We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accommodation in Montevideo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Sarandi Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 35 Montevideo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Top class accommodation in Montevideo”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in Casa Sarandi for two nights in September 2013. I cannot say enough good things about this accommodation.

The apartment was pretty, perfectly clean and very well kept. It is well located at the edge of the old town and close to the nice shopping street. There are good amenities on the same street as the apartment - corner shop, pharmacy, etc.

My room was beautiful & very cosy and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and shower facilties were perfect. I rarely feel at home in hotel/B&B accommodation but Casa Sarandi was different. Because the room was so comfortable, I found it hard to get moving to see the sights on occasion!

I met Karen on arrival and her welcome & willingness to help was exceptional. I am quite well travelled and it is rare that I have come across this type of welcome. Karen was more than willing to help in any way she could.

In my view, Montevideo is underexposed to the tourist circuit and this is part of the reason why I enjoyed my short stay. Karen's tips on what to see and do were critical for me in getting the most out of my trip. I had the pleasure of being Karen's first Irish visitor - I now hope that I can convince many more to follow me.

Thank you, Karen, for making Montevideo a highlight of my South America adventure. I wish we had more time to chat during my stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningfierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Declan, so great to get a review from our first Irish visitor! :) We are completely in agreement with you that "Montevideo is underexposed to the tourist circuit" and so glad to hear that "Karen's tips on what to see and do were critical for me in getting the most out of my trip." We absolutely love Montevideo (and Uruguay) having arrived here just over a dozen years ago ourselves, it's what we enjoy most - making sure that you get to see those places that really none of the guidebooks in the paltry space they usually give Uruguay, seem to know about.

Thanks for the kind words - and thanks for the lovely little reminder of Cork! It has pride of place in our living room at home :) All the best and hope to see you again at some point for a longer trip - Karen and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
92
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As a super picky gal working in tourism, I can absolutely say I LOVE CASA SARANDI and would recommend it to even the pickiest traveler. Things I loved about my stay: incredibly comfortable bed, great heat & A/C in the whole apartment and in each room, lovely balconies, beautiful light, fast WiFi, QUIET ROOMS thanks to double-paned windows, great showers and spacious en suite bathrooms, double-ply toilet paper, super clean and nice smelling, lots of common space if you choose to mingle with other guests, cool deco building, super fast elevator (never waited more than one minute!), 24-hour pharmacy right downstairs, EXCELLENT and personalized recommendations of what to do and where to go by Karen the owner and prime location in well connected area. In a city where you really need a local to show you whats up, Casa Sarandi and Karen are just the ticket.

Loved it. Will be back in summer to test out the beaches :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadiBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay in casa Sarandí couldn't have been better! Karen was an excellent host, her recommendations were amazing: we went to great restaurants and enjoyed an incredible show at Teatro Solís! Our room was huge and lovely decorated, the kitchen had everything ready to make the perfect cup of coffee, and there's good internet connection available.
The house is located in the old end of town: it is quite picturesque to stroll around in the afternoons, and you could also take some nice photos of the area.
Right next to the B&B there's a drugstore open until late at night and a small convenience store where you could get snacks for breakfast.
Thanks, Karen, for the delightful time we had at your home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolcitoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Soledad, thank you for the kind review. We hope to receive you again in the future! -- Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was my second time at Casa Sarandi and the quality is still excellent. Karen is a great host and now a friend. Next time in Montevideo I'm 100% sure I'll stay again at Casa Sarandi. You can check my first review in my page. I have some few things to add. There is a new restaurant nearby that offers a excellent luch called FOC. For breakfast I still recommend the Café Brasileiro and La Abadia, and Copacabana during weekends.
Best wishes Karen and Sergio!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Many thanks to our hosts Karen and Sergio for all their input, care and follow up to make sure we doing all that we planned and wanted to in Montevideo and Punte Del Este. Our accommodation was very comfortable and was as pictured on the website. Casa Sarandi is located in Ciudad Vieja close to museums, galleries and shopping. And thanks to Karen we ate at fabulous restaurants!! We stayed 5 nights, some nights we shared with another couple. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located in Ciudad Vieja, a district which is not very safe at night, it is neither a guesthouse nor a bed and breakfast, simply a flat for rent divided into three bedrooms with a common kitchen and a living room. After reception, communication with the owners mainly by phone or Facebook to know the main events in Montevideo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgtf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a fabulous guest house! Very clean, excellent location, and the kitchen was great to use. Karen was especially wonderful, and provided lots of tips for things to do in the city that were specific to us and what we wanted to see. Their guide book was also great- with insights into the best places to eat and interesting things to do that we would not have thought of or known about on our own!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Cuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Jen and Erv, it was a pleasure to receive you! -- Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sarandi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sarandi Guesthouse

Property: Casa Sarandi Guesthouse
Address: Buenos Aires 558, Montevideo 11007, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Sarandi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sarandi is a 1930s style art-deco guesthouse and loft in the heart of Montevideo's Old City - the Ciudad Vieja in Spanish. The guesthouse is a block from the Colonial Square and the Cathedral and two blocks from Uruguay's premier theatre, the Solis and from the rambla - a 25-km long promenade, great for biking and running. The owners Karen and Sergio have lived in Montevideo since 2000, love the city and the national music scene and will help make your stay unique with their daily recommendations -most of which are walking distance-- for things to do, places to go, the most unusual places to eat and drink and the most interesting music and culture Montevideo should be more famous for. Karen runs Guru'Guay, a much-visited website on Uruguay, and now author of a best-selling guidebook "The Guru'Guay Guide to Montevideo". The guest house is very intimate - just two guest rooms. Both rooms have hardwood floors, antique furnishings and original art. Besides your guest room and private bathroom, Casa Sarandi offers a cosy living room and a fully-equipped modern kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Sarandi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing