We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GVery good Uruguayan meat, very couzy ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Perdiz

La Perdiz
Ranked #16 of 923 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Punta Carretas
Quatro Barras, PR
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“GVery good Uruguayan meat, very couzy ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A simple and charming restaurant. Typical uruguayan meat, prepared on the traditional parilla,
Fast and friendly service, manager is there. looking after all details.
The meat is great. Reservations are amndatory, heard from local friends that a 2-3 days in advance.
Went on a Tuesday and was packed.
i was surprised whensaw te bill. The cheapest I paid in Montevideo, for on of the best food and environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,554
    1,246
    252
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal - Great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A block away from the Sheraton this place was recommended by a local friend and i was very happy I went. the food was great, the ambiance was welcoming, and the prices were reasonable. The place could use a bit more room... just to be clear, it is not a small place... its just that it has a following so make a reservation in advance. I had the sea bass and it was fantastic. The service was professional and friendly, and the complementary limoncello at the end was a perfect ending to a great meal. I will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Space_Coast_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best cuisines of Montevideo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a reservation for Satuday evening (booked on Tuesday) and we arrived with high expectations. The setting is nice, ambient music and dim lights. The food was amazing: perfect taste, perfect cooking, perfect looks. I took the steak (lomo) with mushroom sauce and rice and my wife took the salmon with steamed vegetables.
The staff is attentive and you don't have to wait almost at all. Payed with card with no problems.
Definitively will come back.
Recommend doing a reservation first because the place is full almost every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Perdiz one lunchtime in December 2012 after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were lucky to get a table outside as it was very busy. My husband had a fantastic steak and I had fish meuniere (abadejo on the menu translated as pollock/haddock) which was absolutely gorgeous, and filling as I got two huge fillets. We also had a bottle of good wine and although I can't now remember how much we paid I know we were pleasantly surprised when the bill came. Wish I'd known about the tax rebate mentioned in another review and would have paid by credit card!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulaintorrespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A little rough on the outside but inside is warm and welcoming. Highly attentive staff and if English isn't spoken, they try hard to please. Seafood dominates and is was what I went with for apps and main course; nice wine list too. You can eat at or near the bar, which when alone is nice. Not a bad pisco sour either....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perdiz also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to La Perdiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing