We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious simplicity”
Review of La Pulperia

La Pulperia
Ranked #5 of 964 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to La Pulperia, a family business that already has more than 20 years offering a unique place to eat the traditional food of Uruguay. We are a small place but with very warm atmosphere, a spectacular food, and a friendly and attentive staff. We have a place to eat inside the premises and a few tables just outside for those who like to be outdoors. Our goal is that our customers leave satisfied in order to come back and tell their family and friends.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Scrumptious simplicity”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

La Pulperia isn't a fancy spot--we sat on stools at the window overlooking the grill and visited with the folks on the stools next to us. But it was one of my favorite meals of our trip to Uruguay. My husband and I split an absolutely amazing steak, a simple but delicious salad and baked sweet potatoes drizzled with butter, accompanied by a carafe of wine, for an inexpensive but amazing meal. This is what a steak is supposed to taste like!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    326
    58
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went with friends on a Monday night, only to find it closed. From the outside we wondered whether it was still in operation! Went back alone on Tuesday at minutes before 8pm and snagged the last two stools at the window...the restaurant only seats 14 inside. Beyond those two surprises, this is a lovely little hideaway in Punta Carretas, known by few visitors, and all neighbours. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent and more than ample...a ribeye was more than enough for two, along with a sweet potato drizzled with butter and parsley! Highly recommended for a fun night out...although not a place to dawdle over a bottle of wine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RosedaleJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meat!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like tender, flavourful meat then this is the place for you. We sat with friends at a sidewalk table and shared a series of delicious meat dishes. (The salad we ordered was pretty boring -- just some lettuce, tomato and onion -- so don't go for the fresh vegetables!). Inside, the tiny restaurant was absolutely packed and full of congenial atmosphere. Clearly, this is a favourite spot for the locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 566Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best parrillada (casual) in Montevideo ”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This place has a very simple menu based on the typical Uruguayan dishes (quite short list), but the quality of the products is perfect. Great service and good prices (eating out in Montevideo is quite expensive). Just get ready to wait in line for a long time if you arrive after 20:30.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Colorful, local flavor”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Unlike any other parrillia. Very casual, Sit at the window, on stools and enjoy wonderful, tasty grilled meats! What Uruguay does best!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank qualityNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pulperia also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to La Pulperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing