We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel. Room smelt very bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Regency Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Golf Hotel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel. Room smelt very bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Location was ok: 2min walk to the Punta Carretas Mall. Lots of coffee shops and restaurants around but you do need to walk around to spot them. Taxi cost us$100 UR pesos to Ciudad Vieja (which is $5 US), but many bus stops down the street from the hotel. Beach was a ways away.

Overall our room was clean, well decorated and comfortable. But our room (608) had a terrible sewage smell.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

Staff was unfriendly and not helpful.

Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancitygurl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your honest comments, we need from them to improve every day and became the best in town. We will be very glad to host you again so you can enjoy your visit at Montevideo.
Please do not hesitate to contact us. Hope to host you soon!
Regards, Ilana Gateño General Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    340
    87
    19
    11
See reviews for
170
289
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
355 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Spent 8 days here at the beginning of February. While not the least expensive option in this city, it appears to be the best value for the location. It is only a block away from the best shopping mall in Uruguay, including a nice full service supermarket (and the ubiquitous golden arches). In addition, most of the cities good restaurants are a short stroll away. The 24km Ramblas - river-side stroll is only 4 blocks away. Montevideo public transit is excellent - you can get to the old town or just about anywhere else for about $1 and they make change on the buses. If you are arriving/heading to Tres Cruces bus terminal, a taxi (they all seem to be honest here) will set you back $5-6

The rooms are large and modern with good air conditioning and wi-fi. Rooms include coffee/tea making facilities and a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave. With Montevideo restaurant prices not so reasonable any more, we elected for bread, cheese, fresh fruit and good Uruguayan wine for a couple of meals - the market is only a block away and the hotel even supplies plates and cutlery. Bathroom is very modern with a huge shower and plenty of hot water

If you are a light sleeper, you might ask for a room away from elevators. Room doors are not well insulated and you can easily hear (inconsiderate) people coming and going. Not a big issue since there are not that many rooms per floor and Montevideo is not a party town

Breakfast buffet is basic but there is always fruit, bread, eggs, cold cuts, cheese and coffeee. You even get a voucher for a welcome glass of wine when you check-in. Front desk was very helpful in giving instructions on how to get around.

All in all, a lovely small boutique hotel in a terrific and very safe Montevideo neighbourhood

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks a lot for all the shared details about the Regency Golf and Montevideo. We will be more than glad to make recommendations for lunch and dinner, specials deli restaurants where value-price are balanced to discover more about Montevideo on your next visit.
See you soon at the Regency Hotels.
Regards, Ilana & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Our party with 3 rooms spent two separate nights here in January 2012. We were impressed with this new looking, very clean, small city hotel in best neighborhood. Rooms were large for a city hotel. Upscale furnishings and linens. Plus a mini-kitchen with fridge, microwave, plates, utensils. Front desk staff helpful and speak English well. Generous buffet breakfast, hot and cold. Hotel bar for guests, complementary glass of wine. We requested and got non-smoking rooms, so that wasn't a problem (see review below). Small workout room, outdoor hot tub. Hotel photos don't do it credit. Residential neighborhood----walk to best shopping center, many cafes, beach, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view. Non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guests, many thanks for your comments! We want to surprise you next time! We will start to think a nice welcome back to the Regency Golf!
Hope to see you soon,
Ilana & Regency Golf Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed in the regency golf for just one night because they were full (make reservations), but it was a really nice night, the room was clean, furniture looks like new, bathroom was nice, althought the shower was a little small. The location was excellent in Montevideo, it s called Punta Carretas, near a lot of goods restaurants, a shopping mall and Pocito s beach. I would stay again if i return to Montevideo. Thx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Sir
Thanks a lot for your compliments. Was be a pleasure see you at our Hotel, and we hope see you here again.
Appreciate your kindly words.
Kind regards,
Romina Pagliari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel is not too large, the staff is very nice and friendly and it is on a great location in Pocitos, very close to the Punta Carretas Mall, two blocks from the riverfront and by walking distance from some very good restaurants (like Francis).
The rooms and furniture are new, and the bathroom is also nice.
It is not a very large room for american standards, but it has a closet and some drawers to store your belongings, and we tayed facing the inside of the hotel, and it is really quiet.
The breakfast is also pretty good.
One complaint that I have is that in some of the days the room was not throughtoutly cleaned everyday. Some days it was cleaner than others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir thanks a lot for your compliments. We hope to improve for your next visit. We really appreciate your kindly words.
Regards,
Ilana & Regency Golf Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

The hotel exceeded my expectations. First of all, the area it is located at is one of the best areas in Montevideo. The old city is not close to walk there, but taxis are inexpensive. I believe there is a bus going straight there as well. But near the hotel is the beach, many nice restaurants and a shopping center. The area is very upscale, very safe and very tranquil.

The hotel looks new and was very modern and VERY CLEAN throughout. The bed was large and comfortable, with a duvet. They do offer free internet, and it was fast. There is a book with photos and places to see in Montevideo and beyond - there are not many tour guide books about Montevideo, so this was very helpful. Water pressure was excellent and water hot, but they really should install flexible shower hose thing! The wardrobe was good size, but there was nowhere to store the suitcase except for on the floor in the middle of the room.

Breakfast was decent, if nothing spectacular. Service from the reception was good to excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks a lot for your compliments. Was be a pleasure see you at our Hotel, and we hope see you here again.
Appreciate your kindly words.
Kind regards,
Romina Pagliari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The location is really good. The staff was nice and the breakfast very good. The room is well decorated, with modern furniture and it’s also very comfortable. But it had a few points that bothered me: it is a little noisy, especially in the morning, and the smell of cigarettes was kind of strong, even with the windows opened.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir, thanks a lot for your comments. It will be a pleasure to host you soon. The Regency Golf has smoking and non smoking rooms; please let us know on your next visit and we will make sure your room is located on a non smoking area.
Many thanks and Regards,
Ilana & Regency Golf Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.1 mi away
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#34 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Golf Hotel

Property: Regency Golf Hotel
Address: 2473 Fco. Solano Garcia St | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Golf - Hotel Urbano is located in the most booming area of Montevideo City, Punta Carretas. The area offers the visitor a beautiful neighbourhood with many restaurants, banks, a golf course and the magnificent Rambla (the sea shore), an ideal place for a walk or an informal work out. 65 rooms with panoramic views to the Rio de la Plata or to the Green Deck. With wooden floors and relaxing colours, rooms are designed to fulfill all your needs in an up to date ambiance. Equipped with: kitchenette, frigobar, laptop safety box. Air conditioning, LCD T.V., Wi Fi, 24hs. room service and laundry. Breakfast is served from as early as you need it. Workout room, sauna and whirlpool in outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing