We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Don Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

As THE reviews say; this is a good hotel! We loved our stay. Warm welcome with medio y medio, perfect breakfast, perfect coffee, nice decor, helpfull and friendly staff en right in front of the old market.
Only down side is the view in a standardroom: no view, a wall at 2 meters. Further we had to pay half a day if we wanted to check out 1 hour later.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2015

Dear guest,

We are very happy to hear about your positive experience at our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo.
We would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community.
As with anything, there´s always room for improvement and we also appreciate your comments regarding your stay in a Standard room and our late check out policies. We will certainly review those to avoid any unpleasantries for any future guests or even yourself if you so kindly return to stay with us.
We look forward to your visit in the future.

Best regards

Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 457 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Don Boutique Hotel is a welcome respite for weary travelers coming off the BuqueBus! The property is exquisite-clean and well-staffed with customer-centric employees.

The rooms have a modern flare to them that makes you think "hip, cool" almost immediately. The rooftop pool is a treat, but the real treat is the option of having your free breakfast poolside!

Fiorella went above and beyond to help us secure rental bikes, scouring the city for 6 bikes for us to use. That's customer service!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TUGymnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay, with us and the TripAdvisor community.
We are very glad you found the accommodations to your liking as well as the convenience of our location, nearby everything worth visiting in the Ciudad Vieja area.
Our philosophy when it comes to guest services is as you very well said, to go above and beyond, to meet our every visitor's request and to always be ready to help, to ensure a pleasant and hassle free stay for our patrons.
We certainly have a wonderful time doing it and the best reward we can expect, are the comments like yours, acknowledging our efforts.
We thank you once more for your feedback and we look forward to having you with us again, the next time you visit our city.

Best regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Situated near the port in an interesting part of town.the rooms are fantastic, the service is excellent and I thouroughly enjoyed staying here. Right across the road from some good restaurants and close enough to walk to the business district. I am a picky guest but the staff at Don dealt with me admirably and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear guest,

We are glad to hear we were up to the task of 'dealing' with you. We certainly enjoy receiving visitors whose high standards put us to the test. That challenge and always finding a way to please people who demand the best from every aspect of their stay is what makes us improve, makes us better at what we do, and for that we thank you.
We thank you as well for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

In the midst of the old city, right behind the port market is the exquisitely appointed Don Boutique hotel. One can see that no expense was spared in the finishes and fittings in this property. Guillermo, the hands on and extremely helpful manager, runs the hotel superbly. We were lucky enough to meet the owner, Sr Portela who made us feel right at home and went above and beyond the call of duty in assisting us to plan great restaurant visits during our stay. It is inspiring to see his vision for the old city and both his hotel and restaurant, El Pallenque were outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Steph,

We certainly appreciate your kind words towards our establishment and the people that run it.
We strive to be the best possible experience to be had in terms of hospitality in Montevideo and thanks to comments and suggestions from visitors like yourself we improve day by day, raising the bar of what should be expected from a hotel in this city.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community and we sincerely hope to have you with us again soon.

Best regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I and my wife and a friend visited Montevideo for 4 days as part of a trip through Uruguay and Argentina. We enjoyed our stay at the Don very much and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Service was excellent from the very helpful staff. The building itself is a beautifully renovated Art Deco classic. The public spaces and rooms are sleek and stylish. The hotel is exceptionally well maintained and is spotlessly clean. Our room was comfortable and featured all the amenities one would expect in a luxury hotel – minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, etc. Hairdryers are available (ask at the desk). The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep every night. The lighting in the bathrooms was good and the there was strong water pressure in the shower. There is a nice pool area and a cool outdoor rooftop bar with a great view of the port and Ciudad Vieja. A plentiful and tasty breakfast is included with the room rate.

The area surrounding the hotel (Ciudad Vieja) is very busy and has an interesting local vibe to it during the day; definitely tatty and 2nd world - but in an interesting, not threatening, way. We felt entirely safe walking around the area during the day and did so every day without any hint of trouble - everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the various sights of interest in downtown Montevideo. From the hotel it is an easy 20-25 minute walk to the heart of downtown; uphill the first few blocks but level after that. In fact, a few blocks up from the hotel there is a street that has been closed off to traffic and is now a cobblestoned pedestrian walkway leading straight into downtown. The hotel is located right next to the Mercado del Puerto and the truly excellent El Palenque restaurant which is affiliated with the Don Hotel. The hotel is also conveniently close - walking distance - to the Buquebus terminal.

As an aside, our meal at El Palenque was the best we had on our trip, better even than the many great restaurants we dined at in Buenos Aires.

At night, the area around the hotel is largely deserted and walking around by yourself late at night is probably not a good idea. However, it is only a 5 minute cab ride to a major downtown nightlife area near Teatro Solis and a 10 minute cab ride to Punta Carretas and Pocitos. Cabs are ubiquitous in Montevideo and it is very easy to flag down a cab back to the hotel from any part of town that you might be in at night. Our experience was that any restaurant or bar will call a cab for you if you don't happen to see one cruising by. Or, you can call the hotel and they will send a cab to pick you up from wherever you are. For what it’s worth, having lived in Johannesburg, South Africa for many years, though I certainly wouldn’t amble about the area around the hotel late at night, I don’t think this area of town is as worrying as some think it is.
The hotel is an early stage of the renovation and redevelopment of the old town area and I think that the owners are to be commended for making the investment. Hopefully, as the area redevelops further, there will be more nightlife in the immediate area of the hotel.

All in all, the Don was a great choice of hotel for us and we were very pleased with our stay there. I would definitely recommend the Don to anyone visiting Montevideo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Jeff,

We greatly appreciate the thorough review you have shared with us and the TripAdvisor community. We also thank you for the compliments about our property, our restaurant and our city.
We are glad you were able to see that our area is indeed going through a development stage and since the time you stayed here, many new places (hotels, restaurants, etc.) have opened, helping the Don turn the Ciudad Vieja into a more stylish and hip place again.
We certainly look foward to having you with us in your next visit to Montevideo and hopefully make it an even more momorable stay.

Kind regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have been coming to this city for the past 8 years... The amount of change over this period is amazing. There is nowhere better stay, and while the idea of such a hotel in this city is very new I will be interested in seeing how it progresses. I hesitate to make any negative comments about this place because Im so proud of Montevideo for reaching this point. And the staff are wonderful and very helpful... The rooms are large, lots of light, but somehow get lost in translation design wise .. a little bit too 1985 post modern for me. Lots of glossy black, and frosted glass. But it tries so hard to be something international, and does so many things right , that I hate to even nit-pick .. stay here .. you won't regret it, and I repeat there is no where better .. the big American Chains are nasty, with filthy rooms and bad service .... For Montevideo .. this is the only hotel worth your time ..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Dear Joshua,

We thank you very much for your kind review of our establishment.
We do try hard to look after every detail, from the accommodations to our customer service to give our visitors the best available experience. Montevideo is certainly up and coming and our area in particular is being revamped, with the Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo being a prime example of that trend.
Our city is an eclectic one when it comes to design and architecture and sometimes it can be a bit too much and maybe we are guilty of this sin as well, for that our sincere apologies.
We welcome your constructive suggestions and we encourage every one of our guests to do the same, to keep us in tune with their needs and their likes, to continue being one of the top hotels in the city.
We look forward to having you with us again soon,

Best regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My first trip to Montevideo - and what a treasure the Old City is - with Don being a treasure within that treasure.

It is a fabulous renovation of an art deco beauty perfectly located across the street from El Mercado del Puerto in the pedestrianized center of the Old City.

Only three days there (I shall return), but from the moment I arrived at Don (very early), the service was perfect. Alejandro was at the front desk most days and actually was sincere in his concern that I like his city and my stay at "his" hotel - and wanting to talk about both. The rest of the staff were equally obliging and friendly: they actually seemed to be enjoying their work.

Breakfasts were extravagant (and included) and beautifully presented (and available in your room - which I didn't try).

The room, bed and creature comforts were also impeccable.

Tasteful real art (vs. Holiday Inn) throughout the hotel. An attractive rooftop pool and bar (not used in winter)

And it is a bargain! Check on-line rates.

Even if Montevideo weren't worth visiting (which it IS), Don would be!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donboutique, Gerente at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Dear guest,

We kindly thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo with us and the TripAdvisor community.
Everyone here will go out of their way to make every guest feel at home and welcome. As you said it, we all are sincere in our concern about visitors liking our city and our hotel. It is a great feeling to see we have given you more than you had expected in return for your patronage.
We certainly look forward to having you with us again in the future,

Best regards


Fiorella Cerchiari Veins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
418 reviews
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
392 reviews
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
829 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Boutique Hotel

Address: Piedras 234 | Corner Perez Castellanos, Montevideo 11001, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $84 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don is an exclusive Boutique Hotel created in an Art-Deco traditional builiding decorated with a modern style. In addition, it offers 2 roof tops, one with a pool and another one with panoramic views to the city and the Rio de la Plata. To sum up, it also has a solarium and a bar with views to the Centro of Montevideo.The Don is located in the traditional Old City, in front of the referent Mercado del Puerto, a metres from the Port of Montevideo.The rooms of the Don have an elegant decoration with tones of black and white. They are created with the floor of wood and count with an air conditioner, TC LCD with cable and Free high speed Wi-Fi each. Some rooms also count with private jacuzzis.The traditional and referent restaurant of the hotel, El Palenque, prepres regional and traditional local dishes and it also offers ones of the best wines of South America.Breaktasts are provided between 7:30 and 11:00 am, and are a la carte. A few options are croissants, fresh organge juice and fruits between another tasty options.Lastly, it also offers free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing