view of the river!!!
when i will be back to Montevideo, i will stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: great spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArielDorfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent a weekend there as a couple and were very pleased with our hotel choice. The hotel is very new so it's great shape, and we found it extremely quiet. The windows are double-glazed so even though we had a balcony direct to the street we didn't notice the street noise at all. The bathroom had a small jacuzzi-style bath and plenty of hot water and towels, and our huge king bed was very comfortable with good sized pillows. We don't watch much TV but there was plenty of choice when we took a look, and an earlier reviewer mentions you can change the language setting to get more English programming - ask the front desk to help if you don't read Spanish, they are very accommodating. They ordered a taxi for us for the next morning to get to the airport and it arrived promptly. Room service wasn't amazing - I think they order it from a restaurant nearby as it didn't seem freshly made in the kitchen but the portions were good. I'd go out to one of the many places to eat around you rather than get room service, but if you want to stay in at least you know you'll be well fed. The breakfasts were typical South American fair - eggs, lots of meat choices, medialunas/croissants and various pastries and the coffee wasn't strong but drinkable. The breakfast room is on the top floor with a fabulous view so next time we're in town I hope it's summer and we can spend some time out on the huge terrace. So, great place for the price, definitely. I'm not sure if you'd get a better hotel for spending more, certainly not in the Ciudad Vieja.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with the balcony facing the street, and if you can get one higher up you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RWBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the week. At $100 including breakfast, it's a decent price for the quality. The room was clean, a good size, with a desk chair, wardrobe, safe, mini fridge and flatscreen tv. There were plenty of channels including HBO. If you want more shows in English, go to Menu and change the default language. It will undo the dubbing for many American shows/movies.

The bathroom is great with nice towels, sink and bathtub. The showerhead is great, plenty of pressure and hot water. The AC/heat also worked perfectly.

Breakfast is on the top floor and isnt bad at all. Juice, coffee, yogurt, lots of pastries, eggs, bacon. You are also walking distance to 100 places to eat. There are 4 grocery stores within a few blocks and lots of hardware stores (you will need a $2 adapter for your electronics).

There is a coffee machine and hot water for tea in the lobby (with English breakfast tea bags). There are computers with internet for guests and wi-fi was very good in my room. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice and the temp of the room was very warm (not sure about the water).

I did find the bed slightly uncomfortable but I'm super picky. I have a medium-firm Simmons spa at home and hardly ever find hotel mattresses to be great. That said, it wasn't terrible.

Oh! Also, someone else mentioned that they sent another guest to their room. Keeping that in mind, I kept my door deadbolted and, sure enough, two Brazilian guys showed up with a card for my room. No harm done since the door was locked and they turned out not to be axe-murderers, but the people in reception are not keeping track of the rooms they give out so lock your doors!

I stayed another 3 days at the Sheraton in Punta Carretas and it honestly wasn't that much better than the Esplendor, it just has nicer decor. If you want to be able to walk around with more shops/restaurant choices, Centro/Ciudad Vieja is really where you want to be and the Esplendor isn't a bad choice at all. Safety-wise, Uruguay just isn't a dangerous country. You can certainly get a purse stolen if you arent paying attention, but I traveled alone as a 30-yr old woman and felt perfectly safe (although I do speak Spanish, so I'm prob a bit more comfortable).

Room Tip: I had room 219 which was a corner room, very quiet and with a window (no view, but nice breeze).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zuccabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in Montevideo for a couple of nights and were looking forward to staying at this boutique hotel. But our experience was bad right from the start: We didn't get a double bed that we had reserved, the airconditioning was broke and flooded the room (and my new leather handbag), we had to wait 30 min. until we got a clean table for breakfast, receptionists were unfriendly, mosquitos in the room ate us alive and so on. There are no parking facilities. After we were offered no compensation or refund for our inconveniences we were more than happy to leave this place. Don't get fooled by the fancy pictures - this place is not living up to them!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austria-Suiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and we regret the circumstances that have arisen during your stay. I will make extensive comments to my colleagues to continue improving the quality of our service and facilities.

We hope to host it again in your next visit to Montevideo.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
428 reviews
Punta Carretas
Esplendor Montevideo – A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
872 reviews
After Hotel Montevideo
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
1,140 reviews
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#35 of 87 in Montevideo
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Cervantes

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11109, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $66 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing