We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True fantastic but mostly unique !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estancia Del Puerto

Estancia Del Puerto
Ranked #138 of 924 Restaurants in Montevideo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“True fantastic but mostly unique !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Between the speed of Brazil and the surprise of Argentina, Uruguay ... then Montevideo ... then El Mercado del Puerto and inside a jewel ... La Estancia del Puerto.

Authentic asado and friendly bar attendant Juan (far right on the staff photo) make the difference versus the other more tourist targeted (lot of cruises stopping at el Puerto) restaurants.

TRY IT ... Tip : ask for Juan at the counter !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neighbour_Miami_Bch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    111
    52
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“A must see and taste experience in Montevideo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Heard about this place on the Travel Channel in the U.S. and had to try it when we got to Montevideo. This individual restaurant is in the Mercado Del Puerto, which is near the port area and is one of several grill/BBQ type places in this facility. This Mercado is worth visiting just to see how unique this place is. The meat is all grilled over wood fires and is quite good for what it is. This particular restaurant is very popular so you may have to wait to get a place to eat. If your looking for a fine dinning experience this isn't it, here it's all about basic grilled meat. The best time to eat here is at lunch, because at night not much is going on in this place. I think this place is a must see and taste experience in Montevideo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Overcooked, overpriced and overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with friends in February 2013. We could not work out how this place got such good reviews on TA. The meat was of terrible quality. We order the mixed barbecue for three and, being from London and not accustomed to eating the traditional Uruguayan plate of offal and glands, asked the server to refrain from plating up some of the lower-end cuts. We ended up with a plate of mediocre sausages, overdone steaks as tough as shoe leather and dry chicken that looked like roadkill.

Service was surly and the bill for a load of food that we could barely eat came to over £40.

Having eaten at two well-reviewed restaurants in Montevideo and coming away wishing we had gone to the supermarket instead, I can only conclude that Uruguayan food isn't particularly great and would recommend that you cook for yourself in your hostel kitchen rather than splashing out on expensive meat, only to be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
200 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Fantastic Parilla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate there just a few days ago ,and loved it. We are familiar with Argentinian Parillas, so the sight of all that wonderful meat, sausage, intestines, etc. cooking on the incredible angled grill was enough to make our hearts beat faster!!! We were not disappointed...........we ordered only Vacio and Chorizo - no side orders of bread, salad or fries - why detract from the meat???!!! Nothing glamorous about the serving, but the taste was what mattered and it was incredible. The only thing we added was the chimichurri, which was excellent, especially with the crispy skin from the vacio. Beer and mineral water were our drinks of choice and sitting at the counter chatting with the cooks was fun. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by mercado del puerto after a few days in punta del este on our way out of town. Great people watching. Great good. Nice portions. This place was busy and I always find that a good sign!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank java23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Del Puerto also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Estancia Del Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing