We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor performance”
Review of Regency Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency Golf Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Honestly I dont understand all the positive comment comments about this hotel. It started at check in where we couldnt get our rooms right away, not even 1 of the 2 booked rooms was available. We had to change for a meeting in the sauna.

When we returned to the hotel later there was "a problem" with one of the rooms so they put my colleague and me together. After telling the manager this was not acceptable all of a sudden our second room appeared out of thin air.

The minibar is well stocked, but 80% of the beverages in it were well past their expiry date. And last but not least the waitress at the breakfast had no real intention of clearing tables so we could sit down at a clean and empty table. She was very busy discussing the prvious days events with a co worker.

Needless to say we wont be staying in this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed here for one week with my mother and daughter. The hotel is lovely and in an amazing location. It is located in the Punta Carretas area and only one block from one of Montevideo's biggest shopping malls. The mall has everything you could need. It is also very close to the ocean and the rambla although for the beach you will need a taxi. A taxi to Pocitos beach or Parque Rodo's beach should only run about $4-5 U.S. or about $90-100 Uruguayan pesos. There are also plenty of tiny shops, cafes, and restaurants around the hotel but you need to get out and actually walk to discover them. The hotel offers free wifi but there is also a lovely cafe only a few doors down that has excellent coffee and sandwiches and also offers free wifi. The staff here is very friendly and most of which speak very good English. The rooms are fairly large but the walls are rather thin. The hotel does allow pets which is why we stayed here. Don't think pet hotel though. Much more of a boutique hotel with wood paneled floors, 24hr room service, and a small fridge and microwave in every room. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples or business travelers. Very clean, very safe, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Sir
thanks a lot for your compliments. Was a pleasure see you at pur Hotel. We hope see you again here.
We really appreciate your kindly words.
Kind Regards,

Romina Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wonderful place, nice clean and new rooms, great breakfast. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks a lot for your comments.
Has been a pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel
We hope to see you here again.
Best regards,
Romina Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel looks as if it has been recently refurbished and the decor is modern and in good taste. The rooms are compact but well laid out, nice furniture, lovely lamps and comfy bed. Nice hot shower too. Reliable wi-fi connection. Perhaps a little noisy in the morning if you want to have a lie-in, but that was a minor issue for me. All in all, very pleasing to the eye.

Breakfast was ideal, good selection of bread, cheese, hams, pastries etc. and served until 10.30 am. Staff in the breakfast room were extremely friendly and cheerful, as were the staff in reception.

Location is great, close to la rambla for strolls/walking/eating and there are some cute little restaurants nearby e.g. Francis, La Perdiz (hotel staff can advise you). Expect a bracing 40/50 minute walk along the promenade if you want to go to the centre on foot, but the stroll is very pleasant and taxis are reasonably cheap and plentiful.

Excellent value for money ($90 US per night). I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balboa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments.
Has been a pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel
We hope to see you here on your next trip to Montevideo

Best regards,
Romina Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I would give it 4.75 stars if I could. The staff was fantastic, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was delicious and reasonably priced, the location was extremely convenient. There were only two little tiny details that I can complain about that keep me from giving this hotel 5 stars.

The first was the pillows. They were terrible. At one point we had six of them and they were all just horrible - thin, lumpy, no support. It was so bad we actually went to the mall and bought two new pillows. At approx US$10 each they weren't the greatest but they were a VAST improvement over the hotel pillows and provided enough support to fix our kinked necks in one night.

The second was the WiFi. In our room the WiFi was unreliable. Had to restart my WiFi connection every couple of minutes. To be fair, we were on the top floor and most likely at the furthest point from the antenna and it was completely fine when we used it in the restaurant and lobby.

Besides those two things I was extremely impressed and loved staying at the Regency Golf Hotel. We arrived at 5am on a Sunday and were allowed to check in at no additional charge. Everyone we encountered at the front desk spoke English and bent over backwards to help us. Housekeeping was very respectful of our do not disturb sign, yet quickly and efficiently made up our room each day no matter how late we left. The wait staff in the restaurant were all friendly and helpful and extremely patient with our very weak Spanish (most of them spoke English anyway, but they let us practice).

We will definitely stay at this hotel any time we are in Montevideo. We will just bring our own pillows next time!

Room Tip: Spring for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Jefe de Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Andie,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It was a pleasure see you at Regency Golf.
And about the pillows, you don't have to bring yours, because we bought new pillows!!
We hope to see you here on your next time in Montevideo.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at Regncy Golf for one night before moving to the hotel booked for the conference I was coming for. Very nice, comfortable and clean. Good beakfast. Friendly helpful staff. There was a kitchenette in the room. I would definitely recommand it. This hotel was booked for me bya local partner so I did not check hotel rates in Montevideo. I don't know if it can be considered expensive or not. I paid 105 dollars including taxes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, jefe de reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.
It was a pleasure to see you at Regency Golf.
We hope to see you here again.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Romina Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We have stayed at most of the hotels in the Pocitos/Punta Carretas area over the past couple of years and decided to try out the Regency Golf Urbano on our recent visit.

The hotel appears to be fairly new and has a wonderful staff who were very helpful during our stay. The room was clean, and well appointed as was the bath. There is a small kitchen in the room with a electric kettle, microwave and refrigerator which was handy.

They have satelite TV which ovides a number of English stations. Helpful if you don't speak Spanish!

The breakfast buffet is on the lower level. They have a good selection of fruit, bread, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon/ham. Good cafe and juices also.
They will prepare your choice of eggs for you if you ask.

The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants in the Punta Carretas area as well as one block from the mall and 2 blocks from the rambla. it is also very close to the bus routes and it is easy to get to Ciudad Viejo and elsewhere by bus.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneTropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina P, Jefe de Reservas at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.
It was a pleasure to see you at Regency Golf.
We hope to see you here again.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Romina Pagliari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
#15 of 87 in Montevideo
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Golf Hotel

Address: 2473 Fco. Solano Garcia St | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Golf - Hotel Urbano is located in the most booming area of Montevideo City, Punta Carretas. The area offers the visitor a beautiful neighbourhood with many restaurants, banks, a golf course and the magnificent Rambla (the sea shore), an ideal place for a walk or an informal work out. 65 rooms with panoramic views to the Rio de la Plata or to the Green Deck. With wooden floors and relaxing colours, rooms are designed to fulfill all your needs in an up to date ambiance. Equipped with: kitchenette, frigobar, laptop safety box. Air conditioning, LCD T.V., Wi Fi, 24hs. room service and laundry. Breakfast is served from as early as you need it. Workout room, sauna and whirlpool in outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing