We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but trying too much to be great”
Review of Rara Avis

Rara Avis
Ranked #23 of 975 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Accra, Ghana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but trying too much to be great”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I didn't want to repeat the word 'pretentious' but perhaps that's what sums it up the most. I had the executive lunch which was OK, not but certainly not great. The gazpacho was brought in a glass standing on a leg placed in an uneven kanoo shaped saucer. Bringing it to the table looked like a handicap race for waiters, eating it was a challenge as it tumbled in all directions.

It is a place where you bring your business partners from the country side if you want to impress them. Good food in a pleasant ambience... there are many other places in Montevideo.

Helpful?
Thank Polspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    363
    118
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not superb”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had rack of lamb for lunch. It was very good, but very small portion, about half of what other restaurant would have served. Service was polite, but not attentive, I had to wait to get someone to bring me bread and pour the water. Even though they had 3 or 4 waiters and a maitre d' at many times not one was available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iparon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little pretentious”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's supossed to be the most chic restaurante in Montevideo. It's the most expensive, for sure. Food is not special. Live music

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Beautiful and romantic”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I cannot really add anything to what has already been said in praise of this venue, except to say not to order the "magret (duck) a la 5 bayas" ($34) as it consists of just a few small slices (100g max). As another reviewer said I should have ordered the beef (500g). However, the Pisano RPF Tannat 2008 ($40) turned out to be a very good choice from a very intimidating wine list. (I chose it purely on the basis that about 2 years ago I tried a Pisano wine in a restaurant in Malta, of all places.) If you come here be prepared for a bill of at least USD100 a person, very high by Uruguay standards but worth it for the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very good food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Service was impecable, the food was very good, The Rib Eye was probably the best I have ever had in Uruguay, really prime spectacular

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank winemaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rara Avis also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Rara Avis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing