We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montevideo Up HosteL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Montevideo Up
Ranked #14 of 32 Montevideo B&B and Inns
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Montevideo Up HosteL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very nice and quiet Hostel/Bed & Breakfast in a nice and safe area of Montevideo. Great location near a big shopping center and the La Rambloa and 10 mins walk to Playa Pocitos. I stayed here for a few weeks and got to know the staff on friendly basis, there very friendly helpful and will go out of there way to make your stay a pleast expeirence.

going to miss all the staff there had an amazing time

Jess

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesscallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
13
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a large family house with rooms for guests. It is near the beach and Punta Carretas shopping mall. There is a common kitchen with self-service. The kitchen and a dining room was not maintained enough. I would say the landlady was on holidays. Our room was small and suitable for one night. Common bathroom wasn't clean enough. Anyway there was very helpful staff, we could use their computer and a printer in the reception to purchase online boat tickets for Buquebus. There is also a shared computer with internet (but without a printer for sure). We stayed only one night and before we left in the afternoon somebody had started cleaning in the lobby. But we didn't see the result of this process. You can get there from the airport by bus DM1 and get off at Punta Carretas shopping mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vondavigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The good: I really liked the people I met here – the family that owns the hostel, their friends, and other guests from Argentina, Brazil, and other countries. Everyone was friendly and great about sharing the computer (with high-speed internet access) and their food. The location, 2 blocks from the rambla along the Río de la Plata and 2 blocks from Punta Carretas Shopping mall, is ideal. I don’t like malls, but Punta Carreta Shopping is a great place to exchange currency and get an OK meal, and it also has a supermarket, 3 movie theaters, and a good book and CD store. The neighborhood is safe and easy to walk in, and the first night I spent here, it was blissfully quiet.

The bad: I spent 4 nights in a single room that was only about 2 by 3 meters, if that. I don’t need a huge room, but it felt like a box – contained a single bed, a metal locker, and a nightstand, and I couldn’t put my open suitcase flat on the floor and open the room’s door at the same time. The window shade was apparently broken, so I couldn’t keep the room dark while I was sleeping. A bare light bulb hung from wires in the ceiling, with no fixture to cover it, and the room needed painting. Breakfast was minimal, basically just mate, white bread, and marmalade. The entire hostel was grubby, although the bathrooms were cleaned daily.

To reach the shared bathroom, I had to go down the back staircase and through the kitchen and dining room. This wasn’t awful, but the way through the kitchen was usually partially blocked by an ironing board, bottles of cleaning products, and the like. It seemed like a fire hazard to block the way like this. The other shared bathroom was up another staircase – 2 bathrooms for up to 21 guests.

The ugly: sharing these bathrooms would’ve been more tolerable if the other guests had cleaned up after themselves, but there was always water on the floor and the counters, and after a while it just seemed disgusting. I also understand that hostels aren’t silent meditation centers, but I don’t think it’s OK to let guests make a lot of noise every night until 3 a.m. Some people DO need to sleep at night. $35 US a night was just far too much to put up with all of this, and I will not return.

Room Tip: All the dorm rooms I saw had 7 beds crammed into a small space. Me da igual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hostel location is good, next to the beach, shopping mall and the neighbourhood is nice. The beds are comfortable. We booked a room for 9 people with shared bathroom in the ground floor. Unfortunately the room entrance was not closed until the ceiling, it means that is very noise... There is only one shared bathroom with shower for 20 people! It was cleaned only once in the mornings, it means that the bathroom was always dirty... Nobody dismissed to throw away lots of used shavers left there.The shower have hot water only for 2 minutes. The kitchen also needs a deep housekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Hostel Montevideo Up and we were lucky for it. We were greeted by the warm owner, Fernando and even though they didn't have a room ready for us, they offered for us to make ourselves at home. The wait was worth it because they put us in an even better room than the one we requested complete with a private bathroom.

Even though the hostel is not located in the old city, I preferred this location. The surrounding neighborhood is great (lots of great shops and restaurants) and you are so close to the beautiful walking path that lines the ocean.

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. We had a large window that opened up to a patio downstairs. The bathroom, while small, was also very clean. The wi-fi worked amazingly well. The breakfast is included with the rate and it's very basic but adequate. The hostel itself is very basic but what really sets this place apart was the family that runs it.

They really treat you like one of their own and help you out with whatever you need. Our spanish was not so good and they made such an effort to speak slowly and to keep repeating themselves. They showed us how to take the bus and even did our laundry for us!

You should surely stay at Hostel Montevideo Up because of this lovely family. They made our stay so worthwhile.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank superhorsefeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelMontevidepUp, Propietario at Hostel Montevideo Up, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion!!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our B & B!
We hope to see you again, Welcome!
And we are at your service!
regards
Fabrizio Lallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took a group of students to Uruguay and all 25 of us were able to stay Montevideo UP. I highly recommend this hostel if you're traveling on a budget - it's run by a very sweet family and is in a safe location. While it isn't in the Old City or near the port, it's just a couple blocks away from the beach. It's also completely safe to walk around at night (unlike being near the port). It's also conveniently close to the shopping mall, where there is a grocery store if you feel like buying some groceries to cook at the hostel. The family was very sweet and helpful even though our large group took over the whole space.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelMontevidepUp, Propietario at Hostel Montevideo Up, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion!!
Really enjoyed this.
We hope to see you again and of course are welcome!
regards
Fabrizio Lallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I say I am very grateful for the reception of the hotel staff, really was a pleasure your attention, your kindness, especially since I was in a country not known. The beauty of the hotel is that you get a city map, guide you on tours, have a list of tours and things to do, also guide you at nightlife, daytime, there is a supermarket nearby, they give you breakfast, you can cook if want, and have an added service for lunch and dinner a la carte by Mrs. Mariza, an excellent person. The beauty of the hostel is that you know people around the world, make friends and share. I had never been in a shared room, at first I thought would have a room alone, but they offer also cheaper with shared room and accepted, after seeing that I can meet people from around the world and it's fun making new friends. Thank you very much Fabrizio, Ariel, Fernanda, Mariza, Silvia, Fernando, and others. and everyone else. Truly a very pleasant and welcoming, especially humane treatment and the warmth of the staff, sit in the respeot environment and good treatment for each guest in particular.

Room Tip: Ask for cheap shared rooms, is cheaper and better, because you can know new friends, and also they i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.1 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Montevideo Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Montevideo Up

Property: Hostel Montevideo Up
Address: Riachuelo 175 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Montevideo Up 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the safest area of Montevideo (Pocitos-Punta Carretas), just 100 meters from the sea, 200 meters from the main shopping and the famous "Parque Rodo", "Casino Park Hotel," "La Rambla" with path bicycles, and other attractions. 5 Minutes from Old City, Teatro Solis, Mercado del Puerto and more.Rooms with minibar, cable tv, dvd, en suite bathroom, balcony, dressing room, air conditioning and other amenities. ALL Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Montevideo Up reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing