We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
$100
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$146
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palladium Business Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
My Suites(Montevideo)
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
289
140
42
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
140
42
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbuenos airesold citygreat hotelmeat marketmercado del puertoart deco buildingferry portport areajacuzzi tubthe perfect place to staypoints of interestenglish speaking staffthird floorloved this hotelwalking aroundtaxis are cheap
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 487 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband picked out this hotel for a birthday weekend in Montevideo. It's kind of got that masculine touch, you know? We had an absolute fabulous time! We had one of the front rooms with the balcony so we could look straight over to the big market - and eat there too! The room was very nice. It was spacious, streamlined and clean. The jacuzzi was a great end to the day.

The building's art deco look is complimented in the details all over, down to the little soap bottles. They did a wonderful job in the planning. The best part was the roof pool! I've not had such a lovely, relaxing afternoon in quite some time. It is so peaceful up there, I would come back just to sit on that roof all weekend. The front part of the roof had a cool little bar and some lounge furniture that offered a nice space to have a cocktail!

The staff was absolutely wonderful! When we asked if we could check our bags until we were allowed to check in, they said our room was ready and we could go early if we wanted. It made all the difference in the world! We had a very long night of travel the night before so a quick morning nap made our entire day in the city much better.

Breakfast was really varied, full of lots of different options, and way too much to eat. It was much better than the standard ham, cheese and bread I see at most places. I think I recall that it came out in courses and was sculpted in interesting shapes.

Highly recommended! We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The front room with the balcony was great, but we were on the 1st floor, meaning that we could hear the breakfast noise. It didn't bother us, but if you're a light sleeper, request a higher room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyfooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Ms. Gypsyfooted,

Thank you very much for your warm and kind words.
We really felt very flattered by them.
First of all, your room, a Superior one, overlooks the Bay of Montevideo and the Mercado del Puerto, so the view is quite enjoyable. The Superior ones, are spacious rooms designed for your comfort.
Undoubtedly, the hot tub is a big plus if you want to relax after a busy day.
Our Hotel is a 1938 building art- deco style, with a beautiful facade. This remains original from that period of time.
Without a doubt, our pool and our Roof Top are highlights in our service.
But the most important thing is our staff who gives their 100 percent to make your stay unforgettable, as the one you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Oh what a beautiful hotel. The best experience of arriving and checking in -- being greeted with a glass of bubbly and some smoked salmon will sent the bar for all future check-ins. Wonderful refurb on the hotel - someone with a love of interior design spent a lot of time on this. My room didn't have a good view but was otherwise a joy. Good sized and modern bathroom. Comfortable bed with high quality linen. All the usual mod cons. Very quiet. Mini-bar (and hotel bar) are over-priced.
Lots of sunbeds on the roof terrace around a very clean, sparkling but cold pool.
Service is exceptional - always friendly and wanting to help.
Breakfast was beautifully presented - high quality and plentiful.

The location is mixed. It's in the old quarter, which is very interesting with beautiful old buildings - but not so safe at night or on the smaller streets. The hotel is right opposite the famous Mercado de Puerto which is filled with restaurants and grills. Although the Mercado is not open in the evenings, there are several restaurants within twenty yards. But beyond that, this isn't an area to wander of an evening. So there are limitations because of the safety aspects. Cabs are easy to arrange, and the nearby restaurants are enough anyway.

This is a beautiful hotel. And if you enjoy design, good service and great attention to detail - this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Ms. Lorraine,

Thank you very much for your warm words.

Our aim is to always provide quality service and warmth, so you can feel at home.

It is always gratifying for us at first contact, to offer a welcome drink to surprise our guests.

The decoration of our rooms is designed for the enjoyment of our guests, with great taste and style.
Your choice was a Standard room, which are located at the back of the hotel.
They have a splendid shower with great water pressure.
All our sheets and towels are 100 percent cotton, without doubt, the best quality you can find in Montevideo.

Our breakfast is intended to be exclusive and personalized.
It has a very artistic vision, as the fruit plates are something unusual and wonderful.
That is why our guests enjoy a breakfast with the highest quality.

Our Hotel is located in the Old Town area.
Fotr the last couple of years our government has been committed to invest in the area and has put security cameras in the streets, which allows the Police Department to see what is happening, which has been a major sucess.
In addition, some of the best restaurants ranked by TripAdvisor opened in this area.
The wide variety of museums and the traditional Mercado Del Puerto (Port Market) make this area the cultural district per excellence in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Don Boutique has style, taste and eye for detail. It’s a bit of a pity that it’s located in the most run down part of the Cuidad Vieja, which is desolate after dark, and not very safe. But ok, taxis are cheap (and do drive up to the front door, despite what other reviewers say), so this shouldn’t really keep you locked in your room. During the day however, the area is buzzling with office workers and locals, and the hotel’s location right opposite of the old Mercado del Puerto (a meat-lovers feast, but beware, it’s not cheap) then becomes an asset. And after all, it’s only a few minutes’ walk to the better areas of the old town, and around 20 min. to Plaza Independencia. On top of this, the tourist bus has its starting point at 100 m. from the hotel, which makes a convenient way to explore the city.

As said, Don Boutique is stylish, with lots of black & white and design furniture throughout the hotel, creating a cool ambience. Rooms are in the same style, with nice lighting and comfortable beds. Wireless is free and satellite TV gives you plenty of choice. On the roof there is a wonderful pool with spacious terrace, overlooking the town, and a rooftop bar (which unfortunately was closed when we stayed here). A hearty breakfast is served in the lobby and all staff is friendly and very helpful. It's alll a bit off the main drags, but definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your beautiful words and we want you to know that for us is a great pleasure to have enjoyed your visit, and once again we would like to offer the opportunity to come and see so many new things in the old city of Montevideo, take in count, the old city has changed a lot and today is much safer and enjoyable, although you said it, we are away from the downtown area, but still are strategically located near the port of Montevideo (for those who come in buquebus from Argentina), also in front of the Port Market, tourist bus and lots of museums and restaurants of the old town. It is and always will be a pleasure to offer our guests the best service and the best way to know our city, therefore we really focus on personalized and with extraordinary experiences and service.

Moreover, we greatly appreciate that there are people in the world enjoy and remain delighted with our taste and modern decoration. Because besides wanting to make you feel at home, feel special and find soothing sensations.

Once again we are grateful for your sweet comments, look forward to your early visit.

Best regards,

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great hotel within walking distance of the Buquebus terminal and port.Right opposite the Mercada central and its restraurants but quite at night. The hotel is very well appointed with large fashionable rooms, great shower and bed with safe.The pool on the roof gives a great view over the roof tops to watch large ships docking in the port. Breakfast of fresh fruit and pastries was perfect.We stayed 4 nights but wished it was longer,if we come back we would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tapstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo.
As you very well mentioned, our property and our area offer a holistic experience where everything comes together to offer our guests a unique experience in one of the best hotels in the city.

We look forward to the pleasure of your visit again in the near future, not only back to meet your expectations, if not surpass, we will gladly offer the best for you. Because since your last visit, much has changed, we have about more restaurants and museums, including our private dining hall, we innovate more and more to provide more comfort and options.

It will be a pleasure for our entire team to be there for whatever you need.

Best regards
Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to say that I really like this hotel. Our room (20) was on the third floor with a small, but very nice balcony that overlooked the mercado central and the customs house. The bathroom was very nice (although it had the new feature that you could look into it, although this could be blocked. The breakfast was made to order and could be had in the room, in the lobby or on the rooftop. Pool was nice and loved the rooftop at night. English was no problem and hotel staff were very friendly. My only complaint with the hotel was that buying a bottle of wine was outrageous (chepest was $US79)! This is solved by going around the corner to a nice little grocery store and buying a $10 bottle and spending the excess money on nuts and cheese. The hotel is right across the street from the mercado and the carnaval museum and walking distance to other museums. Our montevidean friends were appalled that we stayed here because of the seedy reputation (their daughter is a doctor at the nearby hospital and were adamant not to walk in that direction). We did not go out at night because we had very large lunches late in the day, prefering to get back before sunset to watch the lovely colors from the roof. It seems the government is trying to refresh the area. If so, this will eventually be a fantastic location. A true boutique hotel, not just a claim here, but a real spirit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Please know that we value and care about our guests, and wish for everyone to enjoy a personalized experience. We appreciate your comments of the staff and the work we do in trying to please every need of our guests

We are so sorry if at some point felt insecure in the neighborhood, but note that they are only appearances at first sight, but it really is a very safe and quiet town. Other thing to take in count is that from the time you came to Montevideo (2013) until now, too many things has changes, first the security as we said before, and then our menu is more flexible, and we have more variety of wines and cocktails, in fact, we now have a dining room that now you can have lunch or dinner even if you do not want to leave the hotel. It will be an honor for us that you come once again and we will give you a better impression.

We kindly thank you for your review and we look forward to having you with us in the future, you will not regret.

Best regards

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews