We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highest Recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iberia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Iberia
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Manaus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highest Recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family recently spent two nights in this hotel and I am sorry we did not spend more time. We live in Brasil currently and my wife is Brasilian and I am Canadian. The price is very reasonable for the service. If you are looking for luxury with room service this is not the place for you. If you want something that feels like home then you should be booking now. Location was excellent and walking distance of many attractions. There is a full kitchen and a grocery store within one block so you can make anything you like for yourself or others. The room had a small bar fridge too. The cable tv was excellent and the wifi great. The bed are very comfortable and the over all feel of this hotel is homey and was great for my family since we needed two rooms. The best part was the informative and efficient staff. I could not be more pleased. Being fair I have only one complaint. The bathroom in our room had a small boiler so the hot water for a shower was short lived. Other than this bump this hotel is excellent all the way around and comes with my highest recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sputum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    249
    77
    22
    8
See reviews for
142
294
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sergy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 2 nights and had two connected bedrooms for a family of 4. The lady at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well located to explore Montevideo. However, I cannot believe this hotel scores 8.5 on tripadvisor. In both bedrooms, the bedsheets were in nylon and full of stains and the pillows in one of the room really smelt badly. Moreover, the breakfast was not satisfactory for the price (poor quality juice, marmalades, bread and a sweet croissant stuffed with ham and cheese...). I still don't understand why this hotel scores so high, especially regarding cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is located within a 10 -15 minute walking distance to the main city attractions of Montevideo including the beachfront Rambla. It is also located reasonably close to some decent restaurants and a supermarket. Not really within walking distance from the bus terminal but taxi fare was about $120-$140 pesos and it was pretty straightforward getting there. The area where the hotel is located initially looked a bit dodgy on arrival, but after we got used to it it was fine and you just have to take normal street-smart precautions.

Positives: the lady who checked us in on the Saturday was extremely friendly as was the afternoon receptionist who spoke excellent English. The hotel is nicely decorated and there is free (strong signal) wifi. Breakfast wasn't included but there was a self catering communal kitchen you could use. It had cutlery, plates, fridge, microwave etc but no pots, pans, cooker or jug.

The room (room 15 - a superior room) was large and brightly decorated. The bed was comfortable and the street facing window was double glazed meaning street noise was barely noticeable. The bathroom was huge with a large separate spa bath and separate shower. Housekeeping were great

Negatives: we had no hot water at various periods of our stay. There was no hot water when we arrived or the next morning, and although it was 'fixed' for the other two days of our stay there was no hot water on our last day or day of check out. The staff were aware of this and in the process of organising it to be fixed, but we were disappointed we were not offered an alternative room or discount. We had paid extra for the spa room and there was no way you could have a spa bath or shower in cold water in the middle of the Uruguayan winter (during our stay temperatures only reached single digits in Montevideo)

Two of the staff were very friendly, two were not. The reception staff that working on Sunday and Tuesday morning were quite grumpy, unhelpful and not very friendly which was disappointing. Although there was only minimal street noise in the room there were other noises such as pumps than kept turning on and off all night long, slamming door sounds and the walls were paper thin so we could hear the conversations of our neighbours. There was no safe in the room and no ventilation fan in the bathroom. There was also no elevator so be prepared if you have heavy luggage. None of these deficiencies were show-stoppers but they did diminish an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Overall value for money score: 7/10

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you have lots of luggage and one that has hot water !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Iberia for 5 nights in late April 2013. We were amazed at how great this budget option was! We were told about it by some people from Mexico that we met at our hostel in Buenos Aires. They really encouraged us to go. We are soo glad we listened!

We met Silvia at the front desk the night we checked in. She was very friendly and welcoming. We practiced our limited Spanish with her often and she was always patient with us. She was glad to practice some of her English with us too! The other staff were also great and helpful and always willing to help. They recommended restaurants in the area as well as gave us a map of Montevideo to use.

The hotel was clean and the room was great. Clean with great sheets and towels. The bathroom was cleaned daily no matter what time we got up (we are late risers). Sometimes the cleaning woman would even be in the hallway and would ask if it was ok if she cleaned our room as were leaving in the early afternoon.

There was a great flat screen tv in our room too! It was great since we hadn't had one in our last hotel.

There are restaurants, live music options and cafes all within walking distance from the hotel. While we weren't sure about walking around the neighborhood, Silvia assured us it was safe. We had no problems and walked around pretty late on some nights.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting a budget hotel or hostel option. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennymtbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older hotel that is family run and has obvious new updates from paint, furniture, light switches, lamps, etc. The location is good. It is about a 4 block walk to the main commercial area with restaurants and stores. The building and rooms are well maintained. It is an older building but it is nicely maintained and a great value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is interesting reading the review before ours, as we felt the location was absolutely safe, as well as convenient to both the main tourist track and the Waterfront. My partner and I walked back to the hotel relatively late on both nights of our stay and never felt unsafe or uneasy.

This is by no means a 5-star hotel, but we thought it was tastefully decorated, very clean and had a really homely feel. It was excellent value for money.

We found all the staff to be very friendly (along with most of the locals we encountered in Montevideo). We can only speak basic Spanish, but we were happy to practise with the staff, some of whom could only speak basic English and some of whom could speak excellent english. That's all part of the fun isn't it? The owner, Sylvia, also loves to practise her English by chatting up a storm, so we had two pleasant evenings conversing with her before we headed out for the night.

Sylvia was also very accommodating, letting us use the kitchen facilities and pretty much treat the place as our own.

We personally had a great stay at Hotel Iberia and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliandAdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Yes, the hotel is inexpensive...however, a single female and families should not reserve here....just a half mile away, we were surrounded by a gang of thugs who tried to carjack our family....graffiti is everywhere....walking alone is not advisable. We were told to put our car in a parking garage rather than use on the street parking because it is too risky. However, we did not feel it was safe to walk in that neighborhood from a parking garage and we would rather take our chances that someone would break into our car (than risk bodily damage to ourselves) so we parked it right outside the hotel, removing all of our valuables of course. Fortunately, one of us was a fluent Spanish speaker as very little English is used at the hotel....the owner is okay with English but the main desk person knows no English. Sheets, bedcovers, towels are all worn, some with holes. The room we were in desperately needs a coat of paint....looks dingy, dirty and worn. After our experience with street thugs, I will not be back to Montevideo....better to stay in a smaller coastal town rather than use the city as a base. Very noisy hotel from the street....take earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel I, Propietario at Hotel Iberia, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mrs: We are really shocked because of all the negative stuff you happened in your visit to Montevideo.
I have to tell you that Montevideo is considered the safer city in Latinoamérica by international organizations.
I have to clarify that the event you wrote, in a zone very far from our location (4 Km) in a non touristic zone, we think that we don't have the responsability to deserve your comment in this site. Sorry, your resentment with our country.
In our staff three people who speak English.
The room you took is in perfect conditions both, the painting, towels and bedclothes. The room number 21 (The one you took) was opened totally brand new just 3 months ago, all the furniture is brand new too.
That room (21) as you can look in the picture of the title page of trip advisor with perfect conditions. The room have double windows and blinds, totally soundless.
You and your family arrived our hotel without booking in any website, so if you didn't like the room conditions in that moment you had the possibility to leave the hotel without any charge, but you didn't. You alike stayed five nights at our hotel,is clear that the room was to his liking, price and quality.
The car rental asks in their contracts that the vehicles have to be in a garage at nights, that's why we suggested you to leave it in a parking that is only 150 meters far from hotel.
Our hotel is in front of two police departments, a bar, and two more hotels, so that you can easily walk down the street. Also, we are located in a touristic zone with another 50 hotels of Center of Montevideo.
Our location is excellent, a few meters you have the beatiful rambla (coast) where people enjoy a lot walking or doing aerobic excercises including very late in the night.
We are just 300 meters far of the main avenue of the city, the most crowded by tourists and the uruguayan people, theatres, cinemas, pubs, squares, banks, supermarkets, casinos, schools, etc.
In our hotel there very cool, women staff are very friendly, is a hotel to feel at home, you were not in this tone. We're sorry.

I wish you the best, Be happy.
Silvia Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#33 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#25 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#30 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Property: Hotel Iberia
Address: Maldonado 1097, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Iberia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing