We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Happy Birthday with Don Boutique!”
Review of Don Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband picked out this hotel for a birthday weekend in Montevideo. It's kind of got that masculine touch, you know? We had an absolute fabulous time! We had one of the front rooms with the balcony so we could look straight over to the big market - and eat there too! The room was very nice. It was spacious, streamlined and clean. The jacuzzi was a great end to the day.

The building's art deco look is complimented in the details all over, down to the little soap bottles. They did a wonderful job in the planning. The best part was the roof pool! I've not had such a lovely, relaxing afternoon in quite some time. It is so peaceful up there, I would come back just to sit on that roof all weekend. The front part of the roof had a cool little bar and some lounge furniture that offered a nice space to have a cocktail!

The staff was absolutely wonderful! When we asked if we could check our bags until we were allowed to check in, they said our room was ready and we could go early if we wanted. It made all the difference in the world! We had a very long night of travel the night before so a quick morning nap made our entire day in the city much better.

Breakfast was really varied, full of lots of different options, and way too much to eat. It was much better than the standard ham, cheese and bread I see at most places. I think I recall that it came out in courses and was sculpted in interesting shapes.

Highly recommended! We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The front room with the balcony was great, but we were on the 1st floor, meaning that we could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyfooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Ms. Gypsyfooted,

Thank you very much for your warm and kind words.
We really felt very flattered by them.
First of all, your room, a Superior one, overlooks the Bay of Montevideo and the Mercado del Puerto, so the view is quite enjoyable. The Superior ones, are spacious rooms designed for your comfort.
Undoubtedly, the hot tub is a big plus if you want to relax after a busy day.
Our Hotel is a 1938 building art- deco style, with a beautiful facade. This remains original from that period of time.
Without a doubt, our pool and our Roof Top are highlights in our service.
But the most important thing is our staff who gives their 100 percent to make your stay unforgettable, as the one you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 453 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Oh what a beautiful hotel. The best experience of arriving and checking in -- being greeted with a glass of bubbly and some smoked salmon will sent the bar for all future check-ins. Wonderful refurb on the hotel - someone with a love of interior design spent a lot of time on this. My room didn't have a good view but was otherwise a joy. Good sized and modern bathroom. Comfortable bed with high quality linen. All the usual mod cons. Very quiet. Mini-bar (and hotel bar) are over-priced.
Lots of sunbeds on the roof terrace around a very clean, sparkling but cold pool.
Service is exceptional - always friendly and wanting to help.
Breakfast was beautifully presented - high quality and plentiful.

The location is mixed. It's in the old quarter, which is very interesting with beautiful old buildings - but not so safe at night or on the smaller streets. The hotel is right opposite the famous Mercado de Puerto which is filled with restaurants and grills. Although the Mercado is not open in the evenings, there are several restaurants within twenty yards. But beyond that, this isn't an area to wander of an evening. So there are limitations because of the safety aspects. Cabs are easy to arrange, and the nearby restaurants are enough anyway.

This is a beautiful hotel. And if you enjoy design, good service and great attention to detail - this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Ms. Lorraine,

Thank you very much for your warm words.

Our aim is to always provide quality service and warmth, so you can feel at home.

It is always gratifying for us at first contact, to offer a welcome drink to surprise our guests.

The decoration of our rooms is designed for the enjoyment of our guests, with great taste and style.
Your choice was a Standard room, which are located at the back of the hotel.
They have a splendid shower with great water pressure.
All our sheets and towels are 100 percent cotton, without doubt, the best quality you can find in Montevideo.

Our breakfast is intended to be exclusive and personalized.
It has a very artistic vision, as the fruit plates are something unusual and wonderful.
That is why our guests enjoy a breakfast with the highest quality.

Our Hotel is located in the Old Town area.
Fotr the last couple of years our government has been committed to invest in the area and has put security cameras in the streets, which allows the Police Department to see what is happening, which has been a major sucess.
In addition, some of the best restaurants ranked by TripAdvisor opened in this area.
The wide variety of museums and the traditional Mercado Del Puerto (Port Market) make this area the cultural district per excellence in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Don Boutique has style, taste and eye for detail. It’s a bit of a pity that it’s located in the most run down part of the Cuidad Vieja, which is desolate after dark, and not very safe. But ok, taxis are cheap (and do drive up to the front door, despite what other reviewers say), so this shouldn’t really keep you locked in your room. During the day however, the area is buzzling with office workers and locals, and the hotel’s location right opposite of the old Mercado del Puerto (a meat-lovers feast, but beware, it’s not cheap) then becomes an asset. And after all, it’s only a few minutes’ walk to the better areas of the old town, and around 20 min. to Plaza Independencia. On top of this, the tourist bus has its starting point at 100 m. from the hotel, which makes a convenient way to explore the city.

As said, Don Boutique is stylish, with lots of black & white and design furniture throughout the hotel, creating a cool ambience. Rooms are in the same style, with nice lighting and comfortable beds. Wireless is free and satellite TV gives you plenty of choice. On the roof there is a wonderful pool with spacious terrace, overlooking the town, and a rooftop bar (which unfortunately was closed when we stayed here). A hearty breakfast is served in the lobby and all staff is friendly and very helpful. It's alll a bit off the main drags, but definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your beautiful words and we want you to know that for us is a great pleasure to have enjoyed your visit, and once again we would like to offer the opportunity to come and see so many new things in the old city of Montevideo, take in count, the old city has changed a lot and today is much safer and enjoyable, although you said it, we are away from the downtown area, but still are strategically located near the port of Montevideo (for those who come in buquebus from Argentina), also in front of the Port Market, tourist bus and lots of museums and restaurants of the old town. It is and always will be a pleasure to offer our guests the best service and the best way to know our city, therefore we really focus on personalized and with extraordinary experiences and service.

Moreover, we greatly appreciate that there are people in the world enjoy and remain delighted with our taste and modern decoration. Because besides wanting to make you feel at home, feel special and find soothing sensations.

Once again we are grateful for your sweet comments, look forward to your early visit.

Best regards,

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great hotel within walking distance of the Buquebus terminal and port.Right opposite the Mercada central and its restraurants but quite at night. The hotel is very well appointed with large fashionable rooms, great shower and bed with safe.The pool on the roof gives a great view over the roof tops to watch large ships docking in the port. Breakfast of fresh fruit and pastries was perfect.We stayed 4 nights but wished it was longer,if we come back we would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tapstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo.
As you very well mentioned, our property and our area offer a holistic experience where everything comes together to offer our guests a unique experience in one of the best hotels in the city.

We look forward to the pleasure of your visit again in the near future, not only back to meet your expectations, if not surpass, we will gladly offer the best for you. Because since your last visit, much has changed, we have about more restaurants and museums, including our private dining hall, we innovate more and more to provide more comfort and options.

It will be a pleasure for our entire team to be there for whatever you need.

Best regards
Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to say that I really like this hotel. Our room (20) was on the third floor with a small, but very nice balcony that overlooked the mercado central and the customs house. The bathroom was very nice (although it had the new feature that you could look into it, although this could be blocked. The breakfast was made to order and could be had in the room, in the lobby or on the rooftop. Pool was nice and loved the rooftop at night. English was no problem and hotel staff were very friendly. My only complaint with the hotel was that buying a bottle of wine was outrageous (chepest was $US79)! This is solved by going around the corner to a nice little grocery store and buying a $10 bottle and spending the excess money on nuts and cheese. The hotel is right across the street from the mercado and the carnaval museum and walking distance to other museums. Our montevidean friends were appalled that we stayed here because of the seedy reputation (their daughter is a doctor at the nearby hospital and were adamant not to walk in that direction). We did not go out at night because we had very large lunches late in the day, prefering to get back before sunset to watch the lovely colors from the roof. It seems the government is trying to refresh the area. If so, this will eventually be a fantastic location. A true boutique hotel, not just a claim here, but a real spirit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Please know that we value and care about our guests, and wish for everyone to enjoy a personalized experience. We appreciate your comments of the staff and the work we do in trying to please every need of our guests

We are so sorry if at some point felt insecure in the neighborhood, but note that they are only appearances at first sight, but it really is a very safe and quiet town. Other thing to take in count is that from the time you came to Montevideo (2013) until now, too many things has changes, first the security as we said before, and then our menu is more flexible, and we have more variety of wines and cocktails, in fact, we now have a dining room that now you can have lunch or dinner even if you do not want to leave the hotel. It will be an honor for us that you come once again and we will give you a better impression.

We kindly thank you for your review and we look forward to having you with us in the future, you will not regret.

Best regards

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at the Don Boutique Hotel, and we were so happy with our choice. We were able to easily get to the Mercado del Puerto for lunch before it closed in the afternoon, and the hotel's proximity to the port was helpful when we had a question about the Buquebus schedule. The neighborhood is a little dicey at night (I would take a taxi), but we felt safe walking around during the day down to the pedestrian mall on Calle Sarandi and over to the Plaza Matriz and the Plaza Independencia. The hotel itself was beautiful and comfortable, with a very friendly and helpful staff and perhaps the best continent breakfast that we had in either Uruguay or Argentina. It was too cold to use the pool, but not too cold to sit out on the deck and look out over the rooftops of Montevideo. I think that the roof was the best place in town to see the New Year's fireworks!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Meghann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community and us. Here at the Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo we work extremely hard to make sure that every stay is a great one for our patrons. In your case, it seems we've managed to do just that.

We are so sorry if at some point felt insecure in the neighborhood, but note that they are only appearances at first sight, but it really is a very safe and quiet town. As other guests commented, it is one of the safest cities in South America, cameras in every corner and 24 hour police checking the zone

We kindly thank you for your review and we look forward to having you with us in
in the future, and we hope that you come later in the summer time, maybe you will enjoy the pool and the warm of the city, well what a wonderful time to joy the New Year's Eve at our rooftop, you surely will remember this very special moment, because as you said, the view to the port and montevideo seems just special and nice from up there.

Best regards

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and decided not to go out the second and 3rd nights because of the location. Cabs don't get the entrance of the hotel so as we need to walk 3minutes by dark and deserts streets. The service was is reasonable. The breakfast is served in portions directly on the tables at the hotel lobby. nothing too luxurious or appealing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorella C, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your views about your stay at our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo with the TripAdvisor community and us. It is most unfortunate that your experience at our establishment was not all it should have been. It is also a shame that you never spoke to any of our staff members about this situation, because it could have been easily fixed without having to spend two out of the three nights you spent in Montevideo, locked in your room. Our city is by far, the safest of all Latin American capital cities and then, within Montevideo, the Old City is the safest of all neighborhoods. It features security cameras on every street corner (we mean every street corner) that are monitored 24/7, also there's a prominent police presence to deter any criminal activity.
When it comes to taxis not reaching our door, we must assume you were really unfortunate to ride with an inexperienced driver. The Old City's streets are mostly one way and sometimes can be tricky to drivers not familiar with the area, but taxis can certainly bring you right to our door. We usually work with taxi companies that are reliable and are sure to treat our customers with the utmost respect they deserve. All you had to do was ask.
Again, it saddens us that what could have been a great stay was tainted by a lack of information regarding our area and its services. The blame is surely on us and we will certainly try to correct our procedures in order to provide a better understanding of our city to our visitors and ensure they make the most of their time with us.
We kindly thank you once again for your thoughts and we look forward to having you with us in the future,

Best regards

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.4 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
799 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
372 reviews
2.9 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Boutique Hotel

Address: Piedras 234 | Corner Perez Castellanos, Montevideo 11001, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don is an exclusive Boutique Hotel created in an Art-Deco traditional builiding decorated with a modern style. In addition, it offers 2 roof tops, one with a pool and another one with panoramic views to the city and the Rio de la Plata. To sum up, it also has a solarium and a bar with views to the Centro of Montevideo.The Don is located in the traditional Old City, in front of the referent Mercado del Puerto, a metres from the Port of Montevideo.The rooms of the Don have an elegant decoration with tones of black and white. They are created with the floor of wood and count with an air conditioner, TC LCD with cable and Free high speed Wi-Fi each. Some rooms also count with private jacuzzis.The traditional and referent restaurant of the hotel, El Palenque, prepres regional and traditional local dishes and it also offers ones of the best wines of South America.Breaktasts are provided between 7:30 and 11:00 am, and are a la carte. A few options are croissants, fresh organge juice and fruits between another tasty options.Lastly, it also offers free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing