We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different ideas”
Review of La Otra

La Otra
Ranked #19 of 943 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: LA OTRA is the classic Uruguayan barbecue place where you can find the best for export meats of the country, prepared by expert hands with more than 30 years experience, in a comfortable place, located in the heart of the Pocito's area. A fast, outgoing place where the good vibe of a group of friends working as a team.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Different ideas”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I loved it but my in-laws disliked it.
The ambiance is very nice, the restaurant is clean, unique menu and offers up a nice idea about Uruguayan BBQ. Served freshly baked bread, the food was delicious. But the service is BAD, the tables are crammed together.
The service was bad, I'd have to say the worse in a long time, but it think they want to give that impression, of being very busy (even though the restaurant was only 1/2 full) and that they have no time for you. And they just threw the food and cutlery down on the table. But they treated everyone the same, so I think it's part of the experience.
I would return back cause I enjoyed the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    433
    99
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Two different experiences”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed our visit the first time so much we returned, but the second time was not so lucky. The food was great both times, but the service was Hyde to Jekyll. The second time was on a Monday night and very busy, so maybe they were caught off guard.

The food was the best Prarylla we found in Montevideo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilMurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice restaurant to go with family, friends, etc.
The meat is excelent!
The service is fast and good.
Only serves typical local food, parrilla, but is the best I ever had here in Montevideo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarinaMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
704 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Two nights and two fantastic meals”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a cool restaurant for a Norte Americano. Of course, in July, it's winter there, but winter is mild. Like a crisp autumn evening in the U.S.

Walk inside, and a cozy fire is burning, but it isn't for heat though it does warm. That nice wood smell is for cooking meat. Not just any meat, but the best beef in the world - South American beef.

The chefs here really know their stuff, and they were entertaining both nights. All including wait staff wanted to try their English and were proud of their restaurant, meats, and skills.

Both nights, I came at the magic time between when the typical tourists clear out after their 18:00 meals and the locals start to come in at 21:00/22:00 or later. Both nights I sat at the bar directly in front of the fire and watched magic with meat happen. Wish we had such beef and such restaurants in the U.S. Some try, but it's not the same. La Otra is THE place for great meat and wine. Plus, the ambience is perfect. Nice décor and excellent staff.

Really, it's worth a trip to South America just for a meal here. I can think of two restaurants in South America to make that claim. Also, it was relatively inexpensive from an American's view. Don't think I spent $40 either night including a bottle of wine each night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyKasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meat in Montevideo”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want to eat in a classic "Parrillada" in Montevideo, La Otra is the place to go. The food is very very good, and the service is efficient and friendly. I would recommend the "Vacio" (flank stake) and "Mollejas" (sweetbreads) and the "papa al plomo" (a potato wrapped in aluminium foil and cooked in the grill). The place is three blocks away from the beach in the nice neighborhood of Pocitos. Its also a good and friendly place to go with children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Otra also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to La Otra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing